Academic research skills
Academic writing and referencing
Additional learning skills
Access your e-library for information and support
Keep current with business trends and topics by reading key business journals online via the Library subscription databases.
Click on images above to log into Library access and use the e-journals link on the library home page to navigate to other business publications
For individual help with research & academic writing and for upcoming support workshops, email Lynne Mitchell, GSM Librarian, Room 362, OGGB Bldg.
Ph. 09 9234802
The Business Information Centre is your dedicated quiet study & research space in the Business School. Business Librarians are available there 9 - 4.30pm weekdays
Student IT Essentials
Library access for University of Auckland Business School alumni
Speed reading DVD
Enrolled students can view a speed reading DVD on the Business School's digital media facility. Link to the
Online Lecture & Presentation page and
select class/group BUSADMIN 7XX.
Note: this is a large file and may be best viewed on a campus pc. The video cannot be downloaded
Library guide to referencing
- Endnote - University of Auckland Library. (Note that Endnote X6 now requires purchase on CD from the Kate Edger Information Commons for $60.00).
Key business databases & Database tutorials
Business Source Premier
BSP provides full text for nearly 7,800 business journals both popular and academic content. Includes the Harvard Business Review & Mc Kinsey Quarterly. Some crossover with ABI/Inform but often advisable to search both databases.
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a Google search engine for scholarly literature that includes journal articles, books and web sites. Not a library purchased database but good for browsing wide cotent to get an idea of the research on a certain topic.
See the Google Scholar Library help sheet
Includes both popular and academic journals with some different content and smaller number of journals than BSP. Same North American focus .
(U.K management database)
All journals in Emerald are academic, smaller coverage but high quality research journals
A source of full text highly academic articles for business and management , search in the Business & Management field.
See full listing of Business databases
Business database tutorial
Business Information Skills Online - an online, interactive tutorial on basic academic writing and research skills
Key business journals
Use the useful e-journals link on the Library home page if you need to search for the files to an electronic journal.
||The files to the Economist from 1960 to current issues are available in ABI/Inform Global.
|Harvard Business Review
||The files to Harvard Business Review from 1922 to current issues are available in Business Source Premier database
The McKinsey Quarterly is a key journal for the GSE. Link to Business Source Premier database to access the html files to the McKinsey Quarterly.
The Library also gives access to the Premium Content version of the McKinsey Quarterly. This enables charts, images and additional content relating to the article such as pod casts and web links to be displayed.
McKinsey Quarterly Premium Edition. This links to the premium content requiring an additional password for this content.
||Files available on ABI/Inform database from 1996
|National Business Review
||The National Business Review is available via the Library with an archive from 2009
E-books can be located in the library catalogue along with print books and you can also find ebooks by directly searching the Library e-book databases.
These e-book databases have a large collection of business books and can be searched by subject or key words.
Ebrary database - By creating an ebrary account using the sign in feature, books can be downloaded
Ebsco ebook collection - With sign in to database some books can be downloaded, see connect page
Links to reading and evaluating academic articles
Literature review guides
Some tips on literature reviews
To see the rankings of particular academic journals, you can use the Journal Citiation Reports Database
Select the Social Science category and select to search in Business journals
Cases are widely used in teaching in the GSE. These links below will give you tips and help in analysing and writing business cases.
Links on guides to writing cases:
Links to guides on analysing case studies:
Group work links
- A guide to group work, Monash University, Language & Learning Online
- Making group work work, Columbia University, Graduate School of Arts & Sciences Teaching Center
- How to be a team player--and make sure your team gets results; Robert R Picard; Cost Management Update, Montvale; Sep 1998, Iss. 90; pg. 1, 2 pgs.
- Being a better team player; Jay T. Knippen; Journal of Workplace Learning, Bradford; 1999; Vol. 11, Iss. 4; pg. 146
- Successful Group Projects, University of Leicester
- Successful Group Projects University of East Angelia
- Hot groups. ; Leavitt, Harold J.; Lipman-Blumen, Jean., Harvard Business Review, Jul/Aug 95, Vol, 73, Issue 4.
Link to previous exam papers by clicking Readings and exams on Library Search and putting in your course code in the following format, e.g. busadmin765.
Sitting postgraduate exams, University of Auckland Student Learning Services
Study skills, University of Greenwich
Academic tip sheets, Edith Cowan University
Freely available online resources for academic skills
Until students are officially enrolled in the university system, access is not available to Library subscription databases and services, however there are a number of freely available online resources with useful academic skills support and the Library's Business Information Skills Online tutorial is freely available on the Web.
Academic Writing guides
How to analyse and read academic articles