R E S O U R C E S   B Y   S U B J E C T : EXECUTIVE MBA

Business & Economics Information Services (BEIS)

 

BEIS home  |  BEIS Subject Guides Business Librarians  |  Business Information Centre  |  Business School  |  Ask a librarian Business Blog


Contents
Saatchi & Saatchi case study
Links to articles, podcasts and websites on Kevin Roberts & Saatchi & Saatchi.

Secondary research
Business databases
Business plan resources
Business writing & literature reviews
Reading & analysing academic articles

Endnote X3 guides
APA referencing style guide

Team work & group work links

Speed Reading DVD
To access, go to the Business School online students page select  Class Business 7xxx (Note (File size is 994 MB)

MBA Librarian Assistance

Lynne Mitchell, MBA Librarian
Please contact by phone or email for assistance
09 373 7599 x 84802
Room 441, Owen G. Glenn Building
Email lm.mitchell@auckland.ac.nz

Your research facility - The Business Information Centre Level 2, Owen G. Glenn Building

COURSE RESOURCES

China Business Research Guide

MBA Course Resource pages - Link here to access readings and library resources for specific MBA papers

(Broken links please email Lynne)


Welcome to your Executive MBA library support. I look forward to assisting you to extend your business research skills
and use fully the world class business resources of our Library. Please contact me by phone or email
Lynne Mitchell, MBA Librarian


Saatchi & Saatchi Case study

Articles & information on Kevin Roberts:

Saatchikevin.com Kevin Roberts Official website

Saatchi & Saatchi's Kevin Roberts: Aiming for Blue, not Green: Published: April 02, 2008 in Knowledge@Wharton

Kevin Roberts Interview with ADIOMagazine, August 2007

John, A. (2007) Interactivity is the key word says advertising guru, Business Times, June

Roberts, K. (2007) Living in the age of attraction. Advertising Age, January 29th.

Dann, L. (20050 Noun's the time for a revolution, N.Z. Herald. December 29th. Article on Kevin Robert's naming of the word Sisomo

Sisomo website

Saatchi & Saatchi Wikipedia entry - see list of Web references

Kevin Roberts - Video clips:

Saatchi & Saatchi's Roberts: Getting to the Future First, Knowledge@Wharton

Authors@Google: Kevin Roberts October 30, 2006 talk at Google's NYC Campus

Kevin Roberts at Zeitgeist Europe 2007 Video added onto YouTube on May 25, 2007

Roberts, K. The future of advertising, (2006) (video clip), October Bloomberg Report

YourBusinessChannel Kevin Roberts on sustainability Video interview by online business TV channel

Kevin Roberts interview at Infopresse, Montreal, Canada ,Kevin Roberts speaks to Infopresse about sisomo and the future of newspapers in the digital age, Infopresse - 13 September 2006

Library books
Held on 3 day loan in the Short Loan facility in the Kate Edgar Information Commons, Alfred St.

Roberts, K. (2005) The lovemarks effect : Winning in the consumer revolution, New York, N.Y. : PowerHouse Books.
Roberts K. (2004). Lovemarks: the future beyond brands. New York, NY: PowerHouse Books.
Thomson, M. (2000) Social Work: Saatchi & Saatchi's Cause-Related Ideas, London : -273 Publishers.
Gilson, C. Pratt,M. Roberts, K. & Weymes, E. (2000) Peak Performance: Business Lessons from the World's Top Sporting Organizations, London : HarperCollinsBusiness.
Newman, M. (2003) Creative leaps : 10 lessons in effective advertising inspired at Saatchi & Saatchi. Chichester : J. Wiley & Sons. (Plus DVD).
Roberts, K. Sisomo: The Future on Screen (2005) Auckland: Reed.
Goldman, K. (1997) Conflicting accounts : the creation and crash of the Saatchi & Saatchi advertising empire. New York : Simon & Schuster.
Fendley, A. (1996 ) Saatchi & Saatchi: The inside story. New York: Arcade Publishing.
Kleinman, P. (1989) The Saatchi & Saatchi story, London:Pan
Fallon, I. (1989). The Brothers: The Saatchi & Saatchi Story. Chicago, IL: Contemporary Books.

Inside Saachi & Saatchi (videorecording) (2004) London:BBC
Video V05-167 (Held in Short Loan facility)

Harvard Case Studies on Saatchi & Saatchi
Koch, J. (2001) Big, fabulous ideas: Managing creativity with the BSC at Saatchi & Saatchi. HB B0109B

Collis, D.J. & Magnani, D. (1992) Saatchi & Saatchi Co. PLC: Corporate Strategy. HB 792056


Secondary ResearchUp arrow

Secondary sources of business information are located in books, journals, conference proceedings, reference material and the Web.
The Library Catalogue contains records and electronic links to books, electronic books, journals (also known serials or periodicals), newspapers, reports, conference proceedings etc.

