Getting started - the research strategy  |
Step 1: Analyse your topic (service or product) to find and define the key
concepts and terms. Be sure to focus specifically onto your product
or service and the aspect you wish to research.
Example: you want to research a new product - a saliva test to detect illegal drugs. The technology will allow health
& medical workers to conduct a quick and easy saliva test for
cannabis, amphetamines and ecstasy. Aspects you might want to
research include: has a similar product been developed anywhere? How
should this product be marketed to health care professionals?
See
the guides Business research - the research strategy and Research Process - Five steps to success for useful tips.
Step 2: Compile a list of keywords or phrases and synonyms to use
when searching the Library catalogue (books, e-books,
journals, e-journals); library databases (for journal articles); and the
web. For the example under Step 1, keywords and phrases might
include: saliva tests or testing; oral swabs; patents; biological
sampling; medical care marketing and so on.
TIP: As a general rule, begin searches with keywords or phrases that describe the core concepts of your topic. You can then use subject headings assigned to particular records in the catalogue or database to locate further material on a topic.
Step 3: Select relevant resources to search. Search the Library catalogue for books
and journals; search at least 2-3 databases; search the tailored
information guides, search the internet. If you are in any
doubt about which databases are best, consult the Databases by Subject list.
For the example above, the title Health care market strategy:
from planning to action by Steven G. Hillestad & Eric N.
Berkowitz might be useful. Scopus would give you a list of patents, and a list of websites
and SciFinder Scholar has many references to saliva tests for drugs. ANZ Reference Centre would cover content from Australian and New Zealand and overseas magazines and
newspapers; Business Source Premier covers industry reports and country
reports on the health care and pharmaceuticals industry.
Step 4: Evaluate and document the sources you find as you go along, perhaps
in a reference list. To save and manage your information, consider
using Endnote. If you use sources from the Internet, remember to critically evaluate the source.
Step 5: For further in-depth assistance, contact a Business subject librarian
Getting started - library resources  |
Books, e-books and videos
- Search the combined Library Search for books and journal titles held by the library or Library catalogue if you know the exact title or author. For tips on searching consult the Voyager online tutorial
All books are arranged by Dewey Classification Scheme, which is the Call Number that you look for on the spine of the book
- Electronic books held by the library may also be found through
the E-Books page. See the Library training guide How to search and use ebooks. Particular e-book collections include:
- Te Puna - NZ's national database, use to check if a book or journal is
held by another library in New Zealand, if it is NOT held by our library. Items may
be requested using the library's Interlibrary Loan VDX service
- Videos Stanford University's Entrepreneurship Corner provides a free collection of over 1600 videos and podcasts, featuring lectures by today's Entrepreneurial Thought Leaders
The following subject headings locate material in Library catalogue. Click on any hyperlink below to open the subject headings index. From this index click on a heading of interest to display the corresponding list of books and journals in the catalogue on that topic:
Journals 
Journals held by the library are found in the Library catalogue, by using a Serial Title search, within the Main Voyager Search List option
Selected journals 
Click on the links below to view Library catalogue holdings with location details,
including access to the full text online where available:
Library databases 
Search Strategies - each search environment may look slightly different however core search principles apply:
• Turn your search topic into keyword and / or phrase searches
• Use the truncation symbol * to include variations on word endings
• Use field limits to set up specific refinements
• Reorder display results to make it easier to view the latest materials first or the most relevant
• Use indexing or subject heading terms if available to help locate all relevant material on the topic
Most frequently used databases
- ABI / Inform: a major indexing and abstracting service with access to many full text articles
- Business Source Premier: a major indexing and abstracting service with access to many full text articles, including the Harvard Business Review
- Emerald Management Xtra: reviews from management journals, case studies, literature reviews, book reviews, conference information, interviews, profiles and 'How to...' guides
- Global Market Information Database: provides information and statistics on consumer lifestyles, consumer market sizes, companies and brands, major market profiles, country data and market analysis
- Scopus: multidisciplinary coverage across the social sciences with increasing coverage of business
