D A T A B A S E S : BUSINESS & ECONOMICS

Business & Economics Information Services (BEIS)


BEIS home  |  BEIS Subject Guides Business Librarians  |  Business Information Centre  |  Business School  |  Ask a librarian  Business Blog


These databases are accessible to University of Auckland staff and currently enrolled students. For access from home please read the instructions for Off-Campus Services. See Student IT essentials for additional information on information technology resources. For technical queries involving problems connecting to databases from home please contact the IC Helpdesk at: ichelpdesk@auckland.ac.nz or phone 3737599 ext 82333 or 82300.

Major business databases
ABI/Inform (ProQuest)
ABI/Inform is one of the main business databases and includes in-depth coverage for a large number of academic journals and trade magazines. Searches can be limited to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals. Part of the ProQuest collection of databases.

Australia / New Zealand Reference Centre
A full-text collection combining content from Australian, New Zealand and overseas magazines, academic journals, newspapers, newswires, reference books and company information.

Business Source Premier (Ebsco)
Business Source Premier provides full text for a large number of academic journals and other sources across nearly every area of business. Searches can be limited to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals. Part of the EBSCOhost collection of databases.

Datamonitor360 Explorer
Providing access to company and industry profiles, historical and forecasted socio-economic and demographic data for 215 countries, plus market data for over 25 industries globally. This database was previously known as MarketLine.

Emerald Management Xtra
Emerald Management Xtra covers business journals from MCB University Press. Mostly peer reviewed and aimed at both academic researchers and practitioners.  
Factiva
Provides access to a wide range of global news and business information content including same-day newswires and thousands of sources from 118 countries

Google Scholar : Helpsheet
Search engine for scholarly literature. Not a structured database but good for cross-disciplinary topics and has useful 'cited by' links.

Newztext Plus
Fulltext of key New Zealand business publications including the New Zealand Herald and the Dominion Post. Also includes Radio New Zealand and Scoop newswires.
Science Direct
Contains the full text (including graphics and tables) of over 2500 journals handled by Elsevier Science. Some good social sciences and business content.
Scopus
Scopus is a multidisciplinary database focussing particularly on scientific information but with significant business content. Covers journals, web sources and patents. Not full text but the library will often have the journal on another database.
 

Ebooks 

See also the complete list of E-book collections subscribed to by the Library.
Note: Many (but not all) of the e-books we have access to can be located by searching the library catalogue but to search the full text of books you need to go into the individual e-book collections.
Blackwell Reference Online
A collection of e-books from Blackwell Publishers.
BUSINESSnetBASE
Online collection of over 170 full-text monographs on business management, accounting, marketing and related areas.
COMPUTERSCIENCEnetBASE
A collection of full-text handbooks and monographs covering most areas of computer science.
Credo Reference
A quick reference collection covering a wide range of subjects, including art history, political studies, philosophy, history, linguistics and religious studies

Ebrary
More than 19,000 recently published books on all subjects

Ebsco (previously Netlibrary)
Major collection of over 10,000 scholarly, reference and professional electronic books on all subjects, including business.

ECONOMICSnetBASE
Online collection of over 500 full-text monographs on economics, finance, and related areas
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A wide range of reference books from Thomson Gale and other publishers.
Google Book Search
Gives access to a wide range of books across all disciplines. Depending on the copyright status of the book, you may be able to view snippets, sample pages or in some cases the whole book. You can then check the catalogue to see whether the library holds the title.

InfoSECURITYnetBASE
Online collection of handbooks on computer security published by CRC Press.

ITKnowledgeBASE
An online collection of books on information technology.
OCCUP-HEALTHandSAFETYnetBASE
A collection of full-text handbooks and monographs covering most areas of occupational health and safety.
OECDiLibrary
OECD publications on economics, education, finance, investment, migration, telecommunications, and trade.
Oxford Reference Online
The Core Collection brings together 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works into a single cross-searchable resource.
Oxford Scholarship Online
A searchable online collection of scholarly books published by Oxford University Press in the areas of classical studies, economics and finance, history, linguistics, literature, philosophy, political science and religion.
ProjectManagementnetBASE
A searchable online collection of monographs and reference works from Taylor & Francis.
PublicADMINISTRATIONnetBASE
Online collection of over 70 full-text monographs on public administration, facility management, security, project management and related topics
Safari Tech Books Online
Texts and handbooks on information technology.
Social Theory
Includes works by theorists such as Max Weber, Karl Marx, Emile Durkheim, Jürgen Habermas and Talcott Parsons.
STATSnetBASE
Online collection of handbooks and other statistical texts published by CRC Press
 
