MBA Programme Resources

Business & Economics Information Services (BEIS)

 

BEIS home  |  BEIS Subject Guides Business Librarians  |  Business Information Centre  |  Business School  |  Ask a librarian Business Blog


Secondary research
Business databases

Business Writing & Literature Reviews links

Quick guide to Endnote X4
APA Referencing guides

Reading and analysing academic articles- links
Group work- guides

Speed Reading DVD
There is a speed reading video streamed on the Business School Online Lecture & Presentation page
Select class/group BUSADMIN 7XX. Note this is a large file and may be best viewed on a campus pc. The video cannot be downloaded

 

 

Image

MBA Librarian Assistance

Lynne Mitchell, MBA Librarian
Please contact by phone or email for assistance
09
Room 398
Owen G. Glenn Building

Email lm.mitchell@auckland.ac.nz

Your research facility - The Business Information Centre Level 2, Owen G. Glenn Building

COURSE RESOURCES
MBA Course Resource pages
- Link here to access readings and library resources for specific papers

(Broken links please email Lynne)


Welcome to your MBA library support. I look forward to assisting you to extend your business research skills
and use fully the world class business resources of our Library. Please contact me by phone or email
Lynne Mitchell, MBA Librarian


Secondary ResearchUp arrow

Secondary sources of business information are located in books, journals, conference proceedings, reference material and the Web.
The Library Catalogue contains records and electronic links to books, electronic books, journals (also known serials or periodicals), newspapers, reports, conference proceedings etc.

Ebsco database is a collection of full text electronic books with a one user at a time model. Checking out an eBook gives you exclusive use of an eBook for three hours. By creating an account on Ebsco from a campus pc and by going to www.netlibrary.com and logging in, you can access the University of Auckland's Ebsco collection from any computer.

Locating articles in popular and academic journals:
Academic journals contain research while the popular business press is useful for examples of business practice and current business news. see Guide to Academic and Popular Journals

Most journal articles are indexed in the electronic business databases searchable by keywords and subject. If you have the name of a journal, either use the e-journal link on the Library home page to navigate to the electronic files or search the Library catalogue for the location of a print journal.

See main Business Library page for full listing of Business library resources including guides to locating company & industry information

Beginning Research Guides

Achieving Academic Writing  This is a short online presentation from the University of Adelaide, focusing on writing and referencing skills.  It discusses the relationship between undergraduate research, academic writing and plagiarism.

Seven steps of the research process, Cornell University

Reading & analysing academic articles - links
How to analyze a scholarly article. University of South Carolina, History Dept.
How to read a scientific paper. Purdue University Library
Critique of an academic article, Massey University
How to read an academic article, Becky Rosenberg, Ph.D. University of Washington


Business databases Up arrow

The Library business databases access 1,000's of articles from key business publications world wide including academic business journals. Note that Database access requires net ID to be activated. You should be able to access the Library databases from computers off campus with your net ID but please consult this guide if you have problems
Off campus access to electronic resources

International business databases

  • ABI/INFORM
    ABI/Inform is mainly North American in content with a trade and industry focus. Remember to use U.S. spellings, mostly articles are full-text.
    Has both popular business articles and academic.

  • Business Source Premier
    Business Source Premier isa larger database. Includes key journals such as Harvard Business Review and the Economist as well as good coverage of academic business journals. Mainly North American in content which includes marketing, management, economics, finance, accounting and international business. Mostly articles are either full-text or page images.

  • Emerald
    European business database, small in number of journals, but high quality academic content, strong on management Full-text.

  • Factiva.
    Dow Jones and Reuters news and journal articles plus company information

  • ScienceDirect
    Contains top level academic databases. Full text articles on business subjects

Google Scholar is a freely-accessible Web search engine that accesses academic literature including papers, theses, books, and reports . Note: If you access Google Scholar via the A- Z Library database guide you will be able directly access full text-material to which the Library subscribes.
See Google Scholar Library guide


 

Business writing & the literature review

Library books
(Links are to Library records)
Manalo, E. Wong-Toi, G & Trafford J. (2002) The business of writing : Written communication skills for business students Auckland, N.Z. : Longman
Emerson, L (2005) Writing guidelines for business students 3rd ed. Southbank, Vic. : Thomson Dunmore Press

Web sites
Writing post-graduate essays. University of Auckland Student Centre
Essay writing, University of Otago  

Literature review guides
How to carry out a literature review, Emerald Management
Literature Reviews - Student Learning Centre, University of Auckland
How To Do A Literature Review? - North Carolina A & T State University
The Literature Review: A Few Tips On Conducting It - University of Toronoto
Writing a Literature Review - University of Canberra

APA referencing Up arrow

Information included in your reports must be correctly cited in the text and the Reference List. 
Electronic resources have a particular APA format, see examples in the guide:
Library Guide to APA style
Student Learning Centre - Reference cite
Citation machine
Create an APA reference list  University of Madison, Wisconsin
OWL - Online writing lab, Purdue University., Using APA

 


Team work & group work resources Up arrow

Hot groups. ; Leavitt, Harold J.; Lipman-Blumen, Jean., Harvard Business Review,  Jul/Aug 95, Vol, 73, Issue 4.
How to be a team player--and make sure your team gets results; Robert R Picard; Cost Management Update, Montvale; Sep 1998, Iss. 90; pg. 1, 2 pgs.
Being a better team player
; Jay T. Knippen; Journal of Workplace Learning, Bradford; 1999; Vol. 11, Iss. 4; pg. 146

 

Copyright©The University of Auckland Library
Comments and suggestions to: Lynne Mitchell
 Last updated: 3 August, 2011