| The Library catalogue |
To locate items held in the Library on a certain subject, you can conduct a Subject Heading search.
Useful subject heading terms include:
Māori (New Zealand people) Commerce
Business enterprises Māori
Māori (New Zealand people) Economic conditions
Māori (New Zealand people) Economic conditions 21st century
Māori (New Zealand people) Social conditions
Māori (New Zealand people) Social conditions 21st century
Alternatively use the Guided Keyword Search option, combining relevant terms eg Māori and entrepreneurship. This will also pick up chapters in books - click on full view within the record to get a list of chapter contents. To search for journal articles you will need to use the databases.

|
| Databases |
| |
NZ focused databases
To help you locate NZ magazines and newspapers in the library system look at Finding NZ business magazines in the library
International databases (these can contain NZ material)
- ABI/Inform - international business database with some NZ coverage. Most articles are available full-text.
- Business Source Premier - international business database with some NZ coverage. Most articles are available full-text.
- Factiva - company profiles and news articles. Good database for current international and NZ news.
- General Onefile (Expanded Academic) - multidisciplinary database, some good NZ coverage.
For a complete listing of Business and Economics databases see the BEIS databases page

|
| Economic overviews |
|
A selection of mostly recent publications on the topic
- Catalyst R&D Limited.(2004) Newsletter no 18, Māori business in New Zealand
- Coleman, A., Dixon, S., & Mare, D. (2005). Māori economic development – Glimpses from statistical sources. Motu working paper 05-13. Wellington: Motu.
- Federation of Māori Authorities and Te Puni Kokiri (2004). He Mahi, He Ritenga: Hei Whakatinana i te Turua Po: Case Studies: Māori Organisations Business, Governance & Management Practice. Wellington: Te Puni Kokiri. This report and other case studies on Maori governance are available from the TPK website
- Mulholland, M. (Ed.). (2006). State of the Māori nation: Twenty-first-century issues in Aotearoa. Auckland: Reed.
Some good chapters on economic issues. Click on full view within the Voyager record for details.
- Sautet, F. (2008) Once were iwi? A Brief institutional analysis of Māori tribal organisations through time. Wellington: New Zealand Business Roundtable, September 2008
- Te Au Rangahau: Māori Business Research Centre (2006). Identifying significant elements of Māori economic development: an annotated bibliography and literature review.
- Te Puni Kokiri (2011) Maori economic summit Background on and reports from the Maori economic summit held in May 2011.
- Te Puni Kokiri. (2008) Te Wā o te ao hurihuri ki te ōhanga whanaketanga Māori :Time for a change in Māori economic development Wellington : Te Puni Kokiri and NZIER
- Te Puni Kokiri (2007) For Māori future makers. Wellington : Te Puni Kokiri .
This report aims to share ideas and stimulate debate in the predicted context of an innovation economy, redistribution of world economic power, and climate change
- Whitehead, J., & Annesley, B.(2005) The Context for Māori economic development: A background paper for the 2005 Hui Taumata . Wellington: The Treasury

|
| Company Information |
| |
- Company information can be sourced from a variety of places.
- Depending on the type of information required, it may be necessary to look in a number of resources.
- Confidentiality or commercial sensitivity will be the most likely reasons for some information not being available.
- For small and most unlisted companies information is very limited, particularly financial information.
- It may be useful to do a GUIDED KEYWORD search on Voyager to find company information in books or chapters in books.
- Additional resources to check include databases which index journals and newspapers, such as Index New Zealand, Newztext, ANZ Reference Centre, Factiva, ABI Inform or Business Source Premier. You can often piece together information about a company by analysing information from journal and newspaper articles
- Google searching may be fruitful.
|
Consult the NZ Company Information guide for more help.
Business assistance
Websites and directories
Reports and articles

|
| Māori Land |
|
- Crown Forestry Rental Trust - assists Māori to prepare, present and negotiate claims against the Crown, which involve, or could involve, Crown forest licensed lands .
- Iwi maps - from TAKOA Rua-mano
- Māori Land Information - Te Puni Kokiri. Includes access to the Māori Land Information Base (MLIB)
- Māori Land Court Minute Books Index (University of Auckland staff and students only)
an index of over 1,100 minute books from the Taitokerau, Waikato-Maniapoto, Tairawhiti, Waiariki, Aotea, Takitimu, and Waipounamu Māori Land Court Districts covering the period 1865 and 1910.
- Māori Land Online - Ministry of Justice
- Māori Land Legislation Database (University of Auckland staff and students only)
provides a summary of all New Zealand legislation since 1840 which has affected Māori or Māori land. Commentary provides information on the historical context and impact of each act
- Māori Trust Office - the Māori Trustee exists to assist Māori to manage their land and assets
- Treaty of Waitangi - overview from NZ History Online
- Waitangi Tribunal
- Waitangi Tribunal Reports (University of Auckland staff and students only)
database provides information on the structure and role of the Waitangi Tribunal, information on the claims settlement process, and full text Tribunal reports. Not all published reports are available full text online
The Library's Māori land topic guide and Resources for Māori Land Law from the Davis Law libary contain some extremely useful material.

