Journal Ranking
for
Biological & Marine Sciences
This purpose of this page is to give an explanation of
the various methods which have been used to rank scientific journals,
with particular reference to biology and marine biology-related titles. The information
should help the reader to assess the value or ranking of journals in
their field of research, and to evaluate which ones are
the most suitable in which to publish.
Contents:
Introduction: PBRF and Journal Ranking
Journal Citation Reports
Impact Factor
Immediacy Index
Cited Half-life
Citing Half-life
JCR categories for biology and marine sciences
Reasons
that impact factors may vary between journals of similar quality
Use and mis-use of Impact Factors
Eigenfactor.org
Journal-Ranking.com
Introduction: PBRF and Journal Ranking
The Tertiary
Education Commission (TEC) is responsible for leading the
government's relationship with the Tertiary education sector, and for
policy development and implementation. There is some pressure to publish in journals
that can be seen to be of high standing in their area, although
assessing the quality of a journal objectively and without bias is not easy (especially
for specialist titles) as there are
many factors involved, some of which are very subjective. In past years, the main
resource used to assess journal rankings by the TEC has been
Journal
Citation Reports (JCR) published by Thomson in their ISI Web of Knowledge database (of
which Web of Science forms a part). JCR can be accessed from the
database listings on the library homepage under J:
.
Top of Page
Journal Citation Reports
JCR provides
Impact Factor
(IF) information and is published in two editions, 1) Science and
Technology, and 2) Social Sciences. Currently, ISI indexes about
8700 journals (there
are over 250 000 journals worldwide), of which 6100 are in the so
called ‘hard’ sciences, 1860 are in the social sciences and 1200 are
in the arts and humanities. Of these, the JCR Science and Technology edition includes
data from some 5900 titles while the Social
Sciences edition includes data from 1700 titles. Each annual database collection
contains the previous year's publication data (loaded and made
available each July) which is the accumulated
and tabulated citation data and article counts used to
measure various parameters, including:
What are the largest journals?
Journals are ranked by the number of published articles
What journals are most often used?
Journals are ranked by the number of times they are cited in other
journals
Which journals have the highest impacts?
Journals are ranked by their Impact Factor (IF) which allows some evaluation and comparison of a journal's relative
importance to other
titles in the same category
What are the hottest journals?
JCR's Immediacy Index can indicate which journals are
publishing the latest highest cited research in rapidly moving fields
For each journal title covered in JCR, the following information is
collected and/or tabulated
Citation and article counts
-
Impact Factor
-
Immediacy Index
-
Cited Half-life
-
Citing Half-life
-
Source Data Listing
-
Citing Journal Listing
-
Cited Journal Listing
-
Subject Category
-
Publisher Information
-
Journal Title Changes
Top of Page
Impact Factor
A journal's Impact Factor is defined as the number of times a
journal is cited within the previous two years of publication
divided by the total number of articles published by that journal over that period.
It is intended to measure how often on average authors cite
moderately recent articles from a particular journal.
|
For example, the 2008 Impact Factor = |
[ all citations made in 2008 to items in the 2006-2007 issues
] |
|
|
[number of articles in the 2006-2007 issues] |
The term 'article' is undefined but includes review articles. Journals
often have referenced, peer-reviewed papers that are not considered
'articles' by Thomson. Letters or editorials are not counted as articles
(even if they generate many citations) but citations to them are
included in the calculation. Hence a journal which has many letters in
its correspondence section and which generate large numbers of citations
to them will tend to have an over-estimated impact factor.
Recently, in recognition that literature from some sciences have very long half lives (eg. mathematics, palaeontology), JCR now includes a five-year impact factor calculation.
| Five Year Impact Factor = |
[ all citations made in 2008 to items in the 2003-2007 issues ] |
|
| [number of articles in the 2003-2007 issues] |
Immediacy Index
The Immediacy Index of a journal is intended to measure how often
on average authors cite very recent articles from that journal, and
hence how rapidly the average paper from that journal is adopted or
accepted into the literature.
|
For example, the 2008 Immediacy Index = |
[ all citations made during 2008 to items in the 2008 issues ] |
|
|
[number of articles in the 2008 issues] |
Cited Half-life
The Cited Half-life of a journal is the calculated point (or age) in years, above which 50%
of the citations to the journal are more recent, and below which 50% of the citations are older.
