DATABASES : DATASTREAM FAQs

Business & Economics Information Services (BEIS)

BEIS home  |  Subject Guides Course Pages  |  Business Librarians  | Business School  | Blog


Getting started FAQs

  • Who produces Datastream?
  • Where can I find access to a Datastream terminal?
  • How do I sign on?
  • How do I add in the Excel interface?
  • Where can I obtain a User guide?
  • Which is best interface Advance or Excel access?
  • What sort of data will I find on Datastream?
  • How can I find data for older or delisted New Zealand companies ?

Finding codes

  • How do I search for data on Datastream?
  • How do I find the series codes on Datastream?
  • How do I find company accounts and financial information?
  • How do I find the lists of research stocks?
  • How do I find codes for exchange rates or economics codes?
  • Does Datastream recognize tickers and SEDOL codes?

Owen G Glenn Building

Subject Librarian

Accounting & Finance
Julie Sibthorpe
Room M19
General Library
University of Auckland

Email for an appointment
Monday - Friday
j.sibthorpe@auckland.ac.nz

Datatypes

  • How do I select datatypes?
  • How can I find out how the datatypes are calculated?
  • Can I use Worldscope datatypes?
  • How can I automatically update data?
  • Can I make a list of datatypes for a Company account request? (Creating "User created company account formats")
  • Can I find Beta measures on Datastream?

Company lists

  • How can I find out which companies are listed on a particular stock exchange or index ? (Finding constituent companies)
  • How can I search a list of companies I have made myself ? (Creating a local list)

Excel capacity

  • How can I limit the size of the file- (10 years max-by date)?

Help

  • Who can I contact for help?

Getting Started

Who produces Datastream?
Datastream is produced by Thomson Reuters

Where can I find access to a Datastream terminal?

Business Information Centre, Business Databases Room.
Room 201, Level 2 Business School
Owen G Glenn Building, 12 Grafton Road.

There is online help available under Help (in Advance) and Datastream-AFO > Help > User Guide.

How do I sign on?

To set up access to Datastream:
Sign on to NetAccount to obtain the full functionality of the Datastream Navigator.

Follow the signon instruction beside terminals in the Business Information Centre.

How do I add in the Excel interface?

To install the Datastream Add-in as part of Excel (Recommended)

  1. Open Excel
  2. Click on the Add-ins tab, then Datastream - AFO
  3. You can add Datastream as an additional tab.

Where can I obtain a User guide?

You can find excellent online user manuals on both the Excel and Advance interfaces.

In Advance
Check tools > help > online manuals > Getting started/User guide/Reference. There is also an online Tutorial under Help in Advance.

In Excel
See Datastream AFO > Help > Introduction Guide and User Guide.

Which is best interface to use - Advance or Excel access?

This is a matter of personal preference.
In Advance you can see all the parameters of the search and set it up to download into the display screen. You can then export it to the Excel or other format you desire.

In Excel the data come straight into your spreadsheet and so are dynamic and refreshable. You use the Static Request, Time Series Request or Company Accounts Request (accessed from<Other/Manage Requests> menu) to construct your search.

What sort of data will I find on Datastream?

Financial data
Datastream provides historical and current (within one month) financial information. Coverage is worldwide and includes New Zealand. Key data sets include equities and company financials, stock market indices, unit and investment trusts, warrants, bonds, interest rates, exchange rates, commodities, and macroeconomic data. The macroeconomic data is sourced from the IMF, OECD and government agencies. The data is numeric only, no text. Time series vary but may cover up to 50 years. Available frequencies include daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly and annual. New Zealand stock market data is present from 1973 on.

Economic data

Economic data includes national accounts, money and finance, prices, labour market indicators, consumer sector data, industry sector data, and government sector financials.

How can I find data for older or delisted New Zealand companies ?

