MEDIA : NEWS SOURCES

Business & Economics Information Services (BEIS)


BEIS home  |  BEIS Subject Guides Business Librarians  |  Business Information Centre  |  Business School  |  Ask a librarian Business Blog


The advent of the Internet has seen a proliferation of news sources. It has also encouraged new ways in which news is communicated through different types of media.
This page provides links to sites that enable users to search both traditional and non-traditional news sources.

Blogs Radio
Newspapers and News sites Television
Podcasts Video
Powerpoint presentations  

Blogs


Blog search engines:

Newspapers and News sites

Newspapers and News sites
- a University of Auckland Library guide to locating newspaper articles in:
  • newspapers held by the University of Auckland Library
  • databases that include some full-text newspaper articles
  • newspaper indexes
  • reference books about newspapers
  • internet sites, including news sites

Also refer to the Business and Economics Information Services topic guide - Finding NZ Business Magazines and Newspapers

PressDisplay - A searchable online newspaper collection, providing access to the current issues of over 1,000 newspapers from 82 countries. The newspapers are presented as they appear in print, and are released at the same time as the print editions.

 
Podcasts 


The Internet Archive
-  categorises audio files into sub-collections. Categories include news and public affairs.

iTunes - the iTunes Store provides access to thousands of free podcasts

Podfeed.net - searchable podcast directory

PodcastAlley - a directory of podcasts with a search function

Podcastdirectory - a directory of podcasts with a search function
Podfeed.net - searchable podcast directory


Powerpoint presentations 


Filedigg
- dedicated powerpoint search engine for PPT files and   .doc, .pdf, xml, .flash files

PPT Finder - search engine for powerpoint presentations

Slidefinder - search engine for powerpoint presentations

Slideworld - access to over 7 million presentations arranged by category

 
Radio 

NZ Radio Guide
- lists over 50 New Zealand radio stations streaming live on the internet    

Radio New Zealand-  news wires are available via the Newztext Plus database

Radio transcripts are available from:

Media Monitors is a commercial organisation and charges for its services.

 
Television

Unisat
- UniSat receives local and international television channels and makes recordings of television programmes for educational use. Thirty two separate television channels from New Zealand and around the world can be viewed by staff and students. 
 

eTV- eTV is a NZ Internet TV provider of commercial digital television, delivering a range of live channels and recorded content to the education sector. Provides real-time teaching resources through recorded programmes, live streams and videos available to be viewed and downloaded.

Television transcripts are available from:

Media Monitors is a commercial organisation and charges for its services.

 
Video

Bing  - Microsoft's online search portal has a video searching capacity 

Forbes Video Network - click on the Topics tab to find videos on business, technology, markets, entrepreneurs etc.

Google Videos - Google's video search site  

TubeSurf - searches for videos on YouTube, MySpace Videos, Google Video, and Yahoo Video 

Yahoo Video - Yahoo's video search site

Note: Streaming media via course resources page

To make videos, audio and other media available to Business School students:

  • Save media/video/audio on to the Business School L drive, under the TEMP folder. Create a new folder within the TEMP folder.
  • Video formats should be in .mwv format. Audio formats should be either .mp3 or .wma
  • Contact Digital Services in the Business School (commhelp@auckland.ac.nz). Let them know the folder and the name of the course.
  • Digital Services will contact you when the media/video/audio is available. Students will need to sign in to access the media and should only be able to see their relevant class
 

Copyright©The University of Auckland Library
Comments and suggestions to:Justene McNeice
Last updated: 12 December, 2011