S U B J E C T   G U I D E S  : GRADUATE PROGRAMMES GSE

Business & Economics Information Services (BEIS)


BEIS home  |  BEIS Subject Guides Business Librarians  |  Business Information Centre   |  Business School  |  Ask a librarian Business Blog


Academic research skills

Speed Reading DVD
A speed reading video has been streamed on the
Online Lecture & Presentation page
. To view
select class/group BUSADMIN 7XX. Note this is a large file and may be best viewed on a campus pc. The video cannot be downloaded

Academic writing assistance
paraphrasing, APA referencing, plagiarism

Endnote Referencing Software

APA referencing guide

Key business databases

Guides to evaluating, analysing & reading academic articles

Literature review guides

Link to Library PP on How to ascertain the research impact of an academic article

Group project links

Library assistance 

Research & academic writing support, please contact
Lynne Mitchell, GSE Librarian, Room 362, OGGB Bldg.

The Business Information Centre is your dedicated research space
on level 2 of the Owen G Glenn Building.
Business Librarians are available there 9 - 4.30pm weekdays


Link to University of Auckland, Student learning resources:

Postgraduate face to face workshops - essay writing & research, data analysis, presentations,  research development, study & exam skills, maths & stats.
General skills resources, time management, exams, writing, referencing etc.
Transition to postgraduate studies – workshops and consultations offered
Free online IT training, Microsoft tools & computer software
Transition to postgraduate studies – workshops and consultations offered
SPSS statistics software
Gliffy software, create flow charts & diagrams online
Online college classes a free compendium of educational multimedia web content
University Career planning website


 

Endnote

Quick Guide to Endnote V for for GSE students

Endnote - University of Auckland Library

 

Key business databases & Database tutorials

  • Business Source Premier
    BSP provides full text for nearly 7,800 business journals both popular and academic content. Includes the Harvard Business Review & Mc Kinsey Quarterly. Some crossover with ABI/Inform but often advisable to search both databases.
  • ABI/Inform
    Includes both popular and academic journals with some different content and smaller number of journals than BSP. Same North American focus .
  • Emerald (U.K management database)
    All journals in Emerald are academic, smaller coverage but high quality research journals
  • ScienceDirect
    A source of full text highly academic articles for business and management , search in the Business & Management field.

See full listing of Business databases

Business database tutorials & guides
Business Information Skills Online - an online, interactive tutorial

 

Links to reading, analysing,evaluating academic articles
How to analyze a scholarly article. University of South Carolina, History Dept.
How to read a scientific paper. Purdue University Library
Critique of an academic article, Massey University
How to read an academic article, Becky Rosenberg, Ph.D. University of Washington

Literature review guides
Some tips on literature reviews

Literature Review Guide, Massey University
Literature Reviews - Student Learning Centre, University of Auckland
How To Do A Literature Review? - North Carolina A & T State University
The Literature Review: A Few Tips On Conducting It - University of Toronoto
Writing a Literature Review - University of Canberra

To see the rankings of particular academic journals, you can use the Journal Citiation Reports Database
Select the Social Science category and select to search in Business journals

Academic writing

Library module on academic writing, paraphrasing & citing

University of Auckland Student Learning Centre - paraphrasing & quoting

Academic Writing Guide, Massey University

Avoiding Plagiarism:Achieving Academic writing
University of Adelaide Tutorial with excellent content

UTS Guide to writing business assignments

Essay Writing , Massey University

Group & team projects resources
Successful Group Projects, University of Leicester
Successful Group Projects University of East Angelia
Hot groups. ; Leavitt, Harold J.; Lipman-Blumen, Jean., Harvard Business Review,  Jul/Aug 95, Vol, 73, Issue 4.
How to be a team player--and make sure your team gets results; Robert R Picard; Cost Management Update, Montvale; Sep 1998, Iss. 90; pg. 1, 2 pgs.
Being a better team player
; Jay T. Knippen; Journal of Workplace Learning, Bradford; 1999; Vol. 11, Iss. 4; pg. 146

 

Exam techniques

Sitting postgraduate exams, University of Auckland Student Learning Centre
Study skills, University of Greenwich
Academic tip sheets, Edith Cowan University

 


Comments and suggestions to: Lynne Mitchell
Last updated: 18 May, 2012
Copyright©The University of Auckland Library