DATABASES : FINANCIAL DATABASES

Business & Economics Information Services (BEIS)

BEIS home | Subject Guides | Business Information Centre | Business Databases Room | Subject Librarians | Business School | Ask a librarian


Contents

Overview

Alphabetical list of financial databases

Useful websites

Accounting and Finance Subject Librarian

Julie Sibthorpe
Room M19, Level M
General Library

Phone: 3737599 ext. 84040
Email:  j.sibthorpe@auckland.ac.nz

Please email the Subject Librarian, Accounting & Finance, for an appointment to discuss which databases you might use for your research.


 Overview

There are a number of financial databases available throughout the University Library system. Most of these are available through the Library homepage - Databases and require NetAccount access. However the rest have restricted access. To see how to gain access, see the notes below or click on the database names.

For further help with company financial information, including company annual reports, go to International company information or New Zealand company information or contact your Subject Librarian.


Alphabetical list of financial databases   

= New Zealand content database

Database name Content and access
Aspect Annual Reports Online Annual reports for listed Australian companies back to 1990 in full text.  
Access through the Library homepage
Databases
Audit Analytics-Wharton Audit Analytics provides detailed research on over 20,000 public companies and more than 1,500 accounting firms in the US. Covers current or past auditor firms, auditor changes, fees, opinions, SOX 302 disclosure controls, SOX 404 internal controls, audit legal cases, director and officer changes, company history, share price details, income statement and compliance difficulties. Apply on the Wharton (WRDS) connect page 
Boardroom BoardRoom is a searchable directory of directors and senior executives of companies listed on the Australian Stock Exchange. It includes remuneration figures for directors and senior employees, plus general company information provided by the ASX, including a business description, company address and contact details, number of employees, auditors, legal advisers, bankers, etc. Access through the Library homepage Databases
Bank Regulatory-Wharton

 

The US Bank Regulatory Databases provide accounting data for Bank Holding Companies, Commercial Banks, Savings Banks, and Savings and Loans Institutions. The source of the data comes from the required regulatory forms filled for supervising purposes.
Access through password. Apply on the Wharton (WRDS) connect page 
COMPUSTAT-Wharton Compustat North America (from Standard and Poor's) provides more than 300 annual and 100 quarterly Income statement, Balance sheet, Statement of cash flows, and supplemental data items on more than 7500 publicly held US companies. Compustat Global provides data covering publicly traded companies in more than 80 countries, representing over 90% of the world's market capitalization, including coverage of over 96% of European market capitalization and 88% of Asian market capitalization. S&P's EMDB covers 53 markets and more than 2,200 stocks in developing countries.
Access through password. Apply on the Wharton (WRDS) connect page. Included are:
  • Compustat Global
  • Compustat North America
  • Audit Fees
  • Executive Compensation
CRSP-Wharton The Centre for Research in Security Prices maintains the most comprehensive collection of security price, return, and volume data for the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ stock markets. CRSP also provides CRSP/Compustat Merged database, a database that simplifies matching COMPUSTAT financial data to the CRSP security price data.
Access through password. Apply on the Wharton (WRDS) connect page. Included are:
  • Daily + monthly US stock database - quarterly delivery
  • US indices database & security-quarterly delivery
  • CRSP/Compustat merged database- quarterly delivery
DatAnalysis DatAnalysis is produced by Morningstar in Sydney, Australia. It contains detailed company information for all Australian Stock Exchange (ASX) listed companies. There is detailed financial information for delisted companies also. Updated daily. Reports can be downloaded to Excel or Html. Available are corporate details, directors and management, business summary, company history, listing details, operational history, capital tables, capital history, dividend history, top 20 shareholders, substantial shareholders, distribution of shareholders, directors’ interests, controlled entities, controlled entities, segmental performance data, company announcements, and annual reports.
Access through the Library homepage Databases
(See also FinAnalysis in this list)
Datastream  Key international data sets include equities and company financials, stock market indices, unit and investment trusts, warrants, bonds, interest rates, exchange rates, commodities, and macroeconomic data sourced from the IMF, OECD and government agencies. Includes New Zealand.
Access -available for postgraduate students and staff only. Ask at Business Information Centre, Level 2, OGGB, 12 Grafton Road.