To find continuous share prices for listed companies, make sure you have their company history and understand name changes which may have taken place. Companies merge and delist, so check these in a current printed resource such as New Zealand Company Register (General Library 338.740995 N56 NZ&P) or Investment Yearbook from IRG (General Library 332.60995 N27 NZ&P) or run a search on Newztext Plus to find more information about recent developments. The New Zealand stock exchange website can also help, as can NZX Company research database.

A Time Series search using the code deadnz will find all previously listed New Zealand companies.

How do I search for data on Datastream?

Datastream is searched by using codes. There are three modes of searching, Static, Time Series and Company Account Request. These each have different request boxes. The first code you will need is for the time series or company you require. First, select the type of search you are doing - either static, time series or company account request. In the pop-up search box you being by finding the Series/List code by using the Navigator button,

in Excel this is a red button,

In the new Advance version a blue Search button


then searching the correct data category to find the series you want, whether it be equities, equity indices, constituent companies, unit trusts, investment trusts, warrants, economic series, exchange rates, interest rates, or futures and options, commodities, convertibles or bonds.


Finding codes

How do I find the series codes on Datastream?

In the search box the Navigator will show you a search screen (Criteria Search) . You can enter a company name or select a series such as NZSX, and then choose the appropriate code for your search. The symbol List picker icon shows you can display a list of available values to search and select from. For example, you can display all the Markets and then select those to include in your search. When you double-click the code it pastes into your search box.

Make sure the settings in "Data category" at the top of the screen are the correct ones for the series you are seeking, such as Equities, Equity indices or Exchange rates.

How do I find company accounts and financial information?

In a Company Account Request use the Navigator to choose Equities as the Data Category, then type in the name of the company. You can enter part of a company name and change the search box to "contains" or "starts with" etc so that you get all variations of the company's name. You can select the company from the list which appears. You will need to select a format code, using either pre-defined formats such as Industrials Balance Sheet Assets - Detailed or you can define your own format.

How do I find the lists of research stocks?

In Navigator, go to Constituent lists as the Data Category.  Enter in the name field Contains the word research.

How do I find codes for exchange rates or economics codes?

Under Time series, change the Data Category on the Navigator to Exchange Rates or Economics etc and carry out a search for relevant codes using the Explorer.

Does Datastream recognize tickers and SEDOL codes ?

You can use Datastream codes, SEDOLs, ISINs, or other codes that Datastream recognises displayed in a request in the request table to create a Datastream or Local list of companies. You can then use your created list to make further data requests. To create a new list from external codes displayed in the request table, select the codes you want to use in the request table and click the List button. (over the frequency column)

Datastream will accept ticker number modified U: for NYSE and AMEX or @ for NASDAQ

Datastream does recognise IBES tickers. You can do a static search in Excel and download the DS code (DSCD), mnemonic (MNEM) or SEDOL code (SECD) for the list.


Datatypes

How do I select datatypes / expressions?

These are also codes, for the financial items you wish to obtain. Once you have chosen your series code, click on the Datatypes button

You will need to set the Data category at the top of the search screen (e.g. Equities, Equity Indices, etc). Then in the Find search box type in the name of the data you need, and select from the list those which apply to your search. Click on these to obtain them for your search box. You can put in more than one, and separate them with a comma. e.g. mv, p, name, code

How can I find out how the datatypes are calculated?

Click on the small open book icons to the left of the Datatype to find a definition and explanation of how these are calculated. There are more definitions in the Help > Definitions.

Can I use Worldscope datatypes?

These appear in the Navigator so just prefix them with an X and brackets e.g. Total debt x(wc03255). Not all are available however. Selecting key items will limit to those datatypes which are available to you.

How can I automatically update my data to current values?

If you tick the 'Embed' option in the Request box your data will automatically refresh each time you load it. It will update itself to today's value.

Can I make a list of datatypes for a Company account request? (Creating "User Created Company Account Formats")

To create a list of company account items for use in Excel Company Account Request follow these steps:

  •  Use the Advance interface and select Equities.