This is intended to measure how long, on average, articles from journals
continue to receive citations. This will change year by year, and the
results are presented by Thomson graphically.
For example, all citations to Nature Genetics in 2004 may be
broken down as:
48.4 % of citations are to issues for 2000 or more recent
12.2 % of citations are to 1999 issues
39.4 % of citations are to issues prior to 1999
So in 2004, Nature Genetics had a cited half-life of 5.1 years
(the following year it was 4.7 years).
All citations made to American Journal of Mathematics in 2004 can
be broken down to:
18.3 % of citations are to issues for 1995 or more recent
81.7 % to citations are to issues earlier than 1995
So in 2004, American Journal of Mathematics had a cited half life
of > 10 years.
Citing Half-life
The Citing Half-life of a journal is
the calculated point (or age) in years, above which 50% of the citations
made by authors of articles in that journal are more recent, and below
which 50% are older. The intention is to give a relative measure of the age of articles being cited by articles within the journal.
Top of Page
JCR categories for biology and marine sciences
The following Biological/Marine subject categories and corresponding
number of journal titles, as at 2007, are included in Journal Citation
Reports (note that many biology journals fall into more than one
category so will be represented numerically more than once):
Biochemical research methods 56
Biochemistry and molecular biology 262
Biodiversity conservation 24
Biology 65
Biophysics 66
Biotechnology and applied microbiology 140
Cell biology 156
Chemistry, organic 56
Crystallography 23
Developmental biology 34
Ecology 114
Entomology 69
Environmental sciences 144
Evolutionary biology 35
Fisheries 41
Genetics and heredity 131
Horticulture 21
Immunology 117
Limnology 17
Marine and freshwater biology 79
Mycology 17
Oceanography 48
Ornithology 19
Physiology 78
Plant sciences 147
Zoology 115
Reasons
that impact factors may vary between journals of similar quality
Within each JCR subject category, there is a rough correlation between
the journal's Impact Factor (IF) and what is perceived to be journal quality:
the inference is that the more prestigious journals will have higher
Impact Factors. However, there are many reasons, both deliberate and
incidental, why two journals of very similar quality may have different
IFs.
-
Books, book chapters and non-listed journals are excluded from ISI
data.
-
All citations to
non-citable items (letters, editorials) are included as numerators
in the IF calculations.
-
The denominator of the IF only contains articles designated by ISI as
primary research articles or review articles, and this excludes certain
sections of so called front matter' (such as Nature's 'News and Views' ).
-
Publications from some non-English speaking countries, including those with
applied
biomedical industries, are excluded from ISI data (for example, the
Cuban National Health System journals published by Editorial de Ciencias Médicas).
-
The data is biased
toward US publications and English language.
-
IFs are often very biased estimates, and the proportion of
this bias can vary widely even within the same JCR subject category.
-
IFs are not
statistically representative of individual articles (ie. they actually correlate
poorly with citation rates of individual articles).
-
Journals in categories with a high rate of research or developing
technologies (eg biotechnology) often contain content that is rendered
redundant or is superseded soon after publication, and are therefore more likely to have
higher IFs (a high number of citations in a short period of
time), higher Immediacy Indexes, and shorter Cited Half-lives.
-
Journals where content is more permanent (natural
history, taxonomy, mathematics, palaeontology) contain content that
is more permanent and less likely to become obsolete,
and for these reasons will tend to have lower IFs and Immediacy
Indexes, and long Cited Half-lives (they are more likely to be cited long after publication).
-
Self citations are included in citing
journal data (the number of citations a journal has in its reference
lists) but are excluded in ‘cited only’ journal data.
-
Journals with many review articles generally have high
IFs
as reviews are more likely to be widely cited than individual articles of original
research, regardless of
the quality of their content.
-
Ease of access (electronic
versions) increases IFs.
-
A citation may signify utility for the person
citing it, rather than relevance (a constant temptation with reference
software
such as Endnote and Refworks).
-
Journals can
raise their IFs by publishing fewer articles or by changing the
categories of the sections in which the articles are published.
-
The citation rate of a single article can determine the IF of an
entire journal.
-
Long-term
studies (particularly those involving several seasons of field or trial
results) will have low IFs.
-
Studies authored by a group rarely receive
individual author citations (eg. the major International Stroke Trial of 1997
only received 1 citation in 1999 according to ISI).
