TOPIC GUIDE : NEW ZEALAND LEGAL RESOURCES FOR BUSINESS STUDENTS

Business & Economics Information Services (BEIS)
 

BEIS home  |  BEIS Subject Guides Business Librarians  |  Business Information Centre   |  Business School  |  Ask a librarian Business Blog


Legislation Case law Books and legal commentaries
Journals Reference material Useful Government websites
Citation & style guides See also... Davis Law Library

Legislation  Top of page

Finding an Act
New Zealand Acts (or Statutes) are available full text in LexisNexis NZ [helpsheet] and Brookers Online [helpsheet].  In these databases you will find statutes such as:

  • Commerce Act 1986  
  • Consumer Guarantees Act 1993
  • Copyright Act 1994
  • Employment Relations Act 2000 
  • Employment Relations (Validation of Union Registration and Other Matters) Amendment 2001
  • Fair Trading Act 1986 
  • Health and Safety in Employment Act 2002 
  • Holidays Act 2003

Legislation is also on the internet via PAL - Public Access to Legislation Project on the New Zealand Parliamentary Counsel Office site. PAL is the government initiative to provide public access to legislation. Use with caution - this site is only updated on a monthly basis and has no accompanying editorial comment

Acts are also available in print form in the General Library: Statutes of New Zealand [Voyager record].
The New Zealand and Pacific Collection on Level G contains a copy of every Act of Parliament ever passed in New Zealand. They are bound together in volumes each year. 

To know what legislation is in force  and to find which print volume an Act is in use:

  • The print version Tables of New Zealand Acts and Ordinances and Statutory Regulations in Force [Voyager record]
     or
  • In the New Zealand & Pacific Collection on Level G in the General Library a wall chart listing legislation in force is on the end of the stack ending NZP 346.4 N53. This chart will either give you an RS and a number or just a number. Note the year of the Act and its number. For RS look in the Reprinted Statutes shelved at NZP 346.3 N56re. See further information provided by the Davis Law Library.

Understanding the legislative process: from Bill to Act  Top of page

The Office of the Clerk has compiled a Parliament brief on the Legislative process

To follow the debate and readings... All speeches in the Chamber are recorded in the Parliamentary Debates which is commonly known as Hansard. Hansard is available:

  • In print form shelved in the New Zealand & Pacific Collection on Level G. Each volume has an index. To find the debate associated with a piece of legislation search in the ‘Sessional index’ in the last volume of each Session (usually coincides with a calendar year). Within the BILLS entry of the Index look under the title of the Bill to find the page where the debates appear.
  • The Library database Hansard has the full text of the transcripts, from 1987 onwards and is searchable.
  • Hansard from 2003 onwards is online via the New Zealand Parliament website. You are able to search for speeches by particular MPs or on specific topics, as well as search debates and Questions for Oral Answer
For the text of a Bill see:
  • Brookers Online - Bills of New Zealand includes Current Bills, Defeated Bills, Enacted Bills and Historic Clauses. This is a useful database as it includes explanatory notes and Select Committee reports.
  • See also the Brookers Bills Versions database.
  • LegislationNZ 

For additional information see also:

  • FAQs from the Parliamentary Counsel Office (explanations of Bills, Acts, Regulations)
  • Davis Law Library links to New Zealand Legislation

Case law  Top of page

Case law is law set out in judicial decisions, as distinct from statute law.  Selected New Zealand case law is indexed in LinxPlus, within LexisNexis NZ, and Briefcase, within Brookers Online.  Both databases provide links to unreported judgments where available. The databases also provide the citation to where the case has been formally published in a reporting series. It is advisable to read the published case in this reported format. See the Davis Law Library explanation understanding legal citations.

IntelliConnect from CCH New Zealand provides access to case law for a wide variety of resources including: Tax; Employment Law; Company Law; Health and Safety; Business Law; Property and Conveyancing; Trusts; E-commerce Law; Customs and Duties; and Sales and Marketing 

Some of the more commonly used reporting series are:

For brief summaries of judgments and decisions see also: 

For additional case law resources see: Davis Law Library links to New Zealand Case law.


Books and legal commentaries  Top of page

Voyager
There is an extensive range of materials devoted to business law.  Search Voyager, the library's online catalogue, for detailed holdings.  

Voyager subject headings 
Below is a selection of Subject Headings to help get you started.  They open up a Voyager subject heading index.  From this screen click on a subject heading of interest to display a corresponding list of books and journals:

Advertising laws New Zealand Mistake (Law) New Zealand
Agency (Law) New Zealand New Zealand Commerce Act 1986
Antitrust law New Zealand New Zealand Companies Act 1993
Competition law and legislation New Zealand New Zealand Consumer Guarantees Act 1993
Consumer protection Law and Legislation New Zealand New Zealand Contractual Remedies Act 1979
Corporation law New Zealand New Zealand Employment Contracts Act 1991
Customary law New Zealand New Zealand Employment Relations Act 2000
Directors of corporations Legal status, laws, etc. New Zealand New Zealand Health & Safety in Employment Act 1992
Directors of corporations New Zealand New Zealand Resource Management Act 1991
Good faith (law) New Zealand Partnership New Zealand
Income tax Law and legislation New Zealand Real property tax Law and legislation New Zealand
Industrial hygiene Law and legislation New Zealand Restitution New Zealand
Industrial safety law and legislation New Zealand Restraint of trade New Zealand
Intellectual property New Zealand Stock exchanges law and legislation New Zealand
Labor laws and legislation New Zealand Stockholders Legal status, laws, etc, New Zealand
Marketing law and legislation New Zealand Taxation law and legislation New Zealand

Useful books
Check Voyager to note how many copies of a book are held and their locations. Where possible consult the latest edition of the text.
 

Legal research


Journals 

To find specific journal articles on a topic search LinxPlus, or AGIS Plus Text. Some relevant material may also be on ABI/Inform, Business Source Premier, Index New Zealand or Newztext Plus. If the article is not available full text online note citation details of articles of interest then check Voyager to see if the library holds the journal.

Electronic access

See also: Davis Law Library links to New Zealand Legal Journals


Reference material  Top of page

Understanding legal citations
See the Davis Law Library explanation understanding legal citations.

Legal abbreviations

Encyclopedia

  • Laws of New Zealand, fulltext online in LexisNexis NZ, is the New Zealand legal encyclopedia. Read legal commentary and follow referrals to relevant statutes, case law and commentary 

Dictionaries


Government websites  Top of page


Citation & style guides  Top of page

 

See also  Top of page

For more in depth guidance see the Davis Law Library database and course pages 


Copyright©The University of Auckland Library
Comments and suggestions to: Sheryl Baster
 Last updated: 5 February, 2010