  • Choose a sample company.

  • Select Single Series -Data from the left-hand side menu

  • Choose Company Accounts Data

  • Click on the Settings button (top right-hand corner) to see the formats available.

  • To create your own format change the drop down to “User created Company Accounts Formats”

  • Click on the Create button to create a new one.

  • Use the Datatype Navigator to choose the items you require in your list. Click on the Mnemonic code to add to your Data Types list.

  • Give the format a description and click ok.

  • Note the number you are given.

  • Switch to Excel to pick up your format in the Company Account Request.

  • Select the company code.

  • Click on the CA button and Tab for “User created company account format” and find your format search number.

Can I find Beta measures on Datastream?

You can get Beta measures from Datastream. To do this, import your list into the time series and select the beta measure from the datatype button marked fx. This screen can be searched using “beta” and the various measures will appear.


Company lists

How can I find out which companies are listed on a particular stock exchange or index ? (Finding constituent companies)
To find constituent companies in an index use only Static Search as a Time Series search will not work as these lists must be fixed to any particular day. They are prefixed by L. e.g. LFTSE100, LNZSEALL. In the Static Search box use the Navigator to find the correct list. It is now possible to run constituent lists in Time series requests. It used to be restricted to static only in earlier versions. If you free type in a list code such as LASX100I tick the box that states ‘ TS for each item in list’ in the time series request box, (located just under the frequency). If you select the code from Navigator – the system will tick that box for you. You may wish to transpose the data if the list is very long due to the default download places the companies in columns. If you wish to do this in a request table select TSL instead or TS as your request type.

 
How can I search a list of companies I have made myself ? (Creating a local list)

  • Have your list of stocks ready on an Excel spreadsheet.
  • Please take note that the symbols should be Datastream mnemonics or Sedol codes or Isin codes so that the system will recognise them. (e.g. Z:NZRZ ).
  • Go to Datastream-AFO in Excel, select Create List (From range).
  • Another box will appear which will enable you to specify the symbols you want to include in your list. Please click on the "Change Selection" button.
  • The range Selection box will appear. Drag the cursor over the range of cells that contain the symbols of the stocks to be included in your list. If the cell is highlighted it will automatically be surrounded by dotted lines. Click on "OK" once you have highlighted the range of cells.
  • Enter a List File Name for your list. This should end with a .LLT. Please click on "Upload List" so that you will be able to access your list from any Datastream computer. Then click on "OK".
  • The system will give you a code beginning with " L# ". This is the code for your list.
  • You can download the share prices by entering the details in a Time Series Request. Make sure to tick the box for "TS for each item in list" and the prices will be retrieved for each item in your list.

Excel capacity

How can I limit the size of the file- (10 years max-by date) ?

You are limited in your download by the capacity of Excel. The best way to make sure you have all the data is to limit the amount by the date, for example for a ten year period, break the search into two time periods of five years. You can also transpose the data to fit, and obtain all the company names down a left hand column, and the dates across the page. Just tick "Transpose data" on the Time Series Request box.


Help

Who can I contact for help?

The subject librarians are now located in the General Library on Level M.

On Mon-Fri, 9.00am - 5.00pm there is a business librarian available in the Business Information Centre,
Room 201, Business School
Owen G Glenn Building, 12 Grafton Road..

Please email us for an appointment before coming to see us as we may not be available.

Julie Sibthorpe (Mon - Fri)
j.sibthorpe@auckland.ac.nz
phone ext: 84040

Camille Tooman (Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday)
c.tooman@auckland.ac.nz
phone ext: 88995

OR

The Datastream Helpdesk usually gives a rapid reply (within 1 hour).
Use the online form :  https://customers.reuters.com/sc/ContactUs/Simple/trDefault.aspx


Copyright©The University of Auckland Library
Comments and suggestions to: Julie Sibthorpe
Last updated: 13 April, 2011