-
Some articles have high citations rates simply because they represent
flawed science and are being cited as such by critics of the original
article (cold fusion and the South Korean stem cell research articles being cases in point).
-
Articles are often mis-cited (error rates of 25% are
not uncommon) and these errors are replicated by IF data. A 1999 study of a well known botany serial
found errors in 45.5% of all citations: half had one error per citation
and one citation had eight errors.
Top of Page
Use and mis-use of Impact Factors
Although IFs have been used since the 1950s, it was only in the 1990s
that any serious attention was given to them by the wider scientific
community. One of the more unfortunate drawbacks of IFs
(and one that was probably totally unexpected by JCR’s originator Eugene
Garfield) is that it has altered scientists’ behaviour towards
publishing their work. Many researchers now seem intent on only
publishing in journals with perceived high IFs (ie. the so-called
‘free-ride’ syndrome) at the expense of specialist journals that may be
far more appropriate vehicles for their research. Unfortunately for these
authors, there is no free ride. It is the citation rate of the articles
that generate a journal’s IF, not vice versa. Bibliometric studies have
shown no difference at all in citation rates of similar articles
published in journals of widely differing IFs (from 0.5 to 8.0), but
most authors would still prefer to publish in a journal that is expected
to have a high impact factor in the belief that this will somehow flow
on to the citation rate of their article. Editors
too have been tempted to use IFs to their own end - the editor of a
certain medical journal was found to be routinely sending letters to
submitting authors requesting that they increase their citations to
papers published in that journal.
Thomson employees are charged with designating articles as primary,
review or 'front matter' using a variety of criteria (it has been
suggested that publishers can sometimes negotiate with Thomson to change these categories if they
so wish). The details of how this is carried out are not available to the
public, a fact that has been viewed with some concern by authors such as Rossner
et al (2007); they noted that the journal
Current
Biology had an IF of 7 in 2002 and 11.9 in 2003. The denominator of the
IF dropped from 1032 articles in 2002 to 634 articles in 2003, in spite
of the fact that the number of articles published by that journal
actually increased over the same period. There was also concern
expressed that citations to retracted articles were counted in the IFs
(the case in point being given as W.S. Hwang's stem cell papers
published in Science from 2004-2005 and subsequently retracted by
the journal but not before having generated a total of 419 citations).
The same authors also pointed out that because the IF is a mean, it can
be easily skewed by one blockbuster paper. The example given was the
initial human genome paper published in Nature which received
some 5904 citations as at Nov 2007. Indeed, Nature itself noted
that 89% of citations to Nature articles referred to 25% of their
published papers. Rossner et al favour the provision of a median IF
calculation rather than a mean (the median would typically be much lower
than the mean).
For biologists, the risk of putting too
great a stock in the value of IFs is greater than it is for some other
sciences - in 2001 ISI claimed that 90% of chemistry journals were being
covered by their journal selection, but coverage of biology titles over
the same period was estimated at only 30%. It has been estimated that
the average scientific article will only ever be cited 1.5 times during
its life, and up to 50% of articles may never be cited. Which is not to say that IFs
don't
have their worth when used correctly and in conjunction with other
factors, but they are only one facet of providing information on data
‘value’ and are really only meaningful in a comparative sense when used
in conjunction with subject- and journal-specific criteria as well as
peer review. ISI has become aware of the
pitfalls that mis-use of IFs has caused in recent years, and now has a
cautionary note on its online ‘help’ site that sounds not unlike a
surgeon general’s warning to smokers printed on cigarette packets.
“Citation data are not meant to replace informed peer review.
Additionally, careful attention should be paid to the many conditions
that can influence citation rates, such as language, journal history and
format, publication schedule, and subject speciality. The number of
articles given for journals listed in the JCR include only original
research and review articles.
Editorials, letters, news items, and meeting abstracts are not included
in article counts because they are not generally cited. Journals
publishing in non-English languages or using non-Roman alphabets may be
less accessible to researchers worldwide, which can influence their
citation patterns. This should be taken into account in any comparative
journal citation analysis”
(JCR
Online help
“Using
JCR
Wisely” http://admin.isiknowledge.com/JCR/help/h_using.htm).
