I N T E R N E T  R E S O U R C E S
K O R E A
back to Korea menu

Internet Resources on Korea

Library Search (The Catalogue) - it is recommended that you search the University of Auckland catalogue for Korean items by title, author, keyword etc. using the
McCune-Reischauer Romanization System

On this website you will find various links to useful information on South Korea (대한민국) and North Korea (조선민주주의인민공화국). This is a guide to a variety of internet sources sorted out by different categories. The categories are as follows:

 

General & Korean Studies

Korea.net
The South Korean government’s official English homepage which serves as the first gateway to information about Korea with four option - News, Korea, Directory, and Multimedia Center.

Naenara  내나라
The official website of the North Korean government. Available in English, French, Chinese, Japanese, Spanish, Arabic, etc.

The World Factbook: South Korea
General information provided by the Central Information Agency of the USA. It offers broad information on South Korea, including geography, people, government, economy, military, etc.

The World Factbook: North Korea
General information provided by the CIA. It offers broad information on North Korea, including geography, people, government, economy, military, etc.

Korea Knowledge Portal   국가지식포털
Korea’s national knowledge and information resources portal. Korea Knowledge Portal is designed to promote the circulation of digitalized national knowledge and information of various knowledge and data of national agencies of Korea. Korean language only.

Koreanists
Koreanists is an online database of scholars in the field of Korean Stuides and Korea-related professionals around the world to help expand the Korean Studies network and facilitate interaction between Korea-related specialists. The main feature of this database is the Search menu, which allows searching for Koreanists around the world according to the name, country of residence, specialization, name of institution, or degree.

Korea Web
Korean Studies & Korean Studies Review is an international, English-language, nonpartisan, moderated electronic discussion group on Korea for the purpose of sharing the comprehensive information on Korean Studies. Organized by subjects including art, academia, associations, books, history, kids, music, literature, scholarship & jobs, computing, etc. and an online series of book reviews on Korean Studies, Korean Studies provides well-organized information to Korea scholars.

Gateway to Korean Studies
A list compiled by the Academy of Korean Studies as a gateway to various resources on Korean Studies.

Nate Hangukhak 네이트 한국학
Established by the Academy of Korean Studies and Nate which is one of the search engines in Korea. This website includes bibliographies, biographical information, and other historical information related to Korean Studies. Available in Korean only.

Internet Resource Subject Guide
A gateway provided by Committee on Korean Materials of the Council on East Asian Libraries. It provides a vast range of resources across different subject areas.

(To top menu)

 

Romanization of Korean

Korean language materials at the University of Auckland Library are catalogued according to the McCune-Reischauer (MR) romanization system. More information about the MR system is available on the following websites.

ALA-LC Romanization Tables: Korean Romanization and Word Division
The romanization table set up by the American Library Association and the Library of Congress.

Korean McCune-Reischauer Romanization Dictionary
Korean words in the vernacular scripts can be transliterated into romanized scripts through this cyber dictionary.

A Practical Guide to McCune-Reischauer Romanization
A personal website created by a former Korean graduate student in the USA. It offers a thorough, practical explanation on the MR system.

Romanization of Korean
Provided by the National Academy of the Korean Language which discusses the new Revised Romanization of Korean introduced in 2000.

(To top menu) 

 

Arts & culture

Images of Korea
Provided by the Ministry of Culture, Sports & Tourism. Traditional images of Korea in seven languages: Korean, English, Japanese, Chinese, French, German, Spanish, Russian, and Arabic.

Arts Council Korea    한국문화예술위원회
deals with information on cultural and artistic activities in Korea.
It is a government-funded‚ non-profit organization whose aim is to make the arts more central to the lives of the Korean people.

Click Korea: Arts
This website currently provides upcoming performances and exhibitions in Korea and worldwide, a database of Korean studies scholars and students, online lectures, and essays on Korean arts and culture.

National Gugak Center   국립국악원 
National Gugak Center was established in 1951 to preserve and creatively inherit Gugak, which means the Korean traditional music.
  
The Korean Art History Connection  한국미술사 서지목록 검색
A website maintained by the professors and students at History Education, and Art History department, Hong-Ik University in order to help overseas researchers who are interested in Korean Art History. Bibliography of Korean art history.

National Museum of Contemporary Arts, Korea  국립현대미술관
The Museum was first established in 1969. Since then it has been collecting many masterpiece artworks of the leading contemporary artists in Korea.

