|
Use Library Search, the Library catalogue to find books and journals held in the University of Auckland library system. The following are some suggested Subject Heading searches. Click on a subject heading to display a list of books and journals.
Databases, Journals, Newsletters  |
Selected databases
Searching for articles in journals and newspapers can be carried out in Library Search : Articles and More, using the suggested headings listed above. The following databases are also suggested starting points for finding information.
-
ABI Inform
International in coverage. A mixture of scholarly and trade publications. See also the ABI Inform trade and industry database or search both databases via Proquest. |
| APEC Energy Database Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation energy database for countries' oil, gas and CO2 emissions |
Business Monitor Online
covers the oil and gas industry mostly in emerging and transition markets. Included are quarterly forecasts for consumption and production. |
Business Source Premier
International in coverage. A mixture of scholarly and trade publications. This database has DataMonitor Industry profiles and Plunketts Energy industry almanac. BSP can be searched along with EconLit via the EBSCOhost database. |
CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
This full-text database specialises in theory and current research in international affairs. It includes working papers from think tanks, conference papers, and some e-books.
Map and country data are drawn from the Economist Intelligence Unit |
Compendex
Includes electrical and energy engineering focusing on scientific and technological literature. |
Conference papers index
Citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world plus links to web resources. 1982 onwards. |
| EconLit :
JEL classification : Q4 Energy; Q400 general; Q410 demand and supply; Q420 alternative energy sources; Q430 energy and macroeconomy; Q480 government policy; Q490 other |
| Energy and Power Source : a searchable online collection on the EbscoHost platform offering indexing and extensive full-text coverage from over 1,000 publications relating to the energy and power industries- petroleum, natural gas, electric power, coal, nuclear power, and renewable energy. |
Energy citations database
Free public access database. 'Includes citations to reports, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents for energy and energy-related information from the [US] Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development
Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC).' |
| Factiva. Under the Companies/Market tab, the Company Quick Search gives a brief business description, list of key competitors, latest news/press releases/trade articles, plus in
some cases a company history |
Science.gov - gateway to US Federal Services
Free access to United States select Energy and Energy Conservation OSTI's (Office of Scientific and Technical Information) portal to US Federal research projects. |
| Passport GMID Market profile reports on fossil fuel and nuclear power generation, statistics on energy reserves, production and consumption, consumer expenditure on electricity, gas and other fuels |
| Global Renewable Energy Policies and Measures Database, currently being developed by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the European Commission and the Johannesburg Renewable Energy Coalition, will offer renewable energy market and policy information for over 100 countries in one comprehensive format |
INNZ: Index New Zealand
There are no full text articles in this database, but in most cases the Library will have the full text of the article either on another online database or in a print journal. To find out this, copy the title of the journal or newspaper the article is in (not the article title) and then do a serial title search in Voyager. INNZ is worth searching to ensure a good coverage
of the New Zealand scene. |
| New Zealand Time Series. Petroleum / diesel production / stocks / deliveries, gas production, geothermal energy, coal. |
Newzindex and NZ science (Superindex)
indexes New Zealand business and trade magazines and publications from CRIs and the Royal Society of New Zealand. |
Newztext Plus
This database has the full text of the National Business Review, the Independent, the full text of daily newspapers including the Herald, plus the option to include the Newzindex database in a search (note that this does not include the NZ Science database).
Because of copyright some Herald articles will only be on Factiva : a database covering the latest world business, industry and company news |
OECDiLibrary
has full text publications as pdf files. Included are Energy policies of IEA countries, World energy outlook, CO2 emissions from fuel combustion, Natural gas information, Nuclear energy data, Oil information, Energy balances of OECD and non OECD countries, Coal information, Electricity information, Renewables information. |
Science Direct
As well as being a searchable database, additional features include an Energy subject area plus a list of energy
related journals on the database. Covers academic publications. |
TNS industry sector reports
New Zealand industries including the energy sector |
| UNdata United Nations Common Database Annual time series data, some series from 1980 onwards. Energy consumption and apparent consumption, energy exports, energy imports, energy stock changes, energy production by type. |
Wiley Online Library - journals
Full text journal coverage from 1997 onwards. Includes the journal Wind energy. |
| World Bank eLibrary World Bank publications on many countries and topics including Enegry |
| World development indicators Annual time series data from the World Bank. There is an Energy production and use component. Most of the data is originally sourced from the IEA |
Journals  |
Annual statistical bulletin Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Companies (OPEC)
Australian energy statisticsAustralian Bureau of Agricultural and Resource Economics (ABARE
)
Commodity price data (pink sheets) World Bank (WB) Petroleum prices.