NZ databases 
Australia / New Zealand Reference Centre
A full-text collection combining content from Australian, New Zealand and overseas magazines and newspapers
FindNZArticles
Index to articles and book chapters from a number of sources.
Hansard (New Zealand Parliamentary Debates)
Contains the weekly transcript of debates in the House of Representatives. Hansard also provides daily written and oral questions asked of ministers and members.
Index New Zealand: INNZ
Key New Zealand database for social sciences, arts, humanities and general interest material. Some business content. Index only - to get the full text of articles check if a journal is held by doing a serial title search in Voyager or the catalogue.
Kiwi Research Information Service
Gateway to the open-access research documents produced at universities, polytechnics, and other research institutions throughout New Zealand
Kompass
Kompass is a global business directory with information on a company's executives, brief financials, branches, localities, a list of products and services, and trade and brand names. Lists over 16,000 New Zealand companies
National Business Review
A searchable online version of the National Business Review, including subscriber-only content not available in the weekly print edition or in the version of the NBR on Newztext Plus.
Market Information Digest
Using information mostly sourced from ACNielsen SCANTRACK, the Market Information Digest provides New Zealand general retail trade and product category data. Password access -available for postgraduate students and staff only.
New Zealand Fisheries Management Research Database
The database contains primarily New Zealand material covering social, economic, environmental, recreational and customary rights information.

New Zealand Stock Exchange Announcements,
Search for announcements by company when in the NZX Company Research database. Or under Live Data choose Market Announcements and you can check each day's announcements for the last month by clicking on 'previous'.

New Zealand Television Audience Measurement Online Ratings Reports
A numeric estimate of the television viewing audience collected from a representative sample of households by Nielsen Media Research.
New Zealand Time Series
A collection of time series data from Statistics New Zealand covering topics such as national accounts, social welfare benefits, population, tourism, migration, cpi, exchange rates.
Newzindex
An index to NZ trade and business magazines, the four major daily newspapers and a selection of general interest magazines.It is part of the New Zealand Index ) from the Knowledge Basket. Newzindex can also be searched as part of Newztext Plus
Newztext Plus
Fulltext of key New Zealand business publications including the New Zealand Herald and the Dominion Post. Also includes Radio New Zealand and Scoop newswires.
NZSTATS
provides access to internet, database and print sources for statistics about New Zealand. Links are arranged by subject.
NZX Annual Reports
Full text online access to the annual reports from 1999 onwards of companies listed on the New Zealand Stock Exchange.
NZX Company Research
Current and archival data on New Zealand public companies including: investment profiles, financial summaries, dividend diary dates, directory data, share prices, top 50 shareholders and stock exchange indices.
Te Puna
Over 10 million records for New Zealand and overseas books etc, with links to New Zealand holding libraries.
Note: Many articles written by NZ authors or with a New Zealand context are published in international journals. Search ABI/Inform, Business Source Premier, Emerald Management Xtra, Scopus etc by author and/or keyword. Try using 'zealand' as a search limiter.
See also New Zealand & Pacific databases
 
Impact factors and citations 
Google Scholar
Records that have been cited include a 'Cited by' link.
PBRFand journal ranking- a quick guide to resources
Covers journal impact factors & rankings, PBRF, 'cited by' information
Scopus
Find the 'cited by' link to the right side of each item in a results list. Use the Author search and click on the Details link, then Citation tracker to view cited by information for a particular author. Also has an h-index for researchers.
Web of Science
Despite the name has good coverage of the Social Sciences including business. Valuable for tracking journal article citations. Not good coverage of New Zealand journals. Some records have links to journal impact factors in the Journal Citation Reports.
Note: Some databases such as Business Source Premier have "Cited by" links but these are only to articles in journals covered by that specific database.
 
Newspapers 
Australia / New Zealand Reference Centre
A full-text collection combining content from Australian, New Zealand and overseas magazines and newspapers
Canadian Newsstand Complete (Proquest)
Full text of over 230 Canadian newspapers some going back to the 1970s. (When in Proquest click on the 'Databases selected' link on the search screen and then select News - Canadian Newsstand.)
Factiva
Provides access to a wide range of global news and business information content including same-day newswires and thousands of sources from 118 countries
National Business Review
A searchable online version of the National Business Review, including subscriber-only content not available in the weekly print edition or in the version of the NBR on Newztext Plus.
Newspaper Source
Cover-to-cover full text for 23 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Washington Post, The Times (London), The Toronto Star.
Newztext Plus
Full-text of key New Zealand newspapers including the Dominion Post and the New Zealand Herald
Proquest Historical Newspapers
Contains archival full text for New York Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Guardian, Observer and Atlanta Constitution. Last 3 years not covered.
Wall Street Journal
The financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news
See also Political Studies newspaper database listing

Copyright©The University of Auckland Library
Comments and suggestions to: Margaret Tibbles
Last updated: 16 December, 2011