Korean Film Archive   한국영상자료원
It provides comprehensive resources on Korean films, including news and events, history, film industries, and film databases, etc.

KOFIC  영화진흥위원회
The website of the Korean Film Council (KOFIC) which is an organization of wider state sector, entrusted by the Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism Republic of Korea, aiming to support the development and promotion of Korean films.

Korean Movie Database   한국영화 데이터베이스
A searchable database about Korean movies. It provides a variety of information such as films, actors, directors and publications.

HanCinema
An English language database which offers information on Korean dramas and movies.

(To top menu)

 

Economics & business

Ministry of Knowledge Economy   지식경제부
A governmental department of the South Korean government that oversees the economic affairs of the Korean economy.

The Bank of Korea   한국은행
The central governmental bank for South Korea. It was established in 1950 and its primary goal is price stability. Its website provides a wide range of information on Korean economy.

The Bank of Korea Economic Statistics System  한국은행 경제통계시스템
Maintained by the Bank of Korea and provides economic data and statistics covering the main sectors of the Korean economy. Available in Korean and English.

Korea International Trade Association  한국무역협회
A trade-promoting association which was established in 1946 to represent the interests of Korea’s international traders. The Association is Korea’s largest business association with 65,000 member firms.

Korea Trade-Investment Promoting Agency  코트라
The Korea Trade-Investment Promotion Agency, or KOTRA, is a national trade promotion organization. It facilitates Korea's rapid export-led economic development through various trade promotion activities such as overseas market surveys and business matchmaking.

KOTRA New Zealand Office  코트라 오클랜드 센터

Federation of Korean Industries  전국경제인연합회
Federation of Korean Industries (FKI) is a multifunctional association for Korean domestic industries, which exists in the form of an incorporated body.

Korea Federation of Small and Medium Business   중소기업중앙회
The Korea Federation of Small and Medium-sized Businesses (Kbiz) was established in 1962 to assist SMEs to meet the challenges of the ever-changing management environment.

Korea Economic Research Institute    한국경제연구원
A private economic research institute which conduct integrated research n the Korean economy and long- and short-term prospects for corporate growth.

Korea Institute of Finance  한국금융연구원
The Korea Institute of Finance (KIF) is dedicated to provide expert analysis of Korea's financial sectors and financial policies.

Seoul National University Institute for Research in Finance and Economics  서울대학교금융경제연구원
The research institute located at the Seoul National University. The Institute aims to provide first-rate research information on the financial market and economy of Korea.

Samsung Economic Research Institute   삼성경제연구원
Samsung Economic Research Institute (SERI) is a private think-tank operated by the Samsung Group. It provides a wide range of deep-level information about the Korean economy.

(To top menu)

 

Government & Politics

The Republic of Korea Government   대한민국 정부
Official homepage of the South Korean government. In Korean & English.

Konggam Korea 공감 코리아
Official portal website of governmental policies of South Korean government, including official press releases. Available in Korean only.

Cheongwadae  청와대
Official homepage of the President of South Korea. Cheongwadae means the Blue House.

National Archives of Korea  국가기록원
It provides the public with a variety of access to the accumulated and preserved archived materials.

The National Assembly of Korea  대한민국 국회
Official homepage of the Parliament of South Korea. It provides a database of current laws and ordinances of Korea, and introductory data for recently amended laws.

Supreme Court of Korea  대법원
The Supreme Court of Korea is highest judicial tribunal in the nation as the court of last resort. It introduces the judiciary system of Korea.
 
Seoul Metropolitan City  서울특별시
Official homepage of Seoul city, the capital of South Korea.
 
The Democratic People's Republic of Korea  조선민주주의 인민공화국    
Official Webpage of North Korean Government in English created by the Foundation of the Korean Friendship Association with full recognition from the North Korean government.

(To top menu)

 

History

Korean History On-line   한국역사정보 통합시스템
An integrated digital library about Korean history that provides comprehensively and systematically computerized historical data. This website includes classical works, ancient documents, historical maps, official court records of the Choson Dynasty such as the Sungjongwon ilgi (Diary of the Royal Secretariat), materials related to anti-Japanese movement during the colonial period, important modern literature, newspapers and magazines, Korean translations of the works in Classical Chinese, and a basic dictionary of Korean history among many other items.