Deloitte survey of oil and gas professionals 2009  Deloittes forum
commenting on complex energy challenges
Earth trends World Resources Institute (WRI)
Energy Information Administration Energy Information Administration (EIA)
Energy
statistics UK Department for Business Enterprise and Regulatory
Reform (BERR)
Energy21news (Centre for Advanced Engineering) CAE's news on distributed generation of electricity
Energywise for energy conservation and renewable energy in New Zealand
Ernst and Young renewable energy country attractiveness index. Greendex Survey to measure and monitor consumer behaviors that have an impact on the environment InfoComm: Market information in the commodities area (UNCTAD). Links to sites with commodity prices and futures data.
Grid from Transpower New Zealand
Institute of Energy Economics Japan Domestic and international data
International Energy Energy Information Administration (EIA)
International Petroleum Monthly Energy Information Administration (EIA)
International Journal of Energy Sector Management from Emerald Group
Publishing Limited
Leading energy from PriceWaterhouseCoopers New Zealand
Petroleum Association of Japan many countries but emphasis on Japan. Excel files.
Statistical Review of World Energy (BP) Downloadable Excel or pdf files
World Nuclear power reactors and uranium requirement World Nuclear Association (WNA)
International Energy Agency, IEA Statistics and IEA Oil Market Report
Petroleum navigator Energy Information Administration (EIA)
United Nations energy statistics newsletter 'recent workshops, publications, technical cooperation activities, as well as short reviews on topical issues... the Market Brief will give ... an overview and brief insight of trends of specific markets'
World News Network: Energy has the latest news from different sectors
Theses  |
A select list of theses on energy from the University of Auckland or carry out your own search for specific titles. When you have located a specific thesis, Note that if the thesis is not in electronic form, each thesis needs to be booked, or if there is a second copy in the Off Campus Storage it can be ordered using the Intercampus document delivery service.
There are links to theses and dissertations from other universisties including ProQuest Theses & Dissertations [Digital Dissertations] (1861- )
Energy companies  |
New Zealand | Company financial information
New Zealand
Industry companies list from Electricity Networks Association (ENA)
Energy Trusts of New Zealand (ETNZ) is the national organisation for 22 energy trusts, the majority of whom own shares in companies that operate electricity networks
SOE disclosures (State-owned enterprises and Television New Zealand Ltd) from Crown Ownership Monitoring Unit (COMU)
Power generation - power systems group. Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Canterbury. Maps of the North and South Islands.
Company financial information
Datastream has time series equity data and company financials for listed companies
Electricity information disclosure statistics (New Zealand. Ministry for Economic Development).1998 to 2003. 1996-1997 in print format shelved at S2/NZ ELYi. This data is now collected by the Commerce Commission.
Electricity Line Business and Gas Pipeline Business Information Disclosure Compendium from PriceWaterhouseCoopers 'summarises the ... disclosure information of New Zealand's electricity line and gas pipeline businesses, as published in the New Zealand Gazettes.' Began with
2000.
Factiva. Under the Companies/Market tab, the Company Quick Search gives a brief business description, list of key competitors, latest news/press releases/trade articles, plus in
some cases a company history.
Mergent online has time series financial data downloadable as .xls table for listed companies
NZX Annual Reports.Online full text access to the annual reports of New Zealand domiciled companies and Australian listed companies
NZX Deep archive has data for both New Zealand listed companies (NZX)
and Australian listed companies (ASX) from 1998 onwards. The
research includes an analysis update, recommendation, business profile, financial profile, company news, 30 day prices, 12 month and 5 year
charts.
Energy organisations  |
New Zealand | Other countries | University Research Centres
New Zealand .
