I N T E R N E T  R E S O U R C E S
J A P A N
back to Japan menu

English and Japanese

If there is both an English and a Japanese language version of a web site the link is to the English version. Japanese only language sites are indicated by (Japanese). 

If a web page does not display Japanese script on the OPACs in the General Library from View on the menu bar select Encoding, More to view a list. Select Japanese (ECU)
If you need to enter Japanese script in a search field place your cursor in the bottom-right-hand menu with  the language icon EN, right-click the mouse, select Settings. You will have the pop-up screen for Text Services and Input Languages. Select Add. Scroll down in the Input Locale and select Japanese, OK, then Apply and OK. Return to the bottom right-hand menu and click EN, the language icon and select Japanese which appears as an option. You can click the Input style in the menu-bar that and select Hiragana. Use your space bar to select from lists of kanji.  

Research resources

Digital Archives
Digital Collection of Rare Books - University of Tokyo  includes
Fujikawa Bunko, items from the collection of medical historian and literary scholar, Fujikawa Yu (1865-1940)
Early Christan manuscripts
Japanese old books
Edo-period Haikai Poetry Collection
Shizen Shin'eido Digital version
Digital Library, National Institute of Japanese Literature
Digital Library from the Meiji Era image database of books published in the Meiji era  held by NDL.
Rare books image database 37,000 items from collections of the NDL from Edo period
Shiryo Hensanjo Database databases on historical source materials
Database of Japanese Old Photographs in Bakumatsu Meiji Period  
 The Japan Center for Asian Historical Records (JACAR)  materials  useful for understanding Japan's past relationship with various neighboring Asian countries and regions, which the Japanese Government's various institutions are making available to the public from among their collections, spanning from the beginning of the Meiji era to the end of the Pacific War.
 National Museum of Japanese History
Historical Documents image and full-text database, 1,665 items of medieval documents cataloged; some image data.
Digital Image Collection, Kyoto University   
The extensive historical resources offered on this site include the Meiji Restoration database, National Treasure Konjaku monogatari, Goseibai shikimoku, and Fujikawa collection of medical books.
Image Database of the Kyoto National Museum Collections   
Over 5,000 items held by the museum are searchable by title, creator, type, nationality, period, etc. 10,000 images are viewable. 
Image database of historical resources of the Nara region created by Nara Women's Unversity Library
Contemporary Okinawa  by John Michael Purves, contains Japanese documents dating back to the 1889 Constitution. The documents are divided into several sections: Prewar and Wartime Documents, Postwar Japan-U.S. Documents, Postreversion Japan-U.S. Documents, and Other Resources. Full text is available for most of the documents.
National Diet Web Archiving Project (WARP)
Cultural heritage online from the Ministry of Internal and Cultural Affairs
Kyoto International Manga Museum includes a catalogue and  repository of digitalised manga under development
Japan and America c1930-1955 [microform] : the Pacific War and the occupation of Japan. Series 1&2
Japan Through Western Eyes 1853-1941.[microform] : manuscript records of traders, travellers, missionaries and diplomats

Search Engines
Search Engines in Japan (Japanese)
goo (Japanese only)
Yahoo Japan (Japanese only)

Subject Directories
Australian National University Library: Japanese resources on the Internet
Humanities Web Sites in Japan (including Social Sciences) (Japanese - more comprehensive) meta-list of websites maintained by Gotoo Hitosi, Department of Linguistics at the Graduate School of Arts and Letters, Tohoku University, Sendai
Resources for arts and humanities
Jguide Stanford guide to Japan information resources meta-list of sites by subject compiled by stanford University
Japan Information Network
Web Japan

Reference (参考書)
Exceed Japanese/English, English/Japanese Dictionary  
Web Japan Japan Fact Sheet, Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Japan Information Network
Japanese Information Access Project
Jim Breen's WWWJDIC Server: Japanese-English Online Dictionary and other dictionaries
Library of Congress Country Studies: Japan
Sanseido's Japanese/English, English/Japanese Web Dictionary
TOWNPAGE: Japan Telephone Directory (Japanese only)
Public Domain Data Library Dictionary and Who’s Who created from public domain resources and maintained by Hideaki Kurihara.  

E-journals
Japan Focus an Asia-Pacific e-journal for students and researchers
Japan Echo
Japanese Journal 
Social Science Japan  newsletter of the Institute of Social Science, University of Tokyo
electronic journal of contemporary japanese studies
Japanese Journal Tables of Contents on the Web
Union List of Japanese Serials and Newspaper
Midnight eye (Japanese cinema)
Glocom Platform Japan Institute of International Communications

Organisations
Academic Society HomeVillage
Association of International Education, Japan, covers the Japanese Language Proficiency Test 
Edwin O. Reischauer Institute of Japanese Studies, Harvard University (Japanese)
International Research Center for Japanese Studies (Japanese)
Japan Center for Economic Research  
Japan Documentation Center. Library of Congress. Specialises in Japanese public policy
Japanese Studies Network Forum (JS-Net)
Japan Foundation 
JET Programme Japan exchange and Teaching Programme
JETRO (Japanese)
National Institute of Informatics (Japanese) and  Webcat Plus to find out-of-print books in university libraries or other institutions and the latest publications that are not yet in libraries. Table of contents and publisher's blurbs available for books published after 1986
NII Academic Content Portal
The National Institute for Japanese Language 
New Zealand Association of Japanese Language Teachers (NZAJLT)