The Annals of the Choson Dynasty  조선왕조실록
A searchable online resource of the Annals of the Choson Dynasty (朝鮮王朝實錄) which comprise 1,893 books covering 472 years (1392~1863) of the history of the Choson Dynasty, from the reign of King Taejo, the founder, to the end of the reign of King Cheoljong. This resource is treasured historical, political, and diplomatic materials for research on the relations of Japan, Manchuria, China, and the Ryukyus.

Korean History Database 한국사 데이터베이스
Provided by the National Institute of Korean History. Available in Korean only.

Histopia  히스토피아
A gateway to Korean historical information that is operated by one Korean history scholar. It provides databases, reviews, resources and forum about Korean history matters.

List of Homepages on Korean History 한국사 홈페이지 목록
A gateway to a wide range of the websites of organizations and individuals, related to Korean history. Categorized by different periods in Korean history.

Korea History Animation 
A multimedia animation that showcases Korean history in a continuing time line. Developed at the University of Sydney.

National Institute of Korean History  국사편찬위원회
Korean History full text database contains pre-modern to modern history of Korea. Categorized by rare and modern monographs, periodicals, documents/manuals, who's who, chronicles and multimedia collection.

National Museum of Korea  국립중앙박물관
The website of the National Museum of Korea. Provides databases about its collections.

National Folk Museum of Korea  국립민속박물관
The Museum is dedicated to investigate, research, and acquire artifacts and various sources on the folkways and lifestyles of Koreans in the past and present.

(To top menu)

 

Language & literature

Learn Korean Language 누리 세종학당
Free online lessons to learn Korean provided by the International Korean Language Foundation (한국어세계화재단). Lessons available from beginner and advanced levels.

Learn Korean Net
A website that provides free Korean online lessons including tutorials and a student help forum.

Korean through English
A website offers online lessons on how to write to Hangeul, Korean language, etc. provided by the Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism.

KOSNET
It stands for KOrean language Study on the InterNET, which provides step-by-step online session to learn Korean.
 
Digital Hangeul Museum  디지털 한글박물관
This virtual museum is dedicated to collect relevant data on Hangeul and aims to become a depository in the cyber space.

21st Century Sejong Project  21세기 세종계획
A project to build the Korean Language Information-Oriented Project. It was established as part of the Mid- and Long-term Development Plan for the Korean Language Information-Oriented Project, which aims to prepare basic frames and resources for promotion of the "language information culture".
 
National Institute of Korean Language  국립국어원
The National Academy of the Korean Language collects and conducts research on various linguistic aspects of the Korean language.

The Hangeul Society 한글학회
A scholarly association of the Korean characters which offers detailed explanations on Hangeul, Korean characters and searchable databases on Korean language. In Korean only.

The Society of Korean Language and Literature  국어국문학회
Established in 1952, the society has been acting actively for the development of Korean language and literature through a variety of activities. In Korean only.          

Korea Literature Translation Institute  한국문학번역원
The Institute (LTI Korea) operates a wide range of programmes to help Korean literature reach more readers around the world by supporting translation and publishing of Korean literature in foreign languages and organizing a variety of international exchanges.

The Learned Society of Modern Korean Literature 한국현대문학회
A non-profit, scholarly association that was established in 1970 to contribute to the developments of modern literature in Korea.

The Korean Writers’ Association 한국문인협회

International Korean Language Foundation  한국어세계화재단

Association for Korean Linguistics  한국어학회

(To top menu)

 

Libraries & related associations

National Library of Korea  국립중앙도서관
National Digital Library  국가전자도서관
National Assembly Library 국회도서관
Korean Library Association 한국도서관협회
International Network for Korean Studies Librarians (INKSLIB) 한국학사서 글로벌 네트워크
Council on East Asian Libraries (CEAL) (U.S.A.)
Committee on Korean Materials of the CEAL (U.S.A.)
East Asian Library Resources Group of Australia (EALRGA) (Australia)
Asian Libraries in Melbourne (ALIM) (Australia)

(To top menu)

 

Maps

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
A virtual Korean map collection at the University of Texas at Austin which includes a wide range of thematic maps of Korea.

Sea of Korea
The Sea of Korea Maps Digital Archive at the University of Southern California Libraries. It consists of original old maps, dating from 1606 to 1895.

