B I O L O G I C A L   S C I E N C E S
 

Refer to InfoQuest: the online guide to finding journal articles when using these databases.

Core Biological Sciences Databases | Other Related Science Databases | New Zealand Science Databases | Australian ScienceDatabases

 
Access DATABASE - Arranged by Relevance
 

Core Biological Sciences Databases

Campus/Offsite

SCOPUS (HIGHLY RECOMMENDED)
Very comprehensive database for all sciences. Provides citations, abstracts and references covering 16,000 peer-reviewed titles from 4,000 publishers, most of them in full text. Subjects include Biology, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics, as well as general Arts and Humanities. Articles include 'Times cited' data (cited from1996) and hyperlinked reference lists, as well as 'In press' articles. Most content links to full text via ScienceDirect (see below) or other full text resources.

 

Campus/Offsite

Medline
Content : indexes more than 3,000 medical journals. Coverage: 1950 - present (updated monthly). Pre Medline is the in-process database for Medline, containing details of very recent articles not yet in Medline. Medline and Pre Medline can also be searched together.

 

Campus/Offsite

Biological Abstracts
Covers biology, clinical and experimental medicine, biochemistry and biotechnology. Of most use for taxonomic content, as much of the recent content is now included in Scopus (which has greater functionality).

 

Internet database

PubMed 
Public access medical database which contains not only Medline citations, but also citations which have not yet received MeSH (medical subject heading) terms. 
  *  PubMed User Guide
  *  What's the Difference Between Medline and PubMed?

 

Campus/Offisite

ScienceDirect
Operated by the same host as Scopus, ScienceDirect contains the full text of 2000 journals, including Agricultural and Biological Sciences, Biochemistry, Genetics, Molecular Biology, Biochemistry, Genetics, Immunology and Microbiology. 'In press' articles are included.

 

Campus/Offsite

Web of Science
Multidisciplinary database of bibliographic information, comprising Science Citation Index (back to 1900) Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-) and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-). Records include 'Times cited' data and full reference lists. Very useful for older science material that is beyond Scopus records.

 

Campus/Offsite

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
International database on science, technology and the management of marine, brackish and freshwater environments.

 

Campus/Offsite

CABI Publishing Databases
Provides access to Review of Plant Pathology (diseases of crop plants, ornamental plants and forest trees).

 

Campus/Offsite

Antarctic Bibliography
Published by the American Geological Institute with contributions from the Scott Polar Research Institute, University of Cambridge, Antarctic Bibliography covers all disciplines related to the region including biology and geology, medicine, meteorology, oceanography, atmospheric and terrestrial physics, expeditions, logistics equipment and supplies, and tourism.

 

Campus/Offsite

Bibliography on Cold Regions Science and Technology
Published by the American Geological Institute, the Bibliography includes references to scientific and engineering research related to material and operations in a winter battlefield, the nature and impact of cold on facilities and activities, cold-related environmental problems, and the impact of human activity on cold environments.

 

Other Related Science Databases

Campus Only

SciFinder
The online version of Chemical Abstracts. Covering biotechnology, medicine agricultural chemistry, toxicology, environmental science, and food science, 1907 to the present.

Campus/Offsite
JSTOR
JSTOR  (Journal Storage Project) is an archive of scholarly journal literature, with over 80 digitised full text journals. Includes Biological Sciences, Botany, Developmental and Cell Biology, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, and Zoology collections.

Campus/Offsite

Journal Citation Reports/Impact Factors
Content: covers journals in areas of science and technology. Contains publication data, accumulating and tabulating citation and article counts. Coverage: From 1999.

Campus/Offsite
ELS: Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Content: Biochemistry, Cell Biology, Clinical Medicine, Developmental Biology, Diversity of Life, Ecology, Evolution, Genetics, Immunology, Microbiology, Molecular Biology, Neuroscience, Plant Science, Structural Biology and Virology, with many related areas such as Bioethics, Pharmacology, Physiology, and Theoretical biology.
Campus/Offsite
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
This database provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. 
Internet database
AGRICOLA
A searchable database of bibliographic records created by the US National Agricultural Library and its cooperators. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines.
Internet database
Avibase
Avibase is an extensive database information system about all birds of the world, containing over 1.4 million records about 10,000 species and 22,000 subspecies of birds, including distribution, taxonomy, and synonyms in several languages.
Internet database
The Ocean Biogeographic Information System (OBIS) 
OBIS is the information component of the Census of Marine Life (CoML), and is a web-based provider of global geo-referenced information on marine species. Contains species level and habitat level databases and a variety of spatial query tools for visualizing relationships among species and their environment. Can be searched by species, region, or taxonomic group, and is able to plot distributions on maps, view data, and/or export data to on-line modelling packages or to your own applications.

