Books
and journal articles 
The Library
catalogue
Use
Voyager or the new Catalogue interface,
to
find books on foreign direct investment held in the University of Auckland
Library.
Subject heading searches include:
investments
foreign
Country names can be added to this for a more focused search eg
investments
foreign china or
investments
foreign new zealand
Guided Keyword Searches (tip -
select "as a
phrase" for these searches):
- outward direct investment
- inward direct investment
- foreign investment
- direct investment
- direct foreign investment
- foreign ownership
- country risk
- Books on this topic are at 332.673 on Level 1 and
NZP 332.670995 on Level G
- Some New Zealand
material is also in the Statistics Collection on Level M, at S2/N
Books and theses held
elsewhere in NZ
Search
Te
Puna, the national database. The suggested terms noted for the Voyager
catalogue will work in Te Puna as well
Journal and newspapers
articles
New Zealand - for journal and newspaper articles with information about FDI in New
Zealand search:
International for articles
on FDI in other countries, and about FDI and
New Zealand (from international journals and often from newspapers and
chapters in books) search:
Investment
policy
- The Business
Source Premier database has annual country reviews
from CountryWatch. These reviews include a chapter titled
"Investment overview". The chapter "Presents an
overview of the investment strategies and policy of ... Openness of ... to
foreign investments; Currency conversion and transfer policies;
Information on performance requirements and incentives, rights of private
ownership, and protection of property rights; Amount of political
violence, corruption, and crime; International investment agreements,
foreign trade zones, and foreign investment statistics; Information on
taxation administration and procedure".
- To find the chapter, structure your search:
Find "investment overview" IN TI Title
AND ( Type in the name of the country ) IN SO
Publication name eg Canada IN SO Publication name
-
OR use the Business Search Interface button on the Business
Source Premier Connect Page
and then click on the Country Report button, choosing and drilling down
through the various options.
- The database also has the Political risk yearbook from
the PRS Group. For each country there is a chapter on the investment
climate. The chapter "Reports on the
investment climate in.... openness to foreign investment; capital
markets; protection of property rights; political violence; labor
conditions".
-
To find the chapter, structure your search:
Find "investment climate" IN TI Title
AND ( Type in the name of the country ) IN SO
Publication name eg zealand IN SO Publication name
- Business
Monitor Online has information on 155 emerging countries and 20
developed countries. Includes multinationals and involvement in FDI. It
also includes risk ratings.
- The OECD publishes the OECD Reviews
of Foreign Direct Investment, this is continued by OECD Investment Policy
Reviews ."The Reviews present the results the periodic
examinations of foreign direct investment trends and policies in these
countries. Policy areas covered include: screening mechanisms, real
estate legislation, monopolies and concessions, measures taken for
public order and essential security, investment protection, taxation of
foreign affiliates and investment incentives."
- UNCTAD has Investment
policy reviews. There are reviews for Algeria, Botswana, Ecuador,
Egypt, Ethiopia, Ghana, Lesotho, Mauritius, Nepal, Peru, Sri Lanka,
Tanzania, Uganda, and Uzbekistan
Other FDI information sources
-
Foreign Investment Advisory Service (FIAS)
- a joint service of the International Finance
Corporation (IFC) and the World Bank. More applicable to developing countries. Included are links to
Investment climate indicators, occasional papers, country reports, and
data sources
- IPAnet investment promotion network
- from the Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency (MIGA's) and
World Bank, to enhance Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) in developing regions
- JETRO (Japan External Trade Organisation) annual White Papers
on International Trade and Foreign Direct Investment
-
Leverhulme Centre for Research on Globalisation & Economic Policy: GEP
Research
papers
Statistics
The IMF has
published Foreign
direct investment: trends, data availability, concepts, and recording
practices, 2004 [pdf file]. This gives a good overview of who collects
what data and the type of FDI data available.
New Zealand data
There is no single source for comprehensive information on foreign direct
investment in New Zealand although the recent country profile in the
World
Investment Directory is a starting point.
