ONLINE REFERENCE BOOKS 

Dictionaries | Encyclopedias | Other Reference Material (abbreviations etc)

DICTIONARIES, GLOSSARIES & THESAURI

Dictionaries and glossaries are excellent for quick definitions of unfamiliar terms.  Use a thesaurus for finding synonymsTo access these electronic reference books you need to log in to NetLogin first. If you know of any other online reference books that are not listed here please forward your recommendations to John Lavas, Biological Sciences Subject Librarian for inclusion on this page.

Science
General
General Biology
BioTech Life Science Dictionary
Collins Dictionary of Biology
Illustrated Dictionary of Science
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Bioscience

The New Penguin Dictionary of Science
Oxford Dictionary of Biology

Biotechnology
Glossary of biotechnology and genetic engineering
The NCBI Handbook

Botany
Oxford Dictionary of Plant Sciences

Aquatic and Wetland Plant Glossary

Cellular/Molecular Biology
BioTech's life science dictionary
Dictionary of Cell Biology

Glossary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Macmillan Dictionary of Toxicology

Ecology
Glossary of Avian Terms for Use in Avian Conservation Biology
McGraw-Hill dictionary of earth science

Oxford Dictionary of Ecology

Genetics
Genome Glossary
Genomics : The Science and Technology Behind the Human Genome

Talking Glossary of Genetic Terms

Marine Science
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences
Oceanlink On-line Glossary of Oceanography

Zoology

A dictionary of scientific bird names
Armand R. Maggenti Online Dictionary of Invertebrate Zoology
Entomological Glossary
Scientific English-Danish Cetacean Dictionary
Whale Glossary

Dictionaries/Glossaries
Wakareo a-ipurangi Maori-English Dictionary
Chambers 21st Century Dictionary
Oxford English Dictionary

Thesauri
Bloomsbury Thesaurus
The Oxford American Thesaurus of Current English
The Oxford Paperback Thesaurus
Roget's II: The New Thesaurus

Other Subject Dictionaries
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Mathematics
Dictionary of biological psychology

Oxford Concise Medical Dictionary

Oxford Dictionary of Chemistry
Oxford Dictionary of Earth Sciences
Other Oxford Online Subject Dictionaries

Back to Top 


ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Encyclopedias offer a more in-depth definition and explanation of terms and concepts.  Some encyclopedia entries will also include a reference list for further reading.  To access these electronic reference books you need to log in with your UPI and password.

Science General
Encyclopedia of animal rights and animal welfare
Encyclopedia of atmospheric sciences

The Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental Management

Encyclopedia of Environmental Microbiology

Encyclopedia of food sciences and nutrition
Encyclopedia of Dairy Sciences
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Encyclopedia of the neurological sciences
Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis
Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry
International encyclopedia of environmental politics
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
The Merck index
Encyclopedia Britanica
The Hutchinson Encyclopedia

Education and technology : an encyclopedia

Encyclopedia of forensic sciences

Back to Top 


OTHER REFERENCE MATERIAL

To access some of these electronic reference sources you need to log in with your UPI and password.

Back to Top 

File last updated : March 31, 2010
Comments and suggestions to : John Lavas