National Geographic Information Institute  국토지리정보원
Korea’s national research institute which produces, manages and provides a variety of geographic information on Korea. Also provides a free map-searching service throughout Korea.

(To top menu)

 

Newspapers & Media   

Media Gaon-Korea Press Foundation   미디어 가온-한국언론재단
A representative database of articles from Korean newspapers and broadcasters that offers searching services of all the articles published after 1990s, provided by the Korea Press Foundation.

Daily Newspapers

Kyunghyang Shinmun 경향신문
The Hankyoreh 한겨레신문
The Dong-a Ilbo 동아일보  (Korean & English)
JoongAng Ilbo  중앙일보  (Korean & English)
The Chosun Ilbo 조선일보  (Korean & English)

Economic Newspapers

Maeil Business Newspaper  매일경제신문   (Korean & English)
The Korea Economic Daily  한국경제신문
The Herald Business       헤럴드경제

English Newspapers in Korea

The Korea Times  코리아 타임즈
The Korea Herald  코리아 헤럴드

TV Stations

KBS (Korean Broadcasting System) 한국방송공사
MBC (Munhwa Broadcasting Corporation) 문화방송
SBS (Seoul Broadcasting System) 서울방송
EBS (Education Broadcasting System) 한국교육방송공사
Arirang TV  아리랑국제방송

Media of North Korea

Korean Central News Agency  조선통신 The state-owned media agency of North Korea
Chosŏn Sinbo    조선신보
Rodong Sinmun   로동신문
The Pyongyang Times  An English newspaper in North Korea

(To top menu)

 

References & dictionaries

Search Engines
Naver 네이버
Daum 다음
Simmani  심마니
Paran 파란
Google Korea 한국 구글        
Yahoo! Korea 야후! 코리아   

Dictionaries
Naver Dictionaries 네이버 사전
Yahoo! Korea Dictionaries 야후!한국 사전
Glossary of Korean Studies 한국학 영문용어 용례사전 
Korean IT Glossary Dictionary 정보통신용어사전

Encyclopaedias
Wikipedia Korea 위키백과
Naver Encyclopaedia 네이버 백과사전
Yahoo! Korea Encyclopaedia 야후! 코리아 백과사전
Nate Encyclopaedia of Korean Traditional Culture 한국민족문화대백과사전
Digital Encyclopaedia of North Korea 디지털 북한백과사전

(To top menu)

 

Statistics

Statistics Korea   국가통계청
A governmental institute under the Ministry of Strategy & Finance which oversees all the statistical operations in Korea. It provides the KSIS service.

Korean Statistical Information Service  국가통계포털
Maintained by the Statistics Korea (국가통계청). The website provides statistical data that show overall status of Korea. Data are provided both in Korean and English.

The Bank of Korea Economic Statistics System  한국은행 경제통계시스템
Maintained by the Bank of Korea and provides economic data and statistics covering the main sectors of the Korean economy. Available in Korean and English.

Employment and Labour Statistics of Korea  고용노동통계
Statistics on the status of employment and labour of Korea which is provided by the Ministry of Employment and Labor. Available in Korean only.

Korea Federation of Small and Medium Business   중소기업통계
Offers statistical information and the latest trends of small-to-medium businesses in Korea.

National Archives and Record Services  국가기록원
This is a national records information system that was set up in 2006 by the National Archives of Korea to public open and provide national records to the citizens of Korea. Available in Korean only.

Korea Statistics: OECD
A Statistical profile of Korea provided by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). It offers more than 100 indicators covering a wide range of areas: economy, education, environment, health and quality of life, etc.

(To top menu)

 

Overseas Koreans & Korean diasporas

Ministry of Foreign Affairs & Trade   외교통상부
Korean.net  코리안넷
A portal website for overseas Koreans managed by the Overseas Koreans Foundation
Overseas Koreans Foundation  재외동포재단  (Korean only)
Overseas Koreans Foundation Library  재외동포재단 자료실
Overseas Korean Newspaper   재외동포신문  (Korean only)
KBS WorldNet, New Zealand  KBS월드넷 뉴질랜드 편.

Korean societies in New Zealand

The Korean Society of Auckland 오클랜드 한인회
Korean Society of Christchurch  크라이스트처치 한인회
Dunedin Korean Society 더니든 한인회

(To top menu)


back to Korea menu


 

Suggestions to : Kyu-won (Luke) Hwang, Asian Languages
19 September, 2011