NOTE: 'Statistics New Zealand and
the New Zealand Institute of Economic Research (NZIER)
are currently working on the first stages of a foreign affiliate trade
statistics (FATS) project. FATS are indicators that help provide a measure
of the impacts of internationalisation and globalisation. They will supplement existing statistical areas such as foreign
direct investment and international trade in goods
and services. The project is being partially funded
by the Official Statistics Research and Data Archive Centre (OSRDAC) research programme. The first stage of the project is
focusing on a paper
to be presented to the New Zealand Association of
Economists Conference in June [2005] about inward FATS in
New Zealand. Inward FATS are statistics relating to the activities of
foreign-owned enterprises in New Zealand and they provide information about the contribution of these firms to the economy. FATS
can potentially include a number of indicators
relating to foreign affiliates in New Zealand. These
include how many foreign affiliate enterprises there are in New
Zealand, the number of people they employ, their turnover, and their contribution to exports and imports. ' Expert
Data Users News, 22 March 2005.
Note that Statistics New Zealand do not publish FDI data by
economic activity ie industry except for international assets and liabilities
data by industry as part of the Balance of payments. Data from 1984 to
1989 on FDI direct investment from abroad: inflows by industrial sector
for New Zealand is in the OECD publication International direct
investment statistics yearbook [S1/OECD INV]. The following titles (mostly publications from
Statistics New Zealand) between them will probably give the most complete
overview.
Statistics New Zealand
Note: There may be some confusion in interpreting what is
portfolio investment and what is technically "foreign direct
investment".
See Balance
of payments on Statistics New Zealand's website for
the most up-to-date data, commentary and methodology.
Overseas Investment
Office
Previously called the
Overseas Investment Commission. A note of warning: The following publications contain statistics which
are a summary of the activities of the Overseas
Investment Office. They have a qualitative use such as assessing
trends in types of foreign investment, but need to be used with care given
the criteria by which the OIC collects information. This is further
explained in the introductions of each.
- Statistics from August 2005 onwards
- Foreign investment in New Zealand / Overseas Investment
Commission releases
[1979,1981 at NZP 332.11 B93, patchy 1989 onwards at S2/NZ INVf]
In November 1979 and November 1981 this publication was issued as a
supplement to the Reserve Bank of New Zealand Bulletin.
The 1979 supplement is at the back of the 1979 bound volume of the Bulletin,
the 1981 supplement is in the 1981 bound volume of the Bulletin
with the November issue (shelved at NZP 332.11 B93).
Information given is fairly much standard over time, although the 1979
and 1981 publications do give additional tables based on Balance of
Payments statistics. It is possible to get a time series of data from
1965 onwards. Regular tables include:
- overseas takeovers in New Zealand (country of final ownership x
% of overseas ownership x NZ$value)
- overseas takeover approvals x industry
- overseas companies commencing business in New Zealand (country
of direct ownership x purpose of application x % of overseas
ownership) - overseas companies commencing business x industry.
Country breakdown:
UK, USA, Australia, Japan, (West Germany 1979, 1981), Hong Kong
(1989-), Singapore (1989-), and Other. ‘Other ‘ is broken down
into specific countries in separate tables.
- Overseas
Investment Office - six monthly reports to Parliament
[S2/NZ
INVfr]
Includes details of consents by proposed activity
(offerer/applicant, seller/target, region, land area,
NZ$consideration, net investment $), consents by region, consents by
country.
Campaign Against Foreign Control of Aotearoa
This website
includes a monthly analyses of the decisions of the Overseas Investment
Office.
- Foreign control watchdog [NZP 382.0995 W31]
This is a journal put out by the Campaign against Foreign Control of
Aotearoa/New Zealand. As well as articles, it usually details OIC
applications and decisions, naming companies and individuals.
International data 
The following databases
and websites have information for most countries including New Zealand where
appropriate.
European Union

IMF
- IFS
International Financial Statistics
Basic time series direct investment data for direct investment
abroad and direct investment in reporting country. Also in print
format shelved at S1/IMF FINy. Note: there is no data for flows by
country.
- IMF print publications including Balance of Payments
Statistics Yearbook [S1/IMF BALy] and Government Finance
Statistics Yearbook [S1/IMF FINg] will also give annual time
series data for direct investment. Note: there is no data for flows by
country.
International Finance Corporation
-
Part of The World Bank Group
The Doing Business database
"provides objective measures of business regulations and their
enforcement across 181 economies and selected cities at the subnational
and regional level"
KOF
- KOF
Index of globalization
From the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich and
the Swiss Institute for Business Cycle Research...measures the economic,
social and political dimensions of globalization. The index is
calculated on the basis of 23 variables (which include FDI) for 123
countries over the period 1970-2003.
