Course
Material
Items
available in the Short Loan Collection
- The Library makes available all the recommended textbooks and
required reading as well as any additional material recommended by
your lecturers in the Short Loan Collection. The purpose of
the Short Loan collection is to make high demand items accessible to
all students doing a course and when the library only has two copies
of a book the Short Loan Collection is the fairest way to do this.
- To borrow books from the Short Loan Collection you need your ID
Card and the Call Number of the book. You can borrow items
from the Short Loan Collection for two hours at a time.
- The Short Loan Collection is housed on level 1 of the Kate
Edger Information Commons, Corner Alfred and Symonds Streets.
- Refer to the course number list above for short loan items
for your course.
Accessing
Electronic Resources from Home 
All of the
library's electronic resources (including online databases, books,
journals, webpages, online dictionaries) are available to students who
have a computer and internet access at home. You will also need your
NetID and password to be able to access the electronic resources (same
ID and password as you use for Cecil). If you do not know your NetID and
password you need to go the Information
Commons Help Desk
level 2 of the
Kate Edger Information Commons.
eBooks

eBooks are online equivalents of printed books you find in the
library, with all the same information, pictures, diagrams, etc. but
they're available online, 24 hours a day, seven days a week, from
anywhere!
The following is a select list of eBooks subscribed to by the library
that will be relevant to your studies. After reading through the instructions
for use, click on the eBook title to start using the eBook.
Refer to the section on
Accessing
Electronic Resources : On
Campus | From Home for information which you will need to access
eBooks.
| Bryant, J. (2002). Bioethics
for Scientists. John Wiley & Sons, Ltd.
Bioethics for Scientists provides an introduction to the
ethics of modern life sciences and encompasses a wide range of
environmental, social, scientific and medical issues. Subjects
such as global warming, GM crops and the recent advances in
genetics and cloning affect all areas of society. |
| Camenson, B. (1999). Great
jobs for biology majors. Lincolnwood, Ill. : VGM Career
Horizons.
This book is a big help to students entering the working
world. You will discover common career paths of graduates in the
field of biology, get help assessing your individual talents and
skills, and learn what steps need to be taken to land a job. Every
aspect of identifying and getting started in a career is covered,
from exploring options and making a smooth transition from college
to career to conducting an effective job search. |
| Dussart, G. (2002). Biosciences
on the Internet. John Wiley & Sons, Ltd.
Biosciences on the Internet: A Student's Guide is aimed
specifically at students in the biological sciences. This
simple guide will help bioscience students to access the
information they need on the internet and help to make the most
efficient and effective use of their time online. This book
will be invaluable to all undergraduate students within the
biological sciences who are looking for a practical guide to using
the internet in support of their course assignments. |
| Gerstein, A.S. (2001). Molecular
Biology Problem Solver. Wiley-Liss, Inc.
A unique question-based format reviews common assumptions
and laboratory practices, with the aim of offering a firm
understanding of how techniques and procedures work, as well as
how to avoid problems. Some major issues explored by the book's
expert contributors include: working
safely with biological samples and radioactive
materials, DNA
and RNA
purification and properly
using and maintaining laboratory equipment. |
Quick Reference eBooks 
Dictionaries are excellent for quick definitions of unfamiliar terms.
Use a thesaurus for finding synonyms.
Encyclopedias offer a more in-depth definition and explanation of terms
and concepts. To
access these electronic reference books refer to the section on aAccessing
Electronic Resources.
More Biological Sciences quick reference
eBooks
Internet
Resources 
lease refer to the
Accessing
Electronic Resources : On
Campus | From Home before using these resources.
Using Lab Equipment
General Internet Resources
Where can
I get help if I need it? 
- There is an Enquiry Desk on Level 1 of the
General Library and staff on this desk will attempt to answer any
question you may have.
- The library also runs several FREE Library Workshops that are well
worth attending. Check the Library Workshop Bookings page to get more
information about a course (dates/times etc.) and online booking
procedures. Some recommended courses are:
- Uni IT Essentials
- Library
& Resources Overview
- Voyager
(Library Catalogue) Introduction
- Database
Search Skills
- You can also contact John Lavas
Subject Librarian for Biological Sciences
Located in Room M15, Level M,
General Library
Ph 09 3737599 ext. 85772
Email: j.lavas@auckland.ac.nz.
|
|
|