Business & Economics

Services


Business & Economics Home / Services

Services

The Business librarians offer the following services to Business School staff and students. Please contact a business librarian for further information, or use the Ask a Librarian service.

  • Presentations, talks, and seminars for orientations and other special Business School events
  • The librarians are available to work with Business School committees, groups and research centres
  • Collaboration with lecturers on inserting information skills components into course curricula or assignments
  • Research consultations
  • Research / teaching assistance
  • Tailored course resource pages for courses, assignments (compiled by request)
  • Special topic and information guides (compiled by request)
  • Database tutorials
  • Library / information skills tutorials
  • Collection development
  • Current awareness
  • Business Information Centre - Level 2, Owen G Glenn Building. This facility is managed by the librarians and has a staffed enquiry desk for postgraduates and staff.
Previous PageTop of Page

Research consultations

  • Selecting, finding and using electronic and print resources
  • Designing database search strategies
  • Help with navigating the complex information environment
Previous PageTop of Page

Research / teaching assistance

  • Numeric data from our wide range of databases
  • Data from Library and internet resources
  • The development of course material pages with links to full text articles, catalogue entries, web resources and database searches
  • The preparation of web resources to support teaching and research
      See: Subject Guides - Business and Economics for more details
Previous PageTop of Page

Database tutorials

  • One-to-one small group tutorials
  • Class instruction
  • Databases To Go: this new series offers advanced database tutorials to postgraduates
Previous PageTop of Page

Library/information skills tutorials

  • Specific course-related and in-class tutorials
  • Generic business skills tutorials
  • Tutorials for undergraduate papers can be arranged on request
  • EndNote tutorials to help manage and create bibliographies and reference databases - also available on request
  • NEW: an online modular tutorial - Business Information Skills Online
Previous PageTop of Page

Collection Development

You can recommend the purchase of library materials by email or the use the electronic form on the Library website

Library Website >> I would like to... >> Recommend a Book

Previous PageTop of Page

Current awareness

  • The establishment of Auto Alert (SDI) searches for monthly updates from databases
  • Library news emailed to all staff and postgraduates in the faculty
  • Library Business Blog
Previous PageTop of Page

  Computer Image

Last updated: March 31, 2011