Libraries
East Asian Library, UC Berkeley
Harvard-Yenching Library, Harvard University
Japanese Studies, East Asian Collection, University of Melbourne Library
C V Starr East Asian Library, Japanese Studies Homepage, Columbia University 
Monash University Asian Studies Research Library
National Diet Library (Japanese) and it's databse navigation service Dnavi
University of Tokyo Library Portal   University of Tokyo Doctorial Dissertation Database and OPAC all freely available to public
Toyo-Bunko Oriental Library

Government
Cabinet Office  
Department of the Imperial Household (Japanese only)
Local Government Index (Japanese only)
Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries  
Ministry of Finance  
Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan  
Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology  
Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry 
Prime Minister and his cabinet
House of Councillors, National Diet of Japan  

News Services
Asahi Shinbun
Yomiuri online
(Japanese)
Japan News.Net
Japan Times Online

Kyodo News
Mainichi Shinbun 
Nikkei Net (Japanese)
Pressnet  online news bulletin by The Nihon Shinbun Kyokai (NSK), from The Japan Newspaper Publishers & Editors Association.
Japan Today
Glocom Platform Japan Institute of International Communications
Foreign Press Center private and non-profit foundation, includes Facts and Figures of Japan, and useful contact information under ‘Media Directory’, available in Japanese and English.

back to Japan menu
 


Subject Specific Research

Art / Film / Culture
Ukiyo-e Link Links to museums and institutions with Ukiyo-e collections. 
Kinema Club  collection of criticism and  searchable database of books and articles on Japanese media.
Japanese Film Database
Over 34,000 titles of films made in Japan since 1899 are searchable by title, cast, directors, and year. Also lists related reference books. 
TV Drama database 
Over 27,000 TV dramas since 1940 are searchable by title, cast, creator, abstract, and writers. 
60s’ Wonder World 60 
Information on Japanese culture in the 1960s cultures , especially youth culture.  TV advertisements and programs, magazines, songs, candies, children’s games, cartoons, films
Japanese Performing Arts Resource Centre multimedia portal from the East Asia Program at Cornell University
Japanese rap/hip hop culture  music clips etc. created by Ian Condry, teaching popular Japanese culture at MIT.

Education
TOOL-BOX: an alphabetical list of Japanese universities

History
Database of books and journals relating to Korea, published in Japanese 1868-1945 (Japanese only)
Index to newspaper articles about Koreans living in Japan 1868-1945 (Japanese only)
Historical Institute of the University of Tokyo extensive and comprehensive digital resource site for Japanese history, including an index to Dai Nihon shiryo and the full text of Heian ibun
International Research Centre for Japanese Studies
Nichibunken's databases for historical resources
The World and Japan includes 4 databases - "Chronology of 20th and 21st Century" (Jap.only) "Post WWII Japanese Politics and Diplomacy"(Eng. & Jap.) "Foreign Policy of Asia-Pacific Countries" (Jap.only) "Abbreviations for International Relations" (Jap.only)

Economics
Portal site
Kobe University Library Digital Archive
a project of the Department of Economics - newspaper cuttings on econmic issues 1868-1970

Language / Literature / Linguistics
Daniel Long's Japanese Language Research Site
Japanese Text Initiative, University of Virginia and the University of Pittsburgh
Linguistics and Language-related Web Sites in Japan (Japanese - more comprehensive)
National Institute of Japanese Literature (Japanese)  offers various on-line text databases, including the Iwanami Nihon Koten bungaku taikei, the Nijûichi-dai shû, a collection of  renga, the Eiri Genji monogatari, and a collection of texts of modern poetry
National Language Research Institute (Japanese)
Noh Plays, Japanese Text Initiative (Japanese texts and English translations) 
Yamada Language Center, University of Oregon
Japanese Literature in Translation Database (English) Japan Foundation database of Japanese literature in translation
Aozora bunko  (Japanese) Full texts of literature (2,435 titles as of April 2003). Similar to Project Gutenburg.
Full-text database of Japanese Classics   (Japanese) Full text of Nihon Koten bungaku taikei (Iwanamai).
Modern Japanese literature Image database   (Japanese) 43 modern poetry books are available as of April 2003. Four additional collections now being digitized.
NIJL OPAC of Japanese Classics (Japanese) Over 260,000 records of classics in book and microform.

Philosophy/ Religion/ Ethics
Japanese Buddhist Books Database (Japanese only)
Philosophy/Ethics/Religious Studies WWW List in Japan  
Gods of Japan A-Z Photo dictionary
Encyclopedia of Shinto National Learning Institute for the Dissemination of Research on Shinto and Japanese Culture

Political Studies
Japan Forum on International Relations, Inc.  
The World and Japan database   (Japanese) Texts and data for modern Japanese politics and diplomacy, including major speeches by prime ministers and cabinet members since 1885. Offered by Akihiko Tanaka


Statistical Information
Web Japan: Fact Sheets
OFFSTATS (Japan): web sites providing free official statistic

Womens Studies
Japan Association for the Advancement of Working Women  features labor statistics, reports, career information, online exhibits, and counseling information.
National Women's Education Center, Japan  site includes lists of  programs, publications, and research.
Violence Against Women in War — Network Japan focuses on the issue of wartime sexual slavery and the 2000 Women’s International War Crimes Tribunal on Japan ’s Military Sexual Slavery. The site includes an extensive bibliography and list of other web resources.

back to Japan menu

 comments | disclaimer | © 2000 The University of Auckland Libraries | 08 May 2007