OECD

- OECD reviews of foreign direct investment : New Zealand.
1993. [S2/NZ INVo].
This publication backgrounds New Zealand’s FDI policies and reforms,
and looks at the role of FDI in New Zealand. There is a chronology of
the main events affecting FDI from 1984 to 1992. It also has
statistical information for 1987-1992. Reviews have also been done for
other countries. See also OECD iLibrary OECD Investment Policy
Reviews
- International
direct investment statistics yearbook OECD iLibrary
- International
Investment - subject portal for FDI, consisting of news,
publications and documents, statistics, and information by country
-
OECD iLibrary
database - provides access to investment data through the Statistics link
UNCTAD
- Foreign
direct investment database Registration (free of charge) is required'.
UNCTAD in 2002 'has launched a Web-based analytical tool for FDI
statistics, presenting data on FDI flows and stocks (both inward and
outward) for 196 economies for the period 1970-. The figures are
presented in an interactive format: users can search the data by
region, year and other variables, and design their own tables and
charts, which can be saved or exported to other software. The data
have been previously published in various issues of the World
Investment Report, but have never been available on the Internet.
There is no bilateral flow data or industry sector data. There is also
data for mergers and acquisitions. No companies are named. There is
annual data for numbers of sales and purchases by country and data for
M&As by industry.
- FDI
indices has rankings from 1988 onwards for inward and outward
performance benchmarking 'inward FDI performance and potential,
ranking countries by how they do in attracting inward direct
investment'
- Development and globalization: Facts and Figures - this publication includes a section devoted to FDI data
- World
investment directory or use alternative
entry point
It includes information by industry sector and by company name. Older
print volumes are at S1/UN INVd [Statistics Collection, Level M,
General Library]. The full profile report for New Zealand gives named
TNC companies by industry sector and country of head office, plus
those NZ companies who have offices offshore.
- World
investment report / UNCTAD. [338.88 W927
].
Annual 1992 onwards. See country
fact sheet on the website. Good statistical annex in each
publication. Included are tables of cross-border M&A purchases (with
total numbers given but no companies are named),
inward/outward FDI stocks as a % of GDP and gross fixed capital
formation, and total inward/outward FDI stock flows
- United
Nations Common Database
Time series data by country. Most of the series are listed under the
topic Balance of payments. Data is mostly drawn from the IMF and the
World Bank.
World Bank 
- World
development indicators
Annual time series data. There is FDI data for New Zealand from 1972
onwards. The variables are:
- Foreign direct investment, net (BoP,
current US$) .
- Foreign direct investment, net inflows
(% of GDP)
- Foreign direct investment, net inflows
(% of gross capital formation)
- Foreign direct investment, net inflows
(BoP, current US$)
- Gross foreign direct investment (% of
GDP
- Global development finance online
Annual time series data. The focus is on 'developing' economies.
- Foreign direct investment, net flows (US$)
- Profit remittances on FDI (US$)
In
conjunction with the the database see also the commentary for
Global
development finance (note that it is best to
use the download report by chapter to see which chapter
focuses on FDI).
ASEAN
Time
series 
Sector / Bilateral flows
- Eurostat - investment data is under Balance
of payments. Much of the data is from 2001 onwards.
- OECD International Direct Investment Statistics within OECDiLibrary
From 1980 onwards
where available.
- Covers: Australia, Austria, the
Belgium-Luxembourg Economic Union, Canada, the Czech Republic, Denmark,
Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan,
Korea, Mexico, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal,
Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, the United Kingdom, and the United
States.
- No data for bilateral flow between named countries.
- Uses International Standard Industrial
Classification Rev. 3 secondary level classification - the broad headings
are primary sector, manufacturing, and service sector. There are
additional breakdowns within these 3 sectors.
- Data types are flow (inflows, outflows) and positions
(inward, outward)
-
World
investment directory from UNCTAD
- Time series
starts are variable. However, for many countries there is annual
data from about 1988 onwards.
- Includes information by industry sector, and flows and stocks in
the host country by region / economy (ie individual named countries).
- For countries not yet covered online use the print
volumes at S1/UN INVd [Statistics Collection, Level M, General
Library]
- Broad industry headings are primary sector, secondary
sector, and tertiary sector. There are further breakdowns within these
sectors
|