TOPIC GUIDE : THE ICEHOUSE

Business & Economics Information Services (BEIS)
 

BEIS home  |  BEIS Subject Guides Business Librarians  |  Business Information Centre   |  Business School  | Ask a librarian Business Blog


Library services and resources for


Contents Links to other resources:
Library access for ICEHOUSE users : electronic resources; access for non-Library members

The ICEHOUSE - International Centre for Entrepreneurship (University of Auckland) 

Spark home page: Spark is a student-led initiative, in partnership with The University of Auckland Business School and The ICEHOUSE

University of Auckland Library Resources : Voyager catalogue; Business subject librarian services Marketing resources : subject page with many internet links 
Finding information using the Business information guides New Zealand legal resources for Business
New Zealand business : internet resources  Entrepreneurship topic guide - includes information on Incubators, Innovation and Startup, Business plans, Technology entrepreneurship and Venture capital.
Internet resources : miscellaneous Spark entrepreneurship library resources - includes Subject Guides, with internet links
 

Contacts

Gillian Ralph
Business & Economics Information Services
Room M21, Level M, General Library 
Phone: 373 7599 ext 81699
Email: g.ralph@auckland.ac.nz


Please note:
To access the Library's electronic resources you must be a member of the University of Auckland and have a NetID and NetPassword.
For more information click on the Library's Membership Policy or
NetAccount.


 

Getting started :

Overview guides

Research strategy

Library resources

Research by topic

Useful information


                                                  

  Library access for Icehouse users

The page Library services and resources for Business School staff offers details on how to access resources, the Business Librarian services,  and links to research guides and tools.

Electronic resources

To access the Library's licensed electronic resources you need to be a member of the Library and have a NetID and NetPassword. The Library's contractual agreements with publishers and database vendors limit access to electronic material to University of Auckland Library members. For more information click on the Library's Membership Policy or NetAccount.

If you wish to obtain access to library electronic resources, please consider Associate membership (for which there is a fee) for the period of time you are working in the ICEHOUSE, or researching your requirements. Membership will provide you access to the resources of the General Library including the right to search the databases from within the library. 

Access for non-Library members

Certain services of the University Library system are available to the wider community. They have access to the following services, providing their use of these services does not prevent enrolled students or University of Auckland staff accessing the same services:

  • Voyager electronic catalogue, either on the Internet or in the University Library
  • Library homepage web pages on the Internet (excluding licensed electronic resources)
  • University Library collection via the NZ Interlibrary Loan request scheme*
  • in-library use of material in open-access collections (excluding licensed electronic resources)
  • unique materials held in "closed access" may be available on request*
  • photocopying*
  • mediated search services (at the University Librarian's discretion)*.

             * Charges may apply


 University of Auckland Library resources

Voyager the Library catalogue

Voyager the Library catalogue lists all items held in the Library system. Find relevant titles by conducting a Subject Heading search using words and phrases you have selected, or use selected keywords and do a Keyword Relevance or Keyword Boolean search. 
Te Puna
the National Bibliographic Database produced by the National Library of New Zealand, has records of about 10 million books and journals. Individual library holdings are given, a useful source for possible interloans. 

Business subject librarian service  

The Business Librarians are a team of information specialists who are assigned to specific academic departments, programmes or research groups within the Business School. They liaise between the academic departments and the Library, and provide a personalised information and library resource service in support of the teaching, learning and research of academic staff and students. 

 

Services are based at the City Campus (Level M, General Library); Business Information Centre (Room 201, Level 2, Owen Glenn Building),  Davis Law Library; and the Tamaki Campus Library. 

 

 

Gillian Ralph is the Subject Librarian. Please contact her for research advice and assistance. 
Room M21, Level M, General Library, University of Auckland. 09 373 7599 ext. 81699.

Research and information guides 

The Business librarians have compiled a number of excellent guides which provide links to a wide range of  business and statistical information for  entrepreneurs, including links to Internet resources which are free to all. Some are listed below. Please see the  Business & Economics page for more resources. 

Business Subject Guides

Please see the  Subject Guides page in your subject area for further information. 


 Finding information using the Business information guides
The Business librarians have compiled a number of excellent resources which provide links to a wide range of  business data and statistical information for  entrepreneurs. Some are listed below. Please see the Business & Economics: Subject Guides page for more resources. 


Please note:
To access the electronic resources you must be a member of the Library and have a NetID and NetPassword.
For more information click on the Library's Membership Policy or NetAccount. The Internet resources are free.

Information and research guides

New Zealand industry and product information
An excellent 8 step guide to finding resources
Contain:
  • books and theses or dissertations on the industry
  • recent industry news and articles
  • industry reports, profiles and overviews
  • company information
  • industry association and organisation websites
  • additional industry overviews and global scenarios using an internet search engine
  • the ANZSIC code and industry description
  • trade and market share statistics
  • patents, standards and trademarks
  • doing business in New Zealand
New Zealand company information
Company information can be sourced from a variety of places so it may be necessary to look in a number of resources. Confidentiality or commercial sensitivity will be the most likely reasons for some information not being available.

Profiles; directories; annual reports; financials; rankings; journal articles; case studies; broker reports; TNCs and investment; case law; M & As; ownership; wealth creation; historical information; consumer information & market share.

Tip: use the Flow Chart for finding information on a selected company.

International company information
As for NZ company information, this can be sourced from a variety of places so it may be necessary to look in a number of resources.

Overviews; directories; journal articles; rankings; annual reports; financials; investment reports; IPOs; M & As; joint ventures & strategic alliances; privatisation; stock exchanges & data; ownership; working papers
Statistics and numeric data
Databases and internet sites for building and downloading tables of data, locating international data archives, locating data on specific topics, and information about the Library's Statistics Collection.


Statistics databases allowing users to build and download tables of demographic, environmental, social, economic and financial data
.
NZSTATS  
New Zealand statistics sources database from the University of Auckland Library, Business & Economics Librarians. 

OFFSTATS. Official statistics on the Web compiled by country, region or topic ...more sites including additional economic, financial, political and social data and data archive sites

Additional help:
Finding statistics about New Zealand
Statistics New Zealand website has a number of free tables; see the
Table Builder for creating a table using demographic data and
Business toolbox investigate a small-business industry in New Zealand or to find your target markets
Brief guide to statistical data outlines some of the problems locating data plus information about the print Statistics Collection

New Zealand Official Yearbook [Level M, General Library: S2/NZ STAy]

Country information Country profiles; doing business; ratings and rankings; statistics; trade
Situation, industry and environmental analyses
A guide to finding online resources for completing a marketing situation analysis

Definitions; methods; examples and templates; links to resources
Current state of the New Zealand economy Views of the Treasury and banks; views of Government departments and agencies; views and business opinions of organisations and economists; how to find links to books, journals and statistics.
Foreign direct investment Books and journal articles; investment policy; other FDI information sources; statistics - NZ and other; time series by sector; time series - bilateral flow.

 New Zealand business

Doing business in New Zealand : Internet resources and links


Internet resources and links  


Copyright© The University of Auckland Library
Comments and suggestions to: Gillian Ralph
Updated: 15 July, 2011