Locating articles in popular and academic journals:
Academic journals contain research while the popular business press is useful for examples of business practice and current business news. see Guide to Academic and Popular Journals

Most journal articles are indexed in the electronic business databases searchable by keywords and subject. If you have the name of a journal, either use the e-journal link on the Library home page to navigate to the electronic files or search the Library catalogue for the location of a print journal.

See main Business Library page for full listing of Business library resources

Beginning Research Guides
Seven steps of the research process, Cornell University
Research strategies, University of Maryland
Research strategy guide, Queens University Library


Business databases Up arrow

The Library business databases access 1,000's of articles from key business publications world wide including academic business journals. Note that Database access requires net ID to be activated. You should be able to access the Library databases from computers off campus with your net ID but please consult this guide if you have problems
Off campus access to electronic resources

Key business databases

  • ABI/INFORM
    ABI/Inform is mainly North American in content with a trade and industry focus. Remember to use U.S. spellings, mostly articles are full-text.
    Has both popular and academic journal articles.

  • Business Source Premier
    Business Source Premier is larger and has more academic business journals. Has both popular and academic journal articles. Mainly North American in content which includes marketing, management, economics, finance, accounting and international business. Mostly articles are either full-text or page images.

  • Emerald
    European business database, small in number of journals, but high quality academic content, strong on management Full-text.

  • Factiva.
    Dow Jones and Reuters news and journal articles plus company information

  • ScienceDirect
    Contains top level academic databases. Full text articles on business subjects

Google Scholar is a freely-accessible Web search engine that accesses academic literature including papers, theses, books, and reports . Note: If you access Google Scholar via the A- Z Library database guide you will be able directly access full text-material to which the Library subscribes.
See Google Scholar Library guide

See full listing of business databases


Business writing & the literature review

Some links to business plan resources

Ernst & Young, Outline of a Business Plan
Writing a business plan, Imperial College, London
Writing a business plan, University of Glasgow
Write a business plan, US Small Business Administration
Sample business plans. BPlans.com
Writing a business plan : the basics. Chapter from: Harvard business essentials: entrepreneur’s toolkit : tools and techniques to launch and grow your new business. Boston : Harvard Business School Press, 2004 (p. 63-86) Requires netaccount log in to view)

Library books on business plans
Use the subject heading business planning as a subject search in the Library catalogue

Some ebooks
Business plans handbook. Volume 11 2006 [e-book] : a compilation of actual business plans developed by small businesses throughout North America .
Chambers, D.K. (2008) The entrepreneur’s guide to writing business plans and proposals. Westport, Conn. : Praeger.Schwetje, G. Vaseghi, S. (2007) The business plan : how to win your investor’s confidence. Berlin ; New York : Springer,

Business writing
(Links are to library records to these print books, multiple copies are held in Short loan)
Manalo, E. Wong-Toi, G & Trafford J. (2002) The business of writing : Written communication skills for business students Auckland, N.Z. : Longman
Emerson, L (2005) Writing guidelines for business students 3rd ed. Southbank, Vic. : Thomson Dunmore Press

Web sites
Report writing (Curtin University) General overview of report writing across the disciplines
Writing post-graduate essays. University of Auckland Student Centre
Essay writing, University of Otago  

Literature review guides
Some tips on literature reviews
How to carry out a literature review, Emerald Management
Literature Reviews - Student Learning Centre, University of Auckland
How To Do A Literature Review? - North Carolina A & T State University
The Literature Review: A Few Tips On Conducting It - University of Toronoto
Writing a Literature Review - University of Canberra
Conducting a literature review - University of Melbourne

Guides to reading & analysing academic articles
How to analyze a scholarly article. University of South Carolina, History Dept.
How to read a scientific paper. Purdue University Library
Critique of an academic article, Massey University
How to read an academic article, Becky Rosenberg, Ph.D. University of Washington
Reading an academic article, The Learning Center

APA referencing Up arrow

Information included in your reports must be correctly cited in the text and the Reference List. 
Electronic resources have a particular APA format, see examples in the guide:
Library Guide to APA style
Student Learning Centre - Reference cite
Create an APA reference list  University of Madison, Wisconsin

 

Endnote X3 Guides & Links

Endnote X3 guide - University of Auckland Business & Economics Library Services

Endnote Guide - Generic guide from University of Auckland Learning Services

How do I use Endnote? University of Queensland – see Self-teaching tutorial for EndNote X3

What's new in EndNote X3?, University of Queensland

 


Team work & group work links Up arrow

Hot groups. ; Leavitt, Harold J.; Lipman-Blumen, Jean., Harvard Business Review,  Jul/Aug 95, Vol, 73, Issue 4.
How to be a team player--and make sure your team gets results; Robert R Picard; Cost Management Update, Montvale; Sep 1998, Iss. 90; pg. 1, 2 pgs.
Being a better team player
; Jay T. Knippen; Journal of Workplace Learning, Bradford; 1999; Vol. 11, Iss. 4; pg. 146


Copyright©The University of Auckland Library
Comments and suggestions to: Lynne Mitchell
 Last updated: 11 March, 2010