Virtual Galleries & Museums

Fine Arts Library | Te Herenga Toi

Fine Arts Library Home | Elam School of Fine Arts | Department of Art History | Manukau School of Visual Arts | Back to Galleries & Museums


 

19th Century English Art
The home page of Bob Speel. This page is dedicated mainly to 19th century art, especially Pre-Raphaelites and illustration, but more broadly Victorian and Edwardian paintings, sculpture, architecture and other arts.

Australian Art and Britain
The interest of Australian art to these pages - largely concerned with British art of the 19th Century - lies in the important pictures which went to the new Australian art galleries of the late 19th Century, and the artists who came from Australia to Britain.
Christus Rex et Redemptor Mundi
A varied collection of sites. Of particular interest to Art History are: the Sistine Chapel; the Raphael Stanze and Loggia; Vatican City; Giotto; The Book of Hours of Duc de Berry; Renaissance painting gallery.
Discover Islamic Art
The Permanent Collection includes artefacts from the Participating Museums and monuments and sites related to the themes and periods presented. You can access the Permanent Collection by choosing a theme, country or museum. The items on display can then be related to items from other museums or can be viewed in connection with monuments and archaeological sites from different countries. If you wish to know more about any item you can access the Database at any point. Links to related itineraries within the MWNF Exhibition Trails enable you to use the museums to prepare for a visit in situ.
Joconde
Large collection of images from many French museums.  Search screen (and terms) in French. 
La Reunion des Musees Nationaux
120,000 works: paintings, sculpture, drawing, photographs f rom the Museums of France. (Unstable link, not always available.)
Matapihi
Access to 50 000 pictures, sounds and objects from Alexander Turnbull Library, Auckland Art Gallery, Auckland City Libraries, Christchurch City Libraries and Otago Museum.
Medieval Danish Wall Paintings in the Index of Christial Art, Princeton
Picture Australia
PictureAustralia provides access to images that cover all aspects of Australiana:
  • Artworks include paintings, drawings, prints and posters of abstract art, fine art and portraits;
  • Photographs capture people, places and events
  • Objects include sculpture, scrimshaw, bark, costume, weapons
  • Images may be in black and white or full colour.
Sources include National Library of Australia; National Gallery of Australia; National Archives of Australia; Museum Victoria; Nolan Gallery; State Library of New South Wales and National Library of New Zealand.
Timeframes
15,000 heritage images held in the pictorial collections of the Alexander Turnbull Library.
Virtual Uffizi
Based upon the real Uffizi, it is possible to search for paintingsusing several indices: artists index, rooms index and free text.
Web Gallery of Art
A virtual museum and searchable database of 6.500 digital reproductions of Europeans paintings and sculptures created between 1150 and 1750. Biographies, commentaries, guided tours are available. Full descriptive details are supplied.
WebMuseum : Major art archive
World Art Treasures
17 itineraries, 100,000 slides of Jacques-Edouard Berger.   Covers main civilizations: Egypt, China, Japan, Laos, Cambodia, Thailand, Burma, India and Europe.  Also pages for Vermeer, Botticelli and Caravaggio.

Comments and suggestions to : Stephanie Reid