MBA Business Research: China

Business & Economics Information Services

BEIS home | BEIS Subject Guides | BEIS Subject Librarians | Business School


Contents
Background notes

Economic data

New Zealand Trade

Industry profiles & reports

Infrastructure, transport & logistics

Banking & doing business

Business laws

Business associations &
news publications


Useful visitor information
Business & social etiquette, sightseeing,
cultural guides, language

China photo

Copyright blog.qualitystocks.net/?m=200707&paged=2

Contacts
Lynne Mitchell
MBA Programme Librarian
Room 441, Owen Glenn Building

Please email for help with resources & links
lm.mitchell@auckland.ac.nz

Note: Links to Library databases containing reports such as the OECD China report below require University log in & password to access.

OECD China Report



Background Notes

Geography
Total area: 9,596,961 sq. km. (about 3.7 million sq. mi.).
Cities: Capital--Beijing. Other major cities--Shanghai, Tianjin, Shenyang, Wuhan, Guangzhou, Chongqing, Harbin, Chengdu.

People
Population (July 2009 est.): 1,338,612,968.
Population growth rate (2009 est.): 0.655%.
Health (2009 est.): Infant mortality rate--20.25 deaths/1,000 live births. Life expectancy--73.47 years (overall)
Ethnic groups: Han Chinese 91.5%; Zhuang, Manchu, Hui, Miao, Uyghur, Tujia, Yi, Mongol, Tibetan, Buyi, Dong, Yao, Korean, and other nationalities 8.5%.
Religions: Officially atheist; Daoist (Taoist), Buddhist, Christian 3%-4%, Muslim 1%-2%.
Language: Mandarin (Putonghua), plus many local dialects.
Education: Years compulsory--9. Literacy--90.9%.
Work force (2008 est., 808 million): Agriculture and forestry--43%; Services--32%.

Government
Type: Communist party-led state.
Constitution: December 4, 1982; revised several times, most recently in 2004.
Independence: Unification under the Qin (Ch'in) Dynasty 221 BC; Qing (Ch'ing or Manchu) Dynasty replaced by a republic on February 12, 1912; People's Republic established October 1, 1949.
Branches: Executive--president, vice president, State Council, premier. Legislative--unicameral National People's Congress. Judicial--Supreme People's Court.
Administrative divisions: 23 provinces (the P.R.C. considers Taiwan to be its 23rd province); 5 autonomous regions, including Tibet; 5 municipalities directly under the State Council.
From: U.S. Department of State website

The Economist - Country Briefing - China

New Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs & Trade - People's Republic of China

Economy

GDP (2008): $4.222 trillion (exchange rate-based).
Per capita GDP (2007): $2,459 (exchange rate-based).
GDP real growth rate (2008): 9.8%.

Natural resources: Coal, iron ore, petroleum, natural gas, mercury, tin, tungsten, antimony, manganese, molybdenum, vanadium, magnetite, aluminum, lead, zinc, uranium, hydropower potential (world's largest).

Agriculture: Products--Among the world's largest producers of rice, wheat, potatoes, corn, peanuts, tea, millet, barley; commercial crops include cotton, other fibers, apples, oilseeds, pork and fish; produces variety of livestock products.

Industry: Types--mining and ore processing, iron, steel, aluminum, and other metals, coal; machine building; armaments; textiles and apparel; petroleum; cement; chemicals; fertilizers; consumer products, including footwear, toys, and electronics; food processing; transportation equipment, including automobiles, rail cars and locomotives, ships, and aircraft; telecommunications equipment, commercial space launch vehicles, satellites.

Trade (2008):
Exports
--$1.5 trillion: electrical and other machinery, including data processing equipment, apparel, textiles, iron and steel, optical and medical equipment.
Main partners
--United States 19.1%, Hong Kong 15.1%, Japan 8.4%, South Korea 4.6%, Germany 4% (2007).

Imports--$1.156 trillion: electrical and other machinery, oil and mineral fuels, optical and medical equipment, metal ores, plastics, organic chemicals.
Main partners
--Japan 14%, South Korea 10.9%, Taiwan 10.5%, U.S. 7.3%, Germany 4.7% (2007).
From: U.S. State Department website

Business Monitor Online Database - China - all services . see link to China reports - Country Forecast Report . Latest pdf is China, Business Forecast Report Q2 2010, includes 10 year forecast to 2019. (Requires U of A Netaccount password & login)

OECD Economic Surveys 2010 - China
This 2010 edition of OECD's periodic review of China's economy finds that China's spectacular expansion has continued in recent years, making for impressive improvements in living standards. The slowdown associated with the global financial and economic crisis was contained by massive fiscal and monetary policy stimulus, which has boosted domestic demand. This survey includes chapters on recent achievements and prospects, monetary policy, financial reforms, product market regulation and competition, inequality, the labour market, old-age security and the health care system .