Campus/Offsite

MathSciNet
A key mathematical resource produced by the A.M.S. Currently it reviews journals and serials, new books, and conference proceedings, with 47,000 reviews added per year. All reviews (from 1940 onwards) are now available in PDF.

Campus/Offsite
Conference Papers Index
Citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world.  Subject emphasis is in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences. Coverage: 1982 - present.
Campus/Offsite
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
An essential database for all MSc and PhD students, providing bibliographic citations and abstracts from all subject areas for doctoral dissertations and masters’ theses completed at over 1000 accredited colleges and universities worldwide.

New Zealand Science Databases

Campus/Offsite
New Zealand Science
A comprehensive index of New Zealand Science, provided by The Crown Research Institutes (formerly the DSIR). Searches can be restricted to all or any of the following: NIWA, Landcare, HortResearch, Institute of Geological and Nuclear Sciences (GNS) and the Forest Bibliography.
Campus/Offsite
Ocean Gateway
Wade Doak's Ocean Gateway is a collection of text, images, maps and charts accumulated by many years of diver observation. Ocean Gateway contains seven e-Books illustrating New Zealand's most diverse marine community, the Poor Knights Islands.
Campus/Offsite
New Zealand Antarctic Bibliography
Contains resources compiled from a wide range of sources about Antarctica and the Southern Ocean and Antarctica New Zealand.
Campus/Offsite
Index New Zealand: INNZ  
INNZ indexes nearly 300 journals and newspapers. It is the key New Zealand database for social sciences, arts, humanities and general interest material. 
Campus/Offsite
NewzTextPlus
Contains the fulltext of all the major daily New Zealand newspapers. While newspaper articles are not always suitable for scientific essays they do provide a good overview and background to a topic.Newspapers also give general public opinion on a topic (especially a controversial topic).
Campus/Offsite
Te Puna: the New Zealand National Bibliographic database
Includes library catalogue records from all NZ Universities and other tertiary institutes, public libraries, CRI libraries, corporate libraries.  A useful database for checking the availability of publications elsewhere in NZ.
Internet database
Auckland Museum Library Catalogue 
A good starting point to see what books, pamphlets, and recent serials are held in the Museum Library. All of the manuscripts (e.g. letters, personal papers, diaries) and archives (e.g. business and organisation records), and some of the ephemera, maps and pictorial collections are also included.
Campus/Offsite
The Auckland Regional Council (ARC) Information Centre Database
Includes records of books, newspaper clippings, reports and journal articles, 1987 onwards.It covers information relating to regional and local government, planning, resource management, environment, heritage, transport and parks.

Australian Science Databases

Campus/Offsite
ABOA 
Covers all aspects of animal, crop and pasture production; plant breeding; post harvest handling; horticulture; animal health; rural economics; rural extension, education and training; forestry including agroforestry and farm forestry; fisheries and aquaculture; food technology and human nutrition; agricultural systems and farm management; and sustainable agriculture.
Campus/Offsite
ARRIP 
Contains information on current and recently completed research projects being undertaken in Australia on all aspects of agriculture, animal sciences, land resources, fisheries horticulture, water resources, soil sciences, conservation, vegetation, forestry, ecology and environment.
Campus/Offsite
ANR Research Archive 
Contains completed research and development projects in the areas of primary production and processing, including agriculture, horticulture, forestry, fisheries, food technology and land, and water and vegetation resources.
Campus/Offsite
ELIXIR 
ELIXIR reflects the holdings of the libraries within the Department of Natural Resources & Environment, Victoria. These libraries have specialist collections in ecology, forestry, agriculture, mineral resources, conservation, water and land management, pest plant and animal control, fisheries and marine studies.
Campus/Offsite
ENDANGER 
ENDANGER indexes material on threatened Australian fauna and flora. Books, chapters in books, periodicals, newspapers, conference proceedings, theses, and some non-book material (videos, charts, posters etc), are included.
Campus/Offsite
REEF 
The REEF database has been developed by the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority in association with CSIRO. It is intended to include references to all published and available unpublished material about the Great Barrier Reef
Campus/Offsite
STREAMLINE 
STREAMLINE, produced by InfoScan Pty Ltd, provides information on all aspects of natural resource management, including land resources, vegetation resources and water resources.

Comments to John Lavas Last updated: January 9, 2012