|
Books, E-books and DVDs |
Use Voyager the Library catalogue, to find books, journals and videos held in the University
of Auckland library system. It may be best to begin with a Guided Keyword
search rather than a Subject Heading search, unless you know the exact
structure of the subject heading.
Suggested subject headings in Voyager:
qualitative
research, research design, research ethics, research methodology, sampling, methodology, interviews, informed consent, confidentiality, field work (educational method), observation (educational method), questionnaires, surveys.
Also check Te
Puna the New Zealand National
Bibliographic Database and other Library catalogues for more titles that
can be requested through the Library Interloan system.
Journals |
A selected list of journals that focus on
or publish qualitative research.
Databases for articles on qualitative research  |
For a full list of databases, A-Z and by
subject, see Library
databases.
-
EbscoHost : A set of databases comprising mostly full-text periodical collections,
with an emphasis on peer-reviewed journals. Major components are Academic
Search Premier with over 4,600 full-text journals, and Business Source
Premier with nearly 7,800 full-text journals, and the smaller, more
specialised full-text databases are also useful for qualitative
research.
-
Emerald : Emerald Intelligence + Fulltext
provides access to the full text of over 100 journals published by the MCB
University Press. All journals are peer reviewed and are aimed at both
academic researchers and practitioners.
-
Informit
(formerly AUSTROM) : A suite of more than 80 Australian
bibliographic databases, which can be searched
separately or together.
-
Project Muse : Database of current international full text serials
covering the humanities and social sciences.
-
ProQuest : Contains more than 7,400 titles of which some 4,000 are in full text. All are
accessible through the ProQuest interface and can be searched
individually or simultaneously with other ProQuest 5000 databases.
-
Sage
Full Text Collections : Contains
collections of full-text journals published by Sage on the CSA Illumina
platform.
Collections cover
journals in Communication
Studies, Education, Management
and Organization, Politics
and International Relations, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies
and Planning.
-
ScienceDirect : Contains
the full text of around 1400 journals in the life, physical, medical,
technical, and social sciences. Also includes abstracting and indexing
databases with over 12.5 million records.
-
Scopus:
Includes millions of items from over 15,000 peer-reviewed
titles from 4,000 publishers, many in full text. Also indexes over 200 million
web sources, including 12.7 million
patents. There is a link to any post-1995 citations from each individual
item or reference.
- Web
of Science : Multidisciplinary
databases of bibliographic information, comprising Science Citation
Index (coverage is 1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index
(1956-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present).
Theses and dissertations  |
Search Theses
& Dissertations on Voyager for University of Auckland PhD, Masters,
and Honours theses and dissertations.
Databases for finding theses
-
Te
Puna : the National Bibliographic Database, produced by the
National Library of New Zealand, has records for New Zealand and some
international theses and dissertations.
-
EconLit : searches can be limited to dissertations.
-
Australasian
digital theses program : ADT
provides access to digital versions of theses produced by postgraduate
research students at Australian Universities.
-
Digital
Dissertations : indexes,
abstracts and often has the full text of theses (mainly PhD) from
about 1,000 universities worldwide (but with a US focus). Indexed from 1861, abstracts from
1980, full text from 1996.
-
Index
to theses : rom UK universities.
Most of the recent theses have abstracts but there is no full text
access.
-
DiVA
portal: Academic archive online : theses from Scandinavian
universities
-
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations : NDLTD international listing of electronic theses and disserations (ETDs).
-
Theses
Canada : online catalogue of Canadian theses from 1965 onwards, with full-text
access from 1998 onwards.
-
Cybertesis : portal to thousands of full-text theses world-wide but especially from
Latin American universities.
-
Digital
library archives : electronic dissertations and theses from the Virginia Polytechnic
Institute and State University.
-
PhDdata : a developing site with just a few thousand theses,
but it has a database of doctoral dissertations in progress around the
world.
-
Dissertation.com : commercial publisher of theses.
-
Union
List of Higher Degree Theses in New Zealand Libraries : printed list of theses from 1910-1999.
Conceptual frameworks  |
General
Critical theory
Grounded theory
Phenomenology /
Phenomenography
Hermeneutics
Humanism
Research methodology |
Using
Qualitative Research Methods. Center for Organization, Leadership and
Management Research, Boston, MA.
Action research
Oral history
Oral
History Society (UK)
Oral History Association(US)
International
Oral History Assocation
H-Oralhist : a network for scholars and professionals active in studies related to
oral history.
Case study
Case
studies (UoA)
Preparing
an effective case analysis (South-Western
College)
Ethnography / Ethnology
Fieldwork
Native enquiry
Interviewing
Documentary research
Content analysis
Surveys and questionnaires
Research ethics  |
Data analysis and research software  |
Selected websites  |
- Framing for research ethics. Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) (UK)
- Google
Scholar
: conduct keyword searching of full-text journal articles in
selected subjects from Project Muse, JSTOR and many other
online platforms and publishers. Also searches academic websites and
full-text Google Print books.
Includes records for articles and books cited in these sources which
aren't online and has a complex algorithm for ranking results according
to the number of citations. Many full-text publishers are not searched
by Google Scholar, notably Elsevier, but it will rapidly find many
articles, websites and books on most topics.
- Association
for Qualitative Research (Australia)
- Association
for Qualitative Research (UK): focus on market research and qualitative data analysis software
- International
Institute for Qualitative Methodology (University of Alberta) : resource page
with useful links
- Qualitative
Research Websites (the Qualitative Report) : extensive A-Z list of
links
- Qualitative Research Journals (St
Louis University, Qualitative Research Committee): list includes journals that focus on qualitative research as well as journals
receptive to publishing qualitative research
|