For help with searching see - Datastream FAQs
Dow Jones Industrial Average-Wharton The Dow Jones Industrial Average is the best known and oldest reported US stock index.
Access through password. Apply on the Wharton (WRDS) connect page 
Eventus link-Wharton Eventus software performs event studies that compute abnormal returns for specific corporate actions or events using data directly from the CRSP stock database.
Access through password. Apply on the Wharton (WRDS) connect page 
Fama French-Wharton The Fama-French Portfolios are constructed from the intersections of two portfolios formed on size, as measured by market equity (ME), and three portfolios using, as proxy for value, the ratio of book equity to market equity (BE/ME). Returns from these portfolios are used to construct the Fama-French Factors.
Access through password. Apply on the Wharton (WRDS) connect page 
FDIC-Wharton The Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation dataset contains financial data and history of all entities filing the Report Of Condition and Income (Call Report) and some savings institutions filing the OTS Thrift Financial Report (TFR). These entities include commercial banks, savings banks, or savings and loans.
Access through password. Apply on the Wharton (WRDS connect page 
 
FinAnalysis FinAnalysis is produced by Morningstar in Sydney, Australia. It contains detailed financial information for all Australian Stock Exchange (ASX) listed companies. There is detailed financial information for delisted companies also. Reports can be downloaded to Excel or Html. More than 12 years of history is available and over 400 data items on each company. The database is updated daily. Main sources are the ASX Stock Exchange announcements. The database includes company profiles, analysts’ forecasts, charting, financials, growth rates, ratio analysis, market data, asset base composition, segments, peer analysis, and dividend history. (See also DatAnalysis in this list)
Access through the Library homepage
Databases
Foreign Exchange Rates-Wharton Federal Reserve Board's foreign exchange rates for over 30 world currencies and trade-weighted indices.
Access through password. Apply on the Wharton (WRDS) connect page 
Global Development Finance The World Bank annual time series data from 1970 onwards on the 'movement of international capital flows to developing countries'
Access through the Library homepage
Databases
Global Market Information Database From Euromonitor provides information and statistics on consumer lifestyles, consumer market analysis, companies and brands, major market profiles, and country data. Useful for industry/product information and data, particularly market share.
Access through the Library homepage
Databases
I/B/E/S-Wharton The Institutional Brokers Estimates System provides consensus and detailed forecasts from security analysts, including earnings per share, revenue, cash flow, long-term growth projections and stock recommendations. You can search international companies by clicking "International file only".
Access through password. Apply on the Wharton (WRDS) connect page 
International Financial Statistics (IFS) From the IMF, monthly, quarterly and annual time series of financial and macroeconomic data for most countries.
Access through the Library homepage
Databases
NZX Annual reports Archives of full text annual reports for New Zealand and Australian companies back to 1995 in pdf format.
Access through the Library homepage
Databases
NZX Company Research

Formerly called the NZX Deep archive. Includes listed and delisted New Zealand companies and some real time price data, charting, sector information. NZX Company Research now includes Tradeable debt.
Announcements - it is now possible to search across the New Zealand Stock Exchange announcements by company or keyword, date back to 1980. Major shareholders - Top 100 shareholders are searchable by shareholder name back to 1980. Financial profiles - going back to 1998. Prices - high, low and close prices back to 1990. Capital events – listings back to 1992. Indices - back to 1977 which can be charted. Company history on when a company listed and delisted, name changes etc. Research Area - includes NZX and ASX prices and indices.
Access through the Library homepage
Databases

Mergent Online A primary source for comparative data on US and International companies. Access through the Library homepage Databases. Include:
  • US Company data
  • US Company archives
  • International Company data
  • International Company archives
  • US Annual reports in pdf
  • International Annual reports in pdf
  • EDGAR SEC companies (US) 1993-
    Basic company information, detailed information from annual reports, including financials, and news are available back to 15 years for most international companies. It is possible to compare companies' data using a variety of settings and formats. The reports can then be customised and exported into software applications such as Microsoft Word, Excel or Adobe Acrobat Reader.
OECD iLibrary Includes data on economics, education, finance, investment, migration, telecommunications, and trade. Build your own tables or download the full text of OECD publications.

Access through the Library homepage
Databases
Philadelphia Stock Exchange-Wharton   The Philadelphia Stock Exchange's United Currency Options Market (UCOM) offers choice of expiration date, strike (exercise) price, premium payment and any combination of 10 currencies currently available for a total of 100 possible currency pairs
Access through password. Apply on the Wharton (WRDS) connect page 
Risk Metrics-Wharton RiskMetrics (through ISS Governance Services) contains historical corporate governance data.
  