Yet just as with smokers, it is proving difficult to change people’s
habits. Marketing promotions of new journals will make the most of high
IFs wherever and whenever possible, as it is often seen as definitive
numerical evidence of a journal’s perceived standing or popularity.
Finland directly links state funding of
university hospitals to publication points of staff articles (which in turn are based on
direct IF comparisons) and German universities have also been guilty of
using IFs to calculate funding in
a similar fashion. Editors, researchers and authors need to understand how IFs are
generated and what their limitations are, because their mis-use can
unduly advantage review journals as well as be detrimental towards specialist niche journals.
Top of Page
Eigenfactor.org
Another database that ranks journals in the biological sciences area is Eigenfactor.org.
which is sometimes seen by users as an antidote to the shortcomings of
Journal Citation Reports. See:
http://www.eigenfactor.org/about.php Eigenfactor.org was set up
and is maintained by Carl and Ted Bergstrom from the Department of
Biology at the University of Washington. This database uses algorithms
to calculate influence rankings for over 7000 science and social
science journals (in fact the same ones listed by ISI in their Journal Citation
Reports) as well other material such as books, newspapers, PhD theses
and popular magazines.
There are a number of
features of Eigenfactor.org that make it different to, and potentially more
advantageous than, Journal Citation Reports.
-
Eigenfactor.org ranks journals in a similar manner to how
search engines such as Goggle rank websites, by using networking theory
where citations replace hyperlinks.
-
The so called Eigenfactor indicates the amount of use any given
journal is getting by scholars, while a second measure called Article
Influence more closely correlates to the Impact Factor used by ISI.
-
As well as citation data, information on journal prices and value are
also included, and cost effectiveness of journals is measured.
-
Eigenfactor.org takes into consideration the fact that different disciplines have
different standards for citation ranking and different time scales over
which citations might be expected to occur. By using the whole citation network, Eigenfactor.org
tries to allow for more meaningful comparisons between research areas.
-
The time factor used in citation data calculation is
five years (as opposed to two in Journal Citation Reports) so as to
account for the longer citation half lives of journals in disciplines such as mathematics/taxonomy/palaeontology.
-
The variances in assumed 'prestige' of journals is taken into
account during data manipulation, so that the ranking adjusts for
differences in citation patterns among different disciplines (ie. the expected citation rates and
half-lives within each discipline).
Journal-Ranking.com
A third journal ranking database that includes biology
titles is Journal-Ranking.com which is a new resource (launched Jan
2007) run out of Hong Kong University of Science and Technology accessed
at:
http://www.journal-ranking.com/ranking/web/index.html
Certain features can only be accessed with registration. The site does
not give much detailed information on how rankings are compiled, but
the authors state that their intention in setting up was to address the
deficiencies of the ISI citation index rankings, which assigns all
citations equal weight. Journal-Ranking.com note that a citation by a
paper in a top journal may outweigh many citations from lesser journals.
Another stated drawback of the Impact Factor (IF) used by ISI is that it
does not apportion suitable credit to so-called indirect citations (the
example given is that of a notable theory published in a leading maths
journal which is then extended to applied journals, and which in turn
would be more likely to attract citations than would the original
paper).
Like Eigenfactor, Journal-Ranking.com make use of
Google's PageRank methodology which uses an extended version of the Pinski & Natin invariant method of ranking and sorting. The graph theoretic properties and axiom analysis of the PageRank model
are extended to rank individual journal influences so as to
produce a similar ranking order to that of the PageRank algorithm.
Journal-Ranking.com ranks journals by the following parameters
-
PII = ranking of the title among all
journals
-
JII = Journal Influence Index
-
PII = Paper (ie. article) Influence Index which is
the JII divided by the article number multiplied by 1000
-
B2 = IF as used by ISI
-
B4 = IF measurement using article counts from
the preceding four years rather than two as used by ISI
-
B6 = IF measurement using article counts from
the preceding six years rather than two as used by ISI
References
Amin
M & Mabe M, 2000. Pers in Pub 1 (Oct): 1-729
Bloch S & Walter G, 2001. Aus NZ J Psych 35: 563-568
Hecht F et al, 1998. Cancer Genet Cytogenet 104: 77-81
Seglen PO,
1997. BMJ 314 (7079): 498-502
Rossner M, Van Epps H & Hill E, 2007. J Cell Bio 179 (6): 1091-1092
Top of Page |