|
| Entrepreneurship |
| |
Topic guide
Library topic guide on Entrepreneurship
Websites
- Māori innovation - Foundation for Research Science and Technology . "The purpose of our Māori research and innovation strategy is to unlock the innovation potential of Māori resources, knowledge or people for the benefit of New Zealand".
Reports and articles
- Baker, G. (2006, August ). He hākari: Celebrating Māori business success. NZ Business, 20(7), 24-30
- Cropp, A. (2007, June). Once were warriors. Unlimited, 94 (Type the title of the article into the search box)
- Frederick, H. H., & Foley, D. (2006). Indigenous populations as disadvantaged entrepreneurs in Australia and New Zealand. International Indigenous Journal of Entrepreneurship, Advancement, Strategy and Education, 2, 1-16.
- Henry, E. (2007). Kaupapa Māori entrepreneurship In L. Dana & R. B. Anderson (Eds.), International Handbook of Research on Indigenous Entrepreneurship (pp.536-548). Cheltenham: Edward Elgar.
- Hutching, C. (2004, Spring) Māori entrepreneurs on a roll. Te karaka : the Nagi Tahu magazine. 25, 32-35
- Jayne, Vicki (2005) Economic renaissance-the Māori challenge. New Zealand Management, May 11
- Keelan, T. J., & Woods, C. (2006). Mauipreneur: understanding Māori entrepreneurship International Indigenous Journal of Entrepreneurship, Advancement, Strategy and Education. 2, 1-20.
- Love, M., & Love, T. (2005). Māori and self-employment In C. Massey (Ed.), Entrepreneurship and Small Business Management in New Zealand (pp. 250-260.). Auckland: Pearson Prentice-Hall.
- Maori perspective needed (22 August 2007). New Zealand Herald, p. E1
Most Maori are important and innovative contributors to everything that makes New Zealand work, says Dr Manuka Henare of the University of Auckland Business School
- Māori 2005 GEM New Zealand report
"Study confirms Māori are world's third most entrepreneurial people"
- Maritz, A. (2006). Indigenous enterprise in the social context: The New Zealand indigenous entrepreneur. International Indigenous Journal of Entrepreneurship, Advancement, Strategy and Education 3, 1-15
- Mulholland, M. (Ed.) (2006). He Wairere Pakihi: Māori Business Case Studies. Te Au Rangahau, Massey University
- New Zealand Centre for Innovation and Entrepreneurship. (2006). Global entrepreneurship monitor
Contains section on Māori entrepreneurship
- An excellent Maori adventure ( 20 July 2007) New Zealand Herald (The Business supplement, p.29) . Search Factiva by the title of the article
- Tapsell, P., & Woods, C. (2008). Potikitanga: indigenous entrepreneurship in a Māori context. Journal of Enterprising Communities: People and Places in the Global Economy. 2(3), 192-203.
- Zapalska, A., Perry, G., & Dabb, H. (2003). Māori entrepreneurship in the contemporary business environment. Journal of Developmental Entrepreneurship

|
| Māori Business and Economic History |
| |
- Consedine, B. (2007) Historical influences: Māori and the economy Wellington: Te Puni
Kokiri
- Firth, Raymond. (1959). Economics of the New Zealand Māori. Wellington: A R Shearer,
Government Printer.
- Petrie, H. (2006) Chiefs of Industry: Mäori Tribal Enterprise in Early Colonial New
Zealand, Auckland: Auckland University Press
- Petrie, H. (2005).'Bitter Recollections?: Thomas
Chapman and Benjamin Ashwell on Mäori flourmills and ships in the
mid-nineteenth century, New Zealand Journal of History, 39(1)
- Petrie, H. (2006). Mäori enterprise: Ships and
flourmills. In D. Morrow & I. Hunter (Eds.), City of Enterprise: A History of Auckland Business. Auckland:
Auckland University Press.

|
| Statistical Sources |
| |
|

|
| Links by topic |
| |
| Government
Other organisations
Employment and training
- Mahi.co.nz : provides Māori-focused employment opportunities.
Farming - Reports and articles
Fisheries
Forestry - Websites
Forestry - Reports and articles
Media and broadcasting - Websites
Tourism - Websites
Tourism - Articles

|
| Educational institutions |
| |
|
|
Universities

|
| Theses, dissertations and other research |
| |
Theses and dissertations page on the library site helps you search for theses held at the University of Auckland and elswhere.Te Puna the National Bibliographic Database, produced by the National Library of New Zealand, has both New Zealand and some international theses. In an ADVANCED search you can construct searches using keywords eg. thesis Māori business. (make the search KEYWORD ANYWHERE).
The Union List of Higher Degree Theses is an annual print bibliography of theses lodged in New Zealand libraries, with coverage going back to 1910. Available from the New Zealand & Pacific Quick Reference shelves Level G in the GENERAL LIBRARY, Call No. 013.37895 U581
- Internet Gateway: Other libraries Access the online catalogues of the other New Zealand universities
- Kiwi Research Information Service. A gateway to open-access research documents, such as theses, produced at
universities,
polytechnics, and other research institutions in New Zealand. It
provides a single gateway to the content of New Zealand research repositories
such as the University of Auckland's ResearchSpace.

|
| Other links |
| |
|

|
|
|
|