The Directors Data includes a range of variables related to individual board directors (e.g., name, age, tenure, gender, committee memberships, independence classification, primary employer and title, number of other public company boards serving on, shares owned, etc.). This data collection began in 1996 and is updated annually. The current universe is the S&P 1500 companies, which has continued since 1996, although in earlier years the data was captured for a few hundred additional large-cap companies as well.

SDC Platinum SDC Platinum is a collection of databases providing information on financial transactions. Time series vary from database to database and may go back to 1970. Current or recent data may be embargoed in some databases.

Password access
-available for postgraduate students and staff only. Ask at Business Information Centre,
Level 2, OGGB, 12 Grafton Road. The only databases subscribed to are Global new issues (IPOs), Joint ventures and Mergers & acquisitions.
SEC Disclosure of Order Execution-Wharton   As a result of Rule 11 Ac1-5, market centres that trade national market system securities must make monthly, electronic disclosures of basic information concerning their quality of executions on a stock-by-stock basis.
Access through password. Apply on the Wharton (WRDS) connect page 
 
SEC EDGAR Annual filings for US companies accessible by company name, and including full text searching. Institutional ownership reports filed up to one year previous. Free Internet access.
SIRCA

The database contains daily and intraday data from both exchange-traded markets (e.g. stocks, commodities, futures and options) and over-the-counter markets (e.g. foreign exchange, money market securities and swaps) from throughout the world with a focus on markets in Asia and the Pacific. Much of the over-the-counter data is sourced from Reuters. The intraday stock market data includes data from the ASX and NZX.

Data obtained under a Data Consult arrives encrypted and must be decrypted. The decryption takes only a few minutes and is done by Dr Russell Poskitt. For more details about this database please look at the SIRCA connect page. Post graduate students must have their research projects approved by their supervisor before a request for data is initiated.
Data Consult Forms should be completed by the supervisor. Supervisors can obtain username/password details from Dr Russell Poskitt, Department of Accounting & Finance (r.poskitt@auckland.ac.nz)

TableBase Finds journal and magazine articles with statistical data reports. International coverage of demographics, companies, industries, marketing segments. Includes data on company annual rankings, industry and product forecasts, market share, production, consumption.
Access through the Library homepage
Databases
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)

To obtain a password for accessing the above Wharton databases for post graduate use:

Databases UoA subscribes to through WRDS:

  • Audit Analytics, Bank Regulatory, Compustat, CRSP, The Dow Jones Industrial Average, Eventus, Fama French,  FDIC, Foreign Exchange rates, Risk Metrics, I/B/E/S, Philadelphia Stock Exchange and SEC Disclosure of Order Execution link

Help with searching WRDS

There is online help available on every page of WRDS, as Data manuals, and Data documentation (which explains codes etc)
There is also a support desk at wrds-support@wharton.upenn.edu
Also contact the Subject Librarian j.sibthorpe@auckland.ac.nz or at the address above.


Useful websites

World

New Zealand

  • IRG website includes some free services, such as investors' column, the weekly summary, one month of indices such as, NZX 10,15,50 etc, one month's results by sector,  latest prices and ratios, market cap, volumes and links to company websites
     

  • Findata-website concerning New Zealand share prices, currency rates, economics, finance rates, property news
     

  • deListed -deListed provides updates and information on failed companies including those in external administration and companies suspended from ASX, NZX, NSX and BSX. It also has all historical name changes and delistings for these exchanges and carries administrators/liquidators declarations for Australian companies for tax purposes. This website is published by deListed, a division of BRG Pacific Pty Limited.
     
  • South Pacific Stock Exchange
    The South Pacific Stock Exchange (SPSE), formerly the Suva Stock Exchange, is currently the only licensed securities exchange in the Fiji Islands. In November 2000, the Stock Exchange officially changed its name to the South Pacific Stock Exchange (SPSE). The change is in line with the SPSE's vision of being a regional exchange. Site includes Stock Exchange Listing Rules and announcements.

  •  

United States

  • Hoovers 100 The Hoover ’s 100 is a new service by Hoover ’s that lists the 100 US companies most searched on by the firm’s subscribers during the past 30 days. The basic free report includes basic company information, income statement, balance sheet, cash flow and market data for the current year for each company. A new list is generated each month.
     
  • TradeVibes Company Search Free access to US private companies, search by name, or browse industry sector or area of interest such as fashion, games and gaming etc. There is a news section for company information.
     
  • New York Times Dealbook  which covers current blogs on M&A and IPO activity in the US. Also included are some document archives, bankruptcies and news.
     


Comments and suggestions to: Julie Sibthorpe
 Last updated: 24 May, 2011