New Zealand content
- ANZ Reference Centre:
a full-text collection from EBSCO Publishing, combining content from Australian, New Zealand and overseas magazines, academic journals, newspapers, newswires, reference books and company information
- Factiva: Dow Jones and Reuters news content plus company information - New Zealand and international coverage
- Newztext Plus: the full text of major daily NZ newspapers, Radio New Zealand news feeds and selected journal articles
- NZX Deep archive: fomerly IRG Online, but now owned by the New Zealand Stock Exchange. Information on listed companies
See also the following databases
- ABI/Inform Trade and Industry:
specialized trade publications & core industry journals in diverse subject areas, with regional to global coverage of company, industry, product, marketing, manufacturing and management information
- Business and Management Practices: focuses on the practical aspects and approaches of market development and segmentation, marketing strategies, advertising and brand identity
- Business Monitor Online: provides economic, political, risk, financial market and business environment analysis data
- Gartner: provides market research reports on trends in the IT industry, available technologies and analysis of products on the market, including the reception by customers of these products
- Mergent Online: company information, detailed information from annual reports, including financials, and news are available back to 15 years for most listed US and International companies
- Tablebase:
specializes in tabular data dealing with companies, products, industries, and demographics. Includes data on company and brand rankings, industry and product forecasts, market share, number of users or outlets, production and consumption, trends and demographics
- World Advertising Research Center: a collection of full text published papers, articles and case histories covering advertising, consumer target groups, industry sectors, market research, marketing and brand management, media, marketing intelligence, and best practice
Further databases
See: Business databases | Statistical databases | Financial databases | Databases available off Campus
Theses and dissertations 
Case studies 
These are written summaries of real-life business
situations based upon data and research.
- Case Studies - this guide includes collections of case studies and tips on finding case studies in library databases and on the internet
Entrepreneurship, ideas & start-up  |
Library resources
Use the library guide on Entrepreneurship
and Research Commercialisation for details on entrepreneurship and startups to find resources both in print and electronic format.
Internet resources and links
Assisting Kiwi inventors
A-Z of all government agencies
Business development information for SMEs in NZ
Business Mentor
Economic Development Association of New Zealand
Foundation for Research, Science and Technology
Great idea finder
Industry Capability Network
Innovation Centre
New product development forum
New Zealand Trade and Enterprise
Research
Initiative on Social Entrepreneurship (RISE)
The Royal Society of New Zealand
Small business entrepreneurship
Technological innovation in New Zealand
Technology New Zealand
Customers, the market and sales  |
Sourcing Market Information
- Researching the competitive environment
- Industry scans and analyses
- NZ Industry & Product Information
- Situation, Industry and Environmental Analyses
- Industry codes:
The Australian and New Zealand standard industrial classification (1996, 1993 ) is used for New Zealand industry classifications. This is
a helpful shortcut to locating the industry you want to look at in
Business activity statistics from and including 1996 to 2000 [print
copies shelved at S2/NZ BUSa]. The print version of the Australian
and New Zealand standard industrial classifications are shelved at
S2/NZ CLAia 1997 and 1993
- Multi-industry overviews
- TNS Industry Sector Reports - profiles
and statistical reports on commercial activity in New Zealand,
organised by sector
- Global Market Information Database - Euromonitor's reference and source data on countries and markets,
including historical statistics, forecasts, brand and company
information, and market analysis
- Business Monitor Online - economic,
political, risk, financial market and business environment analysis
data in eleven key industry sectors for 175 countries
- Business Source Premier (look for subject + ‘industry report’)
- NZ Official Yearbook - S2/NZ STAy – Statistics Collection, Level
M, General Library
- Ministry of Economic Development
- New Zealand Trade & Enterprise
- Market share, market size
- Trade journals and trade association web resources
- Government websites for regulatory information
- Sources about companies, brands and competitors
- Sources for market research reports
- Marketing resource page has many resources listed and links
- Research about customers
- Demographic, geographic and lifestyle sources
- Marketing sources for demographic niches
- Research for the promotional strategy
- Advertising and media planning sources
- Marketing resources page – see links to websites and library
resources. See TV, radio and outdoor advertising publications.
