Electronic
Information Resources
As part of your university study you will
need to find information for your assignments. A lot of this information is
available electronically as well as in print. This tutorial will
cover some of the information and skills you will need to to access the
databases, electronic journals, e-books and other resources.
Learning Outcomes
You will:
- Be familiar with which IDs and passwords you will need to access the electronic resources.
- Be familiar with the
features of Library, e.g. Voyager
- Understand the different
types of databases available to you.
- Be familiar with the
databases most useful to your courses.
- Understand how to access
electronic journals for
your assignments.
- Be able to
access electronic books on Library effectively.
- Know how to
reference electronic articles and books correctly using APA
(American Psychological Association) format.
ID and
password needed to access electronic resources
To access the Library's electronic resources (databases,
e-journals, e-books) you must logon and identify yourself.
Your username or login name is your NetID,
the same as you have used to enroll online ( e.g. jblo123). If
you have never used this service before, your initial NetPassword will be
randomly generated, and may be printed out by swiping your ID card at a
NetAccount
Print Station. Returning users should use their existing NetPassword
(also known as their NetAccount password). See the
NetAccount
Services page for further details on how to activate your NetAccount.
Contact an
IC
HelpDesk for help with forgotten passwords or other problems with
access, or email ichelpdesk@auckland.ac.nz.
In the e-mail please include:
- Your full name
- Your University ID number
- Your NetID (UPI or username)
- A list of the courses for which you are
enrolled, for the current academic year
Other services using the NetID
and NetPassword are:
-
Student Services Online - enrolment, updating personal details, viewing academic
transcript etc.
-
Cecil
- online learning management system, lecture notes, tests etc.
-
EC Mail
- student webmail service.
Library website
Library is the gateway to the
Library's electronic resources with access points to the following:
- Library
catalogue
- Databases
- Resources organised by
subject area, e.g.
Business and Economics
- Electronic journals
- Electronic books
- Exam papers
- Internet and search
engines
- and more.....
Voyager
Voyager is the online library catalogue.
Voyager can be used to find out what is held in the Library and how to
access the items.
Books
There are several ways to search Voyager for books held in the Library:
- By author
- By title
- By keyword or phrase - to find a topic
- By subject - to find a topic
Once you have located a book in Voyager you will
know where to find it on the shelf.
E-books
More and more books are becoming available electronically and can be
accessed via Voyager or the e-book databases - see below for more
information on e-books.
Journals, Magazines, Newspapers
A serial title search in Voyager will give you the location of the
journals or magazines or newspapers, for example, if you wanted to know
whether the Library subscribed to the Harvard Business Review you would do a
serial title search in Voyager, as shown:

Journals are available in print (on the
shelf) and/or electronically, via the Link to e-resource. For more
information see Electronic Journals section below.
When would you use Voyager and when
would you use one of the Library databases?
- Use Voyager to search for books by
title, author(s) or by keyword or subject.
- Use Voyager to search for journal/serial
titles.
- Use a Library database to locate the
content of electronic journal/serial titles, i.e. specific journal articles.
Databases
The Library subscribes to over 380 electronic
databases across all disciplines.
These databases give you desktop access to different types of information:
Database FAQs
What types of databases are in the Library
collections?
- full-text databases, which
deliver the content or full text of journals, magazines or
newspaper articles, to your desktop OR,
- index databases which deliver
references to journal articles, i.e. author, article title, journal
title, volume, issue, page numbers and abstract.
- e-book databases, which allow you
to access and read books online.
- numerical data such as the
statistical databases.
What are the advantages of using the
Library's databases?
- Databases can provide information on a wide range of
subject areas.
- Databases can provide information on a particular
subject area only.
- Information in books is
usually about two years old before a book reaches a book shop and
therefore journals
contain much more recent information than books.
- Journals may contain comment
and opinions on events as well as research findings.
- Journals are useful to
use to supplement other forms
of publication (like books) to bring facts up to date or provide
opinions and discussions.
- Databases allow the use
of search techniques for accurate retrieval of relevant articles.
- Current and relevant
information can be easily accessed off campus and at any time.
Why locate information using the Library databases rather than using the
Internet?
- Information contained in databases has
often been critiqued and evaluated (by publishers, academics,
librarians etc.)
- Many databases are subject specific, so
you avoid non-relevant hits.
- Databases allow advanced search techniques that enable
accurate retrieval of relevant information.
How do I know which databases are
relevant to my topic?
All the databases have been organised by subject such as Business and
Economics. However you can also check if there is a Course page for the courses
you are enrolled in and explore the databases recommended, check out the
Executive Programmes page:
How do I access the databases from the Library website?
Databases useful to Executive
Programmes courses:
1. New Zealand coverage:
Newztext
- provides access to the full-text
of key New Zealand business publications including the National Business
Review, the Independent and INL newspapers.
Newzindex
- an
index to NZ trade and business magazines, and
four major daily newspapers.
Index
New Zealand - indexes New Zealand newspapers, magazines and academic
journals.
2. Databases with international or global business coverage:
ABI/Inform
- indexes and abstracts over 1,400 business and economics journals.
ABI/Inform covers both academic, trade and popular business publications. In addition, it provides the full text and/or page images
of the articles from about half of these periodicals. ABI/Inform is part of the the PQD suite of databases. PQD
includes other databases relevant to business which you may
want to explore. ABI/Inform is an excellent starting point or your
research. Business
Source Premier
- indexes and abstracts for nearly 2630 titles, and the full text of
2080 titles ranging from general business magazines to academic journals. It
provides HTML full-text and/or page images. Business Source Premier is
another excellent database which will supplement your ABI/Inform search. Emerald
- provides full-text access to peer reviewed business, economics
and management journals aimed at both academic researchers and practitioners. Emerald
is a small database so your search will retrieve fewer results than ABI/Inform
or Business Source Premier but the articles are generally in-depth articles.
Factiva
- Access to a wide range of global news and business information. Factiva is
the successor to the Dow Jones Interactive and Reuters Business Briefing
databases. It includes abstracts and access to full text.
ScienceDirect
- Includes academic publications in business and management science, offers
links to full-text. Click
here
for a guide
on using ScienceDirect. ScienceDirect provides access to in-depth
articles.
Electronic Journals
What are e-journals ?
E-journals (or electronic journals) are electronic publications, published on
a regular basis, for example e-journals can be weekly, monthly, quarterly or
annually.
The term e-journals refers to:
- an electronic version of print
academic journals.
- an electronic version of print
popular magazines.
- an electronic version of
newspapers or newsletters.
- an electronic only publication of
any of the above.
Need help?
Check out the How to search
and use e-journals (PDF), from Learning Services, University of Auckland
Library.
How do I access e-journals ?
The Library provides access to e-journals via a number of ways:
- Via Voyager, the Library catalogue.
- Via the E-Journals.
- Via the Databases.
1. Via Voyager: A serial title
search in Voyager will tell you whether the library holds a
particular e-journal title. From there you can access articles in
the journal.
- For example- to read the following article:
Mintzberg, H.(1990)
The Managers job, folk law and fact, Harvard
Business Review, March/April, 68(2): 163-176,
follow these steps:
Locate the record to the Harvard Business Review by a
serial title search on
Voyager. The Voyager record to the Harvard Business Review will look like
this:

2. via E-journal link on Library
From the Library website
- Click onto the link E-Journals
- From here you can click a letter of the
alphabet to take you to a list of titles
- Or you can search for the e-journal
title.
- To find articles on a topic select from the databases available in
Library.
3. Via the Library databases
Electronic Books
What are eBooks?
eBooks are electronic versions of printed books. You can browse eBooks for
quick research and reference or check them out and read them at your leisure.
Since eBooks are online, they’re available anywhere, anytime from an
Internet enabled computer. You also don’t have to worry about returning them, eBooks are
automatically returned at the end of your checkout period.
Need help?
Check out the
How to search
and use e-Books (PDF) work book.
How can you access e-books?
- By a search on Voyager
- By
accessing Ebsco, a Library database of electronic business books.
1. You can search for e-books in Voyager by limiting
your search to e-books as shown:

The Voyager record below displays the record to a book which is available
in electronic
format only.

2. By selecting the Link to e-Resource:
e-Book on Ebsco you will be taken to the access
page on the Ebsco database to that book. Alternatively you can access the
Ebsco database from the Databases
A-Z

If you wish to read the electronic book
for more than 15 minutes you must Create an Account in order to check
out the book. Note the Create an Account link is under the red log in
button on the lower right hand side of the screen. Once you have created an
account for the Ebsco database you can access Ebsco
from any internet enabled pc.
- Browsing an e-book online gives you access
for 15 minutes
- Checking out an e-book gives you access
for 3 hours.
- You are able to print or copy one page of
an Ebsco book at a time
Referencing electronic
sources
Citing articles and information from Journals
If you use articles or information from electronic or print journals you
must acknowledge or cite the source by providing a reference to the source in your
writing.
There are three main reasons to reference:
- Honesty - To acknowledge the author or owner of a piece of writing
or an idea.
- To give the source so that the original information can be located.
- To show that the material you used in your writing is accurate and can be
verified.
APA format is used for
referencing all the sources of information including electronic articles and
web sites. This section will focus on referencing electronic sources of
information using
APA format.
Useful examples of APA Referencing:
- Citing a print journal article
King, J. A. (2002). Conflict in teams, New Zealand Journal of
Management, 42, (3), 26 -28.
- Citing an Internet version of a print
journal
Marsh, I. ( 2001). Team New Zealand and team work, [electronic version]. Unlimited
Magazine, 15, (5), 2-8.
- Citing an Internet only online journal
Reed, P., & Smith, J. (2000). The use of simulation in business school
teaching. Retrieved January 24, 2002, from
http://online.journal.apa.org
- Citing a magazine or journal article from an
online database
Cowan, N.,& Locke, C. (2002). Locating business information
online, Marketing Online Magazine, 15 (6), 21-25. Retrieved April
18, 2002, from ABI/Inform Global database.
Example of no author:
Mobile phones and students. (2002).The New Zealand Director, 104
(3). Retrieved March 18, 2002 from Proquest 5000 database.
- Citing a newspaper article from a
database
Auckland University plans new business school. (2002, March 21). The
New Zealand Herald, p.B8. Retrieved April 1, 2002, from Newztext
database.
- Citing a newspaper article from an
online site
Dr. Doug Carrie made new BBIM director.(2002, March 15). National
Business Review, Retrieved March 18, 2002 from www.nbr.co.nz
- Citing information obtained from web
sites
Entire web site
Title of Page. Retrieved<Date>, from<URL>
Business NZ. Retrieved March 18, from http://www.businessnz.org.nz/
Specific document on a web site
New Zealand used vehicle imports. (2000, November 3.) Retrieved March
10 from Trade Port, U.S. Department of Commerce - National Trade Data
Bank: http://tradeport.org/ts/countries/newzealand/mrr/mark0014.html
Guides to APA Format for Electronic Resources:
Electronic
Reference Formats Recommended by the American Psychological Association
http://www.apastyle.org/elecref.html [an official APA site]
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/handouts/research/r_docelectric.html
General Guides to APA
Format:
http://www.stylewizard.com/index.html
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/handouts/research/r_apa.html#Examples
|