Asian Studies Databases

DATABASE  
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Citations in the humanities and social sciences pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
JapanKnowledge
Japanese-English dictionaries, two encyclopaedias, a biographical dictionary and who's who, a dictionary of scientific terms, a news database covering Asia and the European Union, full-text journals and books in the Toyo Bunko series, other e-books, and more
MagazinePlus (including Zasshi kiji sakuin)
Citations of books and journal articles from 9396 Japanese language periodicals and 102 Western language journals indexed in Zasshi kiji sakuin, 165 popular and business magazines indexed in Janaru indekkesu from 1981-present and the Gakkai nenpō ronbunshū file.
Nihon kokugo daijiten
An online version of the Japanese language dictionary Nihon kokugo daijiten on the JapanKnowledge platform. The online version is based on the 2nd print edition, published in 13 volumes by Shogakkan, 2000-2002.

Kikizo 11
A Japanese newspaper database from Asahi Shimbun containing over 7 million articles published since 1945. Contents includenewspaper articles from 1945 to present, PDF images from 1945 to 1985 and from 2005 November to present, magazines (AERA, Shukan Asahi, and Chiezo

Meiji Taisho Showa zenki zasshi kiji shusei is a free access but simple database searchable by author and title for articles from those periods
China Academic Journals  
Full-text articles, mainly in Chinese, from Chinese academic journals from 1994  in  literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, archaeology, religions, fine arts, film studies, sports and physical education. Search using Chinese (traditional or simple selected from Microsoft Input Languages), pinyin or English but the results will vary accordingly.  
Research Information Service System (RISS)
A free searchable index to Korean language journal articles, books and dissertations. You will need create your own login and password. Items requiring payment need to be requested through the University of Auckland Interloan Service
Asia -Studies Full-Text
Collection of full-text reports and articles on many facets of Asian economies- finance, trade, environment, human resources development, best practices in government, education and women's studies.
Dissertations and Theses  provides bibliographic citations and abstracts for doctoral dissertations and masters’ theses. There are two million references to theses and dissertations from accredited colleges and universities worldwide. The great majority are from North American universities. About 500,000 are available in full text.
Informit Database Collection ( Asian Resources)
ASIANRES - ASIAN Resources: A Select Directory of Databases This directory contains detailed information on Asia-related databases and search services which are accessible from Australia
APECLIT - APEC Literature Database produced by the Australian APEC Study Centre, Monash University and the University of New South Wales, APECLIT indexes and abstracts articles relevant to the Asia Pacific Economic Community (APEC).
BERITA - Malaysia/Singapore/Brunei/ASEAN Database  produced by the Ohio University Library, BERITA provides an extensive coverage of articles on Malaysia, Singapore and other South-east Asian countries.
PERIND is an index to periodical literature relating to Singapore, Malaysia, Brunei and ASEAN (as an entity), produced by the National University of Singapore
NUS Theses collection submitted to the National University of Singapore and its predecessor institutions, covering the period from 1947 to the present. All theses listed are deposited at the NUS Library
PCI 
Full Text articles from the humanities and social sciences in 37 key subject areas. including Asian Studies and publishes journals in 40 languages and dialects.
Southeast Asian Serials Index provides access to information on Southeast Asia through the indexing of academic and current affairs serials published in a range of countries including Indonesia, Malaysia, Japan, Australia, and The Netherlands.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
covers all social sciences, with an emphasis on Anthropology, Economics, Political Studies and Sociology. The database has good coverage for policy studies, international relations among Europe, Africa, and Asia.

JSTOR
Full text articles from archival volumes of major Asian Studies journals
Project Muse
Full-text serials covering the humanities and social sciences. 
Statistical Information 
Index New Zealand
INNZ is the key New Zealand database for social sciences, arts, humanities and general interest material, and indexes some South Pacific journals.
Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts from Sociological Abstracts, Digital Dissertations, and the Social Planning Policy and Development Abstracts (SOPODA) database in applied sociology. 
Academic Research Library
Full-text from journals across a wide range of subject areas, including the arts, humanities, law, military, women's issues, and children's interest in Asian studies. This database is part of  the Proquest group of databases which provides machine translation into other languages at the article level.
Expanded Academic
Indexing averages 1989- and full text 1992- . Multidisciplinary full-text and indexing database of academic journals, magazines and newspapers. 

comments | disclaimer | © 2000 The University of Auckland Libraries | March 9, 2009