Asian Languages Collection

Te Whare o Ngā Reo Āhia


About The Library / Asian Languages Collection

Asian Languages Collection

Collection
Location
Voyager
Borrowing

Information Services
Staff
Opening Hours

Previous PageTop of Page

COLLECTION

The purpose of the Asian Languages Collection is to support the teaching and research programmes of the School of Asian Studies at the University of Auckland .

See Collection Development Policy.

The collection focuses on the literature, history, language, philosophy and religions of China, Japan and Korea, in the languages of these countries. It includes reference books, periodicals, newspapers, electronic databases, videos and CDs. Material on linguistics, sociology, politics and economics is being added to support new areas of interest in the School of Asian Studies programme.

Rare books and valuable items for research purposes are stored in closed access on Level 3 and in Special Collections on Level G. English language material relevant to Asian Studies is held throughout the Library, particularly in the Arts collections in the General Library.

Previous PageTop of Page

LOCATION

The Asian Languages Collection is located on the Level 3 of the General Library. Chinese, Japanese and Korean material is shelved in separate sequences.

See Also: Level 3 Location Map

Previous PageTop of Page

VOYAGER

Asian Languages Collection books and serials can be found on Voyager, by using a transliterated form of the author or title in romanised script. A full record for a book selected will display the author, title, and publisher in the appropriate Asian language. Records for serials include links to the electronic format if available.

Go To: Voyager

Previous PageTop of Page

BORROWING

Members of the Library may borrow items from the Collection at the Lending Desk on Level G. Items may also be reserved or recalled using the Patron icon on Voyager. If a book is recorded as a Desk Copy on Voyager it can be borrowed from the Asian Languages Collection Information desk on Level 3 during opening hours.

Previous PageTop of Page

Information Services

Asian Languages Collection Librarians will assist members in using the Collection, and offer training in using Voyager and databases on Library website. They also maintain an Asian Studies web page linking to databases, and internet resources by country

Staff and graduate students may request personal assistance in designing search strategies, and in identifying and selecting relevant resources for research purposes. Should you need a subject consultation in finding resources for a major project, it is recommended that you make an appointment in advance with the particular Subject Librarian concerned.

Previous PageTop of Page

  View of AV Library 2

Contact: Haiqing Lin