RESEARCH PORTAL
Biological and Marine Sciences

  Header
Images: Copyright A. Dopheide and R.B. Taylor
Subject Guides: Biological Sciences
Subject Guides: Marine Sciences
This portal page provides links to resources for all levels of study and research from introductory to advanced (1-4), with key search terms marked in red. Level 1 is most relevant to undergraduates (and new postgraduates), with the higher levels being more relevant to postgraduates and academics. Please note that there is no fixed sequence of links within each level.
 

Knowledge Level 1

  Library links Non-library links

Maps, IT, Basic information, E-books

Know the location and layout of the General Library, Kate Edger Information Commons (KEIC), Tamaki and other libraries if appropriate.
Marine Science students should be familiar with the Leigh Marine Laboratory Library

 

Library Maps and Floorplans

General Library Collections

Leigh Marine Laboratory Library

Campus Maps

Library Home Page: be familiar with library resources

 

 

Library Home Page

Library and Resources Overview Tutorial

 
KEIC Information Commons: be familiar with the services it provides   Information Commons  

a) Biological Sciences Library Home Page
b) Marine Sciences Library Home Page

 

 

a) Biological Sciences Library Page

b) Marine Science Library Page

 
Basic biological history and the meaning of historical terms   History of Biological Sciences  
Library regulations   Regulations, Guidelines and Policies  
Know where to find help from student reps, library liaison officers and your students' association  

Library Liaison Officers

 

Biology Students' Association

 

Understand the use of NetAccount

 

 

NetAccount Tutorial



NetAccount - Services

 

Know how to access library resources including the Catalogue, Intercampus Library Delivery Service (ICLDS), and Course Materials (including the Short Loan collection)   Catalogue Tutorial  

Know the location and use of library copying, printing and computer facilities

 

 

 

 

General Library Tours (ask at Lending Desk at start of semester)

Uni IT Essentials (handout)

Photocopying

Printing

 

Be able to identify the components of a reference

  Research and Writing Hints

 

Know where to find non-library assistance from the Student Learning Centre, the English Language Self Access Centre (ELSAC) and the Students' Asssociation

 

 

 


Student Learning Centre

EnglishLanguageEnrichment

Auckland University Students' Association

Know where to find online e-book collections including SpringerLink
  E-book collections  

Knowledge Level 2

  Library links Non-library links

Core databases, Referencing, Academic honesty, Lab protocols

Subject Librarian contacts   Science Subject Librarian Service  

Core databases: be familiar with their use and output format (PDF, HTML)

 

 

a) Core databases for Biological Sciences

b) Core databases for Marine Science


 
Research publication process   Science publication process

Evaluating Journals
 

Assignment writing skills

 

 


Getting good marks in Biology

Other searching techniques
Searching databases with Boolean operators
Knowing which database to use

 

Boolean operators

Boolean video

Biology Databases

 

 

Analyse a reference
DOI system and how to convert DOIs into full references

 

 

Publishing Scientific Articles

DOI access (see 'Article Linker')

Quickcite

 


DOI information

DOI system

DOI Reference Converter

Reference styles: be competent in using the one required by your school/department

 

Journal abbreviations: know how to expand into full titles

 

Referencing Styles Recommended by Science

Referencing for Biological Sciences

Ulrich's Periodical Directory

Referencite

Reference management systems such as EndNote: be able to manage your own reference library

 

 

 

 

EndNote with Library Databases: Science - City (course)

EndNote X3 for Science (handout)

EndNote X4 for Science (handout)

EndNote X5 for Science (handout)

Student Learning Centre Endnote Course
(recommended for students using Endnote in conjunction with multi-chapter Word documents such as theses)

 

 

Be familiar with online reference material in your subject
  Online Reference Books  

Understand the scientific publication process
Copyright: (you need to log in to view this document)

Academic honesty: understand the requirements of academic research and writing

 

Essay writing and plagiarism

 

 

Referencite > Plagiarism

Copyright on Campus

Turnitin site for academic honesty

Library and science acronyms   Acronym  
Know how to request items to which the university has no direct access   Interlibrary Loans (Interloans)  
Laboratory protocols  

Brain Research Protocols

Cold Spring Harbor Protocols

Current Protocols in Molecular Biology

JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments)

Nature Protocols

Springer Protocols (Cell Biology and Molecular Medicine modules)

 
       

Knowledge Level 3

  Library links Non-library links

NZ databases, Theses, Patents, Drawing packages

Identify highly-cited documents and track their citation history

 

Scopus

Scopus helpsheet

Web of Science

 
Theses: know how to access them, and the University requirements for writing, copyright and embargoes  

Theses and Dissertations

Guide to Theses and Dissertations

 

Identify postgraduate research topics in specific areas of research including a) Entomology and b) Marine Science

Marine Science publications of the Leigh Marine Laboratory

 

 

a) Entomology Theses at the University of Auckland

b) Marine Science Theses at the University of Auckland

Leigh publications 1967-1999
Leigh publications 2000-

 

 

Know how to locate material from conferences

 

 

 

Finding Conferences and Conference Proceedings

Conference Papers Index

 

Know how to locate material on local scientific issues from newspapers and other periodicals
NZ Science is an index of research by NZ Crown Research Institutes (previously the DSIR)

Be familiar with NZ scientific journals in your area of research

 

Newspapers and News Sites
IndexNZ (INNZ)
NZ Science

NZ Journal of Agricultural Research
NZ Journal of Botany
NZ Journal of Crop and Horticultural Science
NZ Journal of Ecology
NZ Journal of Forestry
NZ Journal of Marine and Freshwater Research
NZ Journal of Zoology
Journal of the Royal Society of New Zealand

 
Current awareness services: (auto-alerts, RSS, list-servs)  

Staying Current handout

Staying Current course

 

Locate information from non-core/NZ databases
a) Biological Sciences

b) Marine Science

 

a) Non-core/NZ Biological Sciences
Databases

b) Non-core/NZ Marine Science Databases

 

Patents: know the appropriate sources for required topics

 

 

 

Scopus

Scirus

Derwent

 
Structural drawing packages  

 

Chem Draw (site licence administered by Chemistry Dep)
PyMol (protein structures)
       

Knowledge Level 4

  Library links Non-library links

Publishing, Funding, Bibliometrics, Collaboration

The history of the School of Biological Sciences and Leigh Marine Laboratory   History of Biology and Marine Science at Auckland University  
Funding: sources that may be available to you   Research Support  
Publishing: know how to submit items to ResearchSpace and the procedures to follow for publishing  

ResearchSpace

Papers Invited

 

Bibliometrics: understand journal rankings and the importance of citation data

 

 

 

Who is citing whom

Journal ranking for Biological and Marine Sciences

Citation Impact

Bibliometrics guide

 

Research Outputs for staff: understand how the academic repository works (staff need to log in to view this document)

  Research Outputs guide  
PBRF (Performance-Based Research Funding: you need to log in to view this document)  

 

PBRF Information

Open Access resources

Professional collaboration networks

 

Finding Open Access Information

 

ResearchGate

Academia.edu

       
       


File last updated : 4 May, 2012
Comments and suggestions to : John Lavas