Alphabetical listing of selected New Zealand energy organisations
Bioenergy Association of New Zealand
Centre for Advanced Engineering
Commerce Commission Electricity including the Electricity Industry Reform Act and Electricity Lines businesses
CRL Energy Limited
is an energy, minerals, and environmental research and consulting company
Crown Minerals (Ministry of Economic Development)
Electricity Commission 'The Electricity Commission is a Crown entity set up under the Electricity Act to oversee New Zealand's electricity industry and markets
Electric Power Optimization Centre University of Auckland
Electricity Networks Association 'represents the interests of the organisations that distribute electricity to consumers throughout New Zealand, the country’s 24 electricity lines companies'
Energy Efficiency Conservation Authority (EECA) and Emprove energy management programme from EECA
Energy Federation of New Zealand (EFNZ) was formed in 1997 following the merger of the Energy Foundation of New Zealand and the New Zealand branch of the World Energy Council
Energy Link weekly market review of New Zealand's electricity market
Energy Management Association of New Zealand
Energy Trusts of New Zealand 'incorporated society of energy trusts, the majority of which hold shares in companies that operate Electricity Networks (Lines Businesses).'
Gas Association of New Zealand
Industry
Capability Network project opportunities in the Genesis
Energy – Huntly e3p CCGT Power Project
Industry players listings from the Energy Library, Wellington. Includes consultants, research agencies, policy and regulation.
M-co internet based trading platform used to trade gas, electricity and equities.
National Centre for Climate-Energy Solutions National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research (NIWA)
New Zealand Geothermal Association
New Zealand's electrical industry Meridian Energy overview of electrical industry in New Zealand
New Zealand Ministry of Economic Development Energy data file and Energy and resources Electricity, gas, oil and petroleum, international energy relations, renewable energy submissions Chronology of New Zealand Electricity Reform
New Zealand Ministry for the Environment Energy
New Zealand Power Companies list of power companies from SwitchMe
New Zealand Wind Energy Association
Petroleum Exploration & Production Association of New Zealand
Sustainable Energy Forum
Other country energy organisations 
APERC Asia Pacific Energy Research Centre
ASTAE: Asia Alternative Energy Program from the World Bank
Australia Department of Industry, Tourism and Resources Resources and energy includes discussion papers, reports and information on energy market reform
Australian Bureau of Agricultural and Resource Economics (ABARE) Energy
and minerals
Australian Institute of Energy facts and figures (under Services)
Australian Institute of Petroleum includes pricing data and industry information.
Bioenergy NoE 'is a
pan-European group of eight leading bioenergy institutes... integrating
our activities to achieve new synergies in research to build a Virtual
Bioenergy R&D Centre that will spearhead the development of a
competitive bioenergy market in Europe.'
Energy Research European Commission
Energy Research Centre of the Netherlands includes policy studies, energy efficiency in industry, solar and wind energy, clean fossil fuels, biomass, fuel cell technology, renewable energy in the built environment.
Institute of Energy Economics, Japan
International Energy Agency
Leonardo
Energy 'Leonardo ENERGY is a network providing qualified
information on sustainable electrical energy...The primary focus ...
is energy conservation, quality of supply, safety & comfort.'
National Electricity Market Management Company (NEMMCO) includes statistical data, links to relevant governmental and regulatory bodies, links to market participants, links to international market operators (listed by country), plus a weekly market review bulletin
Oxford Institute for Energy Studies United Kingdom
Renewable Energy Policy Project United States
Tyndall Centre for climate change research
United States Department of Energy and their Energy efficiency and renewable energy portal
United States Energy Industry Association (EIA) reports on performance
profiles of major energy producers including an Annual Energy Review
World Energy Council is a global multi-energy organisation with representation from over 90 countries. 'The 80-year-old organisation covers all types of energy, including coal, oil, natural gas, nuclear, hydro, and renewables, and is UN-accredited, non-governmental, non-commercial and non-aligned.'
University Research Centres  |
Energy Centre University of Auckland
Cambridge
Centre for Climate Change Mitigation Research 4CMR [UK]
Cambridge-MIT Institute electricity project
Center for Energy and Environmental Policy Research MIT
Centre for Energy Policy and Economics Swiss Federal Institutes of Technology
Energy Group Princeton
ESRU (Energy Systems Research Unit) University of Strathclyde
Harvard Electricity Policy Group
Laboratory for Energy and the Environment MIT
UCEI University of California Energy Institute
Energy statistics  |
Online and Print resources: Statistical data
Data is available in print from the Statistics Collection located on the Mezzanine floor of the General Library, Call numbers
for example S1/UN ENE for international data S1/UN ENE Energy statistics yearbook / United Nations,
or also online Check in OFFSTATS database, where you can browse under subjects, country or region for information
or for example S2/NZ for New Zealand data S2/NZ ENE...
and also check in the NZStats database where you can browse under subjects eg energy, oil, petroleum
Wind power |
Wind power sites
|