Topic Guide : The New Zealand Economy
Business & Economics Information Services (BEIS)
BEIS home | Subject Guides | Course Pages | Business Librarians | Business School | Business Blog | Ask a Librarian
|
| Treasury / Banking sector |
|
|
Treasury
Reserve Bank of New Zealand
Economic analysis from the commercial sector
- ANZ economic and markets research - commodity price index, economic news, market focus, property focus, rural focus, and the ANZ-Roy Morgan consumer confidence survey
- ASB Bank weekly economic reports, quarterly economic reports, quarterly housing confidence reports
- BNZ economic insights weekly overview, markets outlook, monthly confidence survey
- National Bank economic information weekly market focus, monthly business outlook, quarterly economic forecasts
- Westpac market outlook and economic reports, including weekly YouTube videos

|
| New Zealand Government |
- Ministry of Economic Development
- NZ Economic Development - access materials on economic growth, building business capability, helping firms go global, encouraging innovation, improving access to capital, Auckland, SMEs and Rugby World Cup
- Economic Indicators report - tracks New Zealand's economic performance, a joint publication from the Ministry of Economic Development, the Treasury and Statistics New Zealand
- New Zealand Parliament
- The Monthly Economic Review - provides an overview of the economy, prepared by the Parliamentary Library
In the Keyword box enter 'monthly economic review'
- Statistics New Zealand
- New Zealand Official Yearbook / Statistics New Zealand [in print S2/NZ STAy, Level M, General Library]
a good place to start if you want a very broad overview of the economy. See Chapter 17 ‘National Economy’.
- Economic indicators [Statistics NZ website] - access data related to economic activity within New Zealand

|
| New Zealand Industry |
- Business and Economic Research Ltd
(BERL)
- Business NZ
- Council of Trade Unions' Economic Bulletin.
- Covec an
Auckland based applied economics practice. View the
organisation's project
reports, with economic analysis of topical issues
- Gareth Morgan
Investments - news section includes public articles and media interviews
- Infometrics press release commentary
- Motu economic and public policy research, topics include infrastructure, environmental regulation, housing, labour and population dynamics, macroeconomic issues
- New Zealand Business Council for Sustainable Development promotes "eco-efficient, innovative and responsible entrepreneurship. Participates in policy development that allows business to contribute effectively to sustainable development". See Council projects and Economic Incentives for Sustainable Development
- New Zealand Business Roundtable includes policy backgrounders, reports, submissions, and publications as pdf files
- New Zealand Institute 'Privately funded think-tank' established July 2004. Looks at economic competitiveness, wealth and asset ownership
- NZIER
- Consensus forecasts
'Short term forecasts of the New Zealand economy by averaging forecasts produced by a variety of organisations, including NZIER. Because forecasts are
averaged across contributors, they provide a useful benchmark. Variables covered include economic growth, prices and interest rates.'
- New Zealand industries and regions [Library ejournal and in print NZ&P 339.395 Q1a]
Previously called New Zealand Industry Outlook, this publication is a supplement to Quarterly predictions. Sectors commented on are: agriculture, fishing, forestry & logging, textiles & apparel manufacturing, mining & quarrying, food, beverages & tobacco, wood & wood products, pulp & paper products, chemicals, non-metallic minerals, basic metals,
machinery & other manufacturing, electricity, gas & water, construction, trade & accommodation, transport & storage, communications, finance, property & business services, central & local government services, and health & education services. Sectors tend to be looked at in terms of past trends, current issues and future prospects and risks. Includes graphs and
tables.
- Quarterly predictions [Library ejournal and in print NZ&P 339.395 Q1]
Contents include an overview , business outlook, the domestic and external picture, and background including government, monetary, international. Tables and graphs are included and there is also a good statistical appendix.
- Quarterly survey of business opinion [Library ejournal and in print NZ&P 658.05
B97]
Data is based on a sample survey of over 1000 businesses with
respondents reporting on their past 3 months and what they
expect of the next 3 months. Contents cover an overview, economy
wide, architects, manufacturers, building industry, merchants,
services, and Australia. The questionnaire and responses are
given in the Appendices. Data for the past 10 years is graphed
- New Zealand International Business Forum - focuses
specifically on trade. Access media releases, submissions, publications etc
- Business Monitor Online [Library database]
covers political, risk, financial market and business environment
analysis data and includes quarterly forecasts


| International analysis of the NZ Economy |
- ABI/Inform Global
- EIU ViewsWire: New Zealand Economy
Enter: EIU ViewsWire and select Publication title AND in the second search box enter
: New Zealand Economy and select Document title
Snapshot analysis of economic events as they happen
- Business Source Premier
- Country commerce: New Zealand, Economist Intelligence Unit
Enter: country commerce zealand and select SO Publication name
Indepth information about politics and business conditions in New Zealand
- New Zealand country monitor, IHS Global Insight
Enter: zealand country monitor and select SO Publication name
A monthly outlook publication, includes information on GDP, real GDP, consumer prices, foreign trade, official exchange rate, import and export statistics
- New Zealand country review, CountryWatch Inc.
Enter: zealand country review and select SO Publication name
Each chapter appears as a separate result.
Topics include political landscape, investment environment including foreign investment and competitiveness, economic performance, social overview and environmental overview, including a happy planet index
- New Zealand country profile, Datamonitor
Enter: zealand country profile and select SO Publication name
An indepth report providing analysis on the economic, social and political structure of New Zealand
- Political risk yearbook: New Zealand country report, Political Risk Services Group
Enter: political risk country report new zealand and select SO Publication name
Assesses political and economic conditions in the country
- OECD iLibrary
- Country statistical profile: New Zealand
Data for New Zealand on economy, education, energy, environment, foreign aid, health, information and communication, labour, migration, R&D, trade and society
- OECD economic surveys. New Zealand.
As well as the New Zealand Official Yearbook, this is a good place to start for up-to-date information concerning the economy, covering the last eighteen months and the last five years
- OECD economic outlook
Published twice a year, has brief two page 'outlooks' for each OECD country, including New Zealand
- Economic
policy reforms: Going for growth
Annual OECD publication, includes a section on New Zealand
- Mourougane, A. (2007). Toward a more
efficient taxation system in New Zealand. OECD Economics Department Working Papers, No. 557 [OECD iLibrary].
- Rae, D. (2002). Next steps for public spending in New Zealand: The pursuit of effectiveness. OECD Economics Department Working Papers, No. 337 [OECD iLibrary]
- On the web: New Zealand country information draws together all OECD resources for NZ, including a statistical profile for over 100 indicators

| Library catalogue searches |
Use these suggested subject headings within Voyager to locate books on the New Zealand economy:

Multi-Database Searching for Economics
This can be a good start if you are unsure which of the Library databases best covers academic materials on the New Zealand economy:
- From the Library home page select Databases, then select tab Multi-Database Search
- Under Custom Search select Create your customised list
- In the Subject drop-down box select Business and Economics
- Under Category select Economics
- From this point your are able to search a range of databases as one combined resource.
For individual databases to search refer to the Subject Guide: Economics

These sources are also useful for tracking economic commentators in the media.

|
|
|