Databases – NewzTextPlus; World Advertising Research Center
- Public relations sources
- Directories of media and press contacts; professional associations;
media services. Databases – NewzTextPlus
- Social marketing down under
- Researching the sales strategy
- Sales management, sales promotion, and retail sources
- Direct marketing and e-commerce sources
- International marketing sources
- Researching product development, price, packaging and place
- Legal / ethical issues
Library resources
Check Library search under such keywords as: Market sales; Business environment; Business strategy; Business promotion; Business sales; Product development; Business ethics; Business marketing; Venture capital to find the resources you require
Marketing - selected Internet resources
About.com: Marketing offers original articles and features about marketing, plus annotated links to selected relevant Internet resources
ACNielsen Top 20 advertising spenders
AD Resource: Internet Advertising and Promotion Resources guide to all aspects of Internet advertising, online promotion and marketing
American Marketing Association professional society of marketers. It aims to provide direct benefits to marketing professionals in business and education and serves marketing practitioners, educators, and students
Building Brands : offers information on brand building, including strategy, marketing, communications, and customer relationship management. Much of the content is free, with a 'Shared Learning' Newsletter available via email
KnowThis a well organized resource and reference site of over 1,000 marketing, advertising and selling links
Market Research New Zealand Marketer's Portal Numerous links to commercial, news, media, marketing, and business resources
New Zealand Marketing Association New Zealand Marketing Magazine Web Digest for Marketers "weekly publication of 15 mercifully short reviews of marketing-oriented Web sites."
Writing a marketing plan and sample marketing plans
Business planning and the business model  |
Library resources
Check Library search under such keywords as: Business strategy; Business promotion; Venture capital to find the resources you require or these preset subject headings to locate material in the library catalogue on the topic of venture capital:
Angels (Investors)
Commercial loans
New Zealand
Entrepreneurship High technology
industries
Capital Investments
International
business enterprises
New business
enterprises Finance
Small business
Finance
Technological
innovations Economic aspects
Venture capital
Selected Internet resources
New Zealand
Bizinfo
Sources of Capital available to Small and Medium Enterprises
Enterprise
Development Fund
New
Zealand Venture Capital Association
New
Zealand Venture Investment Fund
vcapital
NZ
International
About.com.
Financial Management for Entrepreneurs
Australian Private Equity and Venture Capital Association Limited (AVCAL)
Capital
connection Garage
Technology Ventures
DMOZ
Venture Capital resources for entrepreneurs
Inc.com
Cash Management Basics
Business financials  |
Library resources
Check Library search under such keywords as: Business finance; Business sales; Business ethics; to find the resources you require
Internet resources and links
Australian Venture Capital Association
Enterprise Development Fund
Inc.com's cash management basics
New Zealand Venture Capital Association
New Zealand Venture Investment Fund
Small business finance
Sources of capital for SMEs
V.Capital NZ
Venture Capital resources for entrepreneurs
Venture Economics
Business management, projects and teams  |
Library resources
Check Library search under such keywords as: Business environment; Business strategy; Business management to find the resources you require
Internet resources and links
Project Management Institute of New Zealand
The
secret of the high performing team (Tallis Training)
Teamwork
and group skills
Legal issues and intellectual property  |
Library resources
Check Library search under such keywords as: Business ethics; Intellectual property to find the resources you require
Internet resources and links
Business development information for SMEs in New Zealand
Commerce Commission
Companies Office
IPONZ (Intellectual Property Office of New Zealand) has a patents search, a trademark search and a design search
New Zealand intellectual property searches
Patents and standards from the Engineering Library, University of Auckland
Piper's Guide to intellectual property
Plant variety rights office
Standards New Zealand has a 'standards and law' section
Doing business in New Zealand  |
Library resources
Check Library search under such keywords as: Business New Zealand to find the resources you require
Internet resources and links
Business Information BIZ. Work and Income
Investment New Zealand Ministry of Economic Development
New Zealand tariffs Ministry of Economic Development
Bell Gully Doing business in New Zealand
Chapman Tripp Doing business in New Zealand
MSI legal and accounting network
TVNZ
One News business
UK Trade and Investment
US Commercial Service
GlobalEdge country insight links for New Zealand , or Market access database Drill down the various options to find information for New Zealand
New Zealand Customs Service and Working tariff document of New Zealand
Internet resources - miscellaneous  |
Council for Family and Entrepreneurial Enterprises, George Washington University
Entrepreneurship everywhere - Education US
Garage Technology Ventures
Global Entrepreneurship Monitor - free downloads
Imperial College, London: entrepreneurial challenge
Information on setting up a small business (U.S.)
Lester Center for Entrepreneurship, University of California, Berkeley
MIT Entrepreneurship Centre
National Foundation for Teaching Entrepreneurship
Product Development and Management Association
Red Herring - the business of technology
St Louis University, Entrepreneurship Education on the web
US Association for Small Business and Entrepreneurship
Zeromillion magazine
|