Economist Intelligence Unit - China Country Profile 2009

New Zealand Trade with China

NZ exports (FOB) - NZ$3.08 billion (April 2009, up 35%)
(NZ’s fourth-largest market, constituting 7.1% of total exports (April 2009)

NZ main exports (year to April 2009)

  • Dairy products - $555 million
  • Wood - NZ$328 million
  • Malt extract - NZ$286 million
  • Wool - NZ$207million (NZ’s largest market )
  • Hides, skins and leather - NZ$66 million
  • Fish and shellfish - NZ$121 million
  • Fats and oils - NZ$90 million

NZ imports (CIF) - NZ$6.63 billion (April 2009, up 14%) (NZ’s second-largest source of imports, constituting 14% of imports (April 2009)
NZ main imports - electrical machinery and equipment, textiles, clothing and footwear, toys, consumer products.
Services trade - education, tourism, specialist consultancy.

The Free Trade Agreement between New Zealand and China entered into force on 1 October 2008. New Zealand is the first OECD country to conclude an FTA with China. Over time the FTA will result in the elimination of tariffs on 96% of New Zealand exports to China, and is projected to lift New Zealand’s export revenue from trade with China by between NZ$225-$350 million per year.

China is New Zealand’s third-largest trading partner. According to New Zealand statistics, two-way merchandise trade grew to NZ$9.7 billion in the year to April 2009. Trade has grown rapidly. Exports to China, at NZ$3.08 billion increased by over 35 per cent in the last year while imports from China increased by 12 per cent, measured in NZ dollars. Exports to Hong Kong totalled NZ$732 million in the year to February 2009. China is New Zealand’s fourth-largest export market, after Australia, the US and Japan. It is our second-largest source of imports, after Australia.

New Zealand’s exports to China are dominated by agricultural products. Dairy, wool and oils and fats are the largest agricultural exports. New Zealand’s exports to China have diversified, however, with forestry (now second only to dairy), seafood, machinery, aluminium, and high technology products (especially telecommunications products) featuring in New Zealand’s non-agricultural exports to China.

New Zealand’s imports from China include electrical machinery and equipment, textiles, clothing and footwear, toys, and a wide range of light consumer goods.New Zealand’s exports are also diversifying in the services sector; education and tourism are our major services exports to China.
From: New Zealand Ministry of Trade & Enterprise website - China

Industry profiles & reports

Business Source Premier database accesses three useful serial publications China Country Profiles, China Country Report ( from the Economist Intelligence Unit) & China Country Monitor. The first two contain data on resources, infrastructure, economic sectors and the external sector. China Country Monitor includes statistics and forecasts on the economy, policy issues, business confidence and developments affecting consumer markets. Access these reports by using names, China Country Profile, China Country Report and or ChinaCountry Monitor and select the search field SO Publication name in the database.

Business Monitor Online database See industry sector reports by type of industry for China, e.g.retail, power, oil & gas etc.

Economist Intelligence Unit. Doing e-business in China

Infrastructure, Transport & Logistics

Business Monitor Online database - see industry reports for Infrastructure, divided by sector
BMI's newly released China Infrastructure Report states thst the construction industry in China has recovered rapidly in the start of 2010 and BMI forecasts year on year (y-o-y) growth for the sector of 8.01% for 2010

See Business Monitor Online Freight Transport Report . Also divided into transport sector reports.
By transport mode, growth will be led by oil and gas pipelines (at an average rate of 22.3% a year), air freight (9.7%),
road haulage (8.5%), rail freight (8.3%), and shipping (5.4%).

Banking & Doing Business

Deloittes China International Tax & Banking Guide

Deloittes China's Banking Sector

Doing business guides
International Finance Corporation - Doing Business China

Australian Government - Setting up in China
World Bank. Doing Business Project - China
This page shows summary Doing Business 2008 data for the selected economy. The first table lists the overall "Ease of Doing Business" rank
(out of 178 economies) and the rankings by each topic. The rest of the tables summarize the key indicators for each topic and benchmark against regional and
high-income economy (OECD) averages.

Official Chinese Government English site

Etiquette & Culture
ExecutivePlanet Business Culture Guides - China
This guide to business etiquette and culture covers many aspects of doing business in China.
Kwintessential, UK- China - Language , Culture, Cstoms & Etiquette
Relationships & communication, business meeting etiquette, business negotiating etiquette,
dress etiquette and business cards.

Foreign Affairs Canada Center for Intercultural Learning - China - Cultural information


Business Law

Library of Congress, Guide to Law online - China

World Bank, Law Library. Business laws and regulations, select a law type and then country

Business Associations & News Publications

China Daily newspaper

China Direct website
New Zealand Trade & Enterprise. Navigating China
New Zealand China Trade Association
China New Zealand Business Council
Asia New Zealand Online, China Business Information
New Zealand China Trade Association

Useful visitor information

Travel advisory for China - NZ Government
Lonely Planet. Introducing China
University of Texas at Austin. Maps of China

Language
BBC Learn Chinese



Last updated: March 12, 2010