International Galleries & Museums

Fine Arts Library | Te Herenga Toi

Fine Arts Library Home | Elam School of Fine Arts | Department of Art History | Manukau School of Visual Arts | Back to Galleries & Museums

 

Australia
France
Italy
Netherlands
Russia
Spain
United Kingdom
United States

AUSTRALIA

Brisbane
Johnstone Gallery Archive
The Johnstone Gallery was Brisbane's most influential commercial gallery in the 1950's and 1960's. This archive is available through the State Library of Queensland.
Queensland Art Gallery

Canberra
National Gallery of Australia

major collection of Australian, Western and Eastern art
National Library of Australia Picture Collection

The emphasis of this collection is Australian, with some material relating to New Zealand, Antarctica, Papua New Guinea and the Pacific. There are thousands of portraits of significant Australians, 45 000 paintings and 60 000 photographs.
Picture Australia
Picture Australia gives access to digitized images relating to Australia from seven major institutions, The National Library of Australia the lead institution.

Melbourne
National Gallery of Victoria
shows 500 famous works by Australian and international artists

Sydney
Art Gallery of NSW

collection of 19th and 20th century Australian art, Aboriginal art, African and European art.
Museum of Contemporary Art

contemporary art – often includes work by New Zealanders

FRANCE

Musee d'Orsay
Site of the Paris museum of 19th century fine arts
Musee du Louvre
Principal gallery in France, its vast collection includes work from the birth of the great antique civilizations up to the first half of the 19th century.

ITALY

Uffizi Gallery, Florence
shows some of the rooms in the Uffizi and there is an index of artists

NETHERLANDS

Rijksmuseum
With close on one million objects and Amsterdam's Rijksmuseum is the largest museum of art and history in the Netherlands. It is perhaps best known for its collection of 17th-century Dutch masters, with twenty Rembrandts and many other highlights of the period, including works by Vermeer, Frans Hals and Jan Steen.

RUSSIA

Hermitage
Highlights from the museum and art gallery in St Petersburg that has more than three million items. The Hermitage has a large collection of Impressionist paintings.

SPAIN

Museo Nacional del Prado
The collection currently comprises around 7,600 paintings, 1,000 sculptures, 2,400 prints and 6,300 drawings, in addition to a large number of works of art and historic documents. Prescribed tours are available under the Collection section.

UNITED KINGDOM

Courtauld Institute Gallery
The Courtauld Institute of Art Gallery has one of the most important collections in Britain, including world famous Old Master, Impressionist and Post-Impressionist paintings, and an outstanding prints and drawings collection.
Forest of Dean Sculpture Trail
In 1984 sculptors were invited to visit the Royal Forest of Dean to explore its trees, wildlife, industrial past and rich heritage.  The outcome was the commissioning of both "permanent" and "ephemeral" works and the opening of the Forest of Dean Sculpture Trail in 1986.  The web-site includes a location map of all the works currently sited, a text and image record of artists involved and their works that have featured since the Trail was launched, and much more.
National Gallery London

The National Gallery covers every European school of painting from 1260-1900,
and includes many well-known master pieces.
National Portrait Gallery
Portraits from 17th to late 20th century
Natural History Museum, London
The Natural History Museum is home to the largest collection of natural history artwork in the world. Nearly half a million works of art are held within the Museum's Library and Archive Collection and include original drawings, watercolours, oil paintings and prints.
Pitt Rivers Museum (University of Oxford)

Museum of anthropology and ethnology. See Introduction to the collections for the ‘Cook Collection’ which includes items from the Pacific and Cook Islands.
Sculpture at Goodwood

This site has a comprehensive extensive list of contemporary British sculptors.  It provides biographies, images and news of their exhibitions and awards.
Tate Gallery

National collection of British art and modern 20th century art.
Wallace Collection
One of the greatest private collections, notable for 17th century paintings, 18th century pictures, porcelain and furniture
William Morris Gallery

Morris designs on tiles, glass, in print, and with photographs of the Morris family and company.

UNITED STATES

California
Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco
:
The Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco is comprised of the de Young Museum and the Legion of Honor.  This imagebase is keyword searchable and contains 75,000 images.
Getty Museum
J. Paul Getty collection displays ancient art at Malibu. The Getty Center displays European art, American photographs and has a substantial research institute.
Los Angeles Museum of Contemporary Art
Work by major 20th century artists such as Calder, Giacometti, Gorky, Miro, Pollock, Rothko, etc.

Illinois

Art Institute of Chicago 

Current, future and past exhibitions are listed. Images from the collections: African and Amerindian art, American art, architecture, Asian art, ancient art, European painting, photography, modern and contemporary art can be viewed. There is a search funcion.

Massachusetts
Early American Paintings
Explores early American painters and their works.  The site features biographies of 20 artists and detailed information on 53 works, which also include numerous comparative images from other collections.

Minneapolis
Walker Art Center
Contemporary art -  multidisciplinary projects; vanguard, music, dance, theater, film and video.  Projects include 'ada'web' and 'Consensual Fantasy Engine'.

New York
Dia Center for the Arts
enables "the realization of extraordinary artistic projects" – has provided support for the massive onsite installations, web sites.
Guggenheim Museum

Information about events, exhibitions and the collections at the Guggenheim Museums in New York, Venice, Bilbao and Venice.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art
Holds two million works of art spanning 5,000 years, 3,500 can be viewed on this site.
The Museum of Modern Art

Significant collection of contemporary art in New York. lists events, exhibitions and special projects. Search for particular artists or subjects using Dadabase.
Whitney Museum of American Art
The Whitney Museum houses one of the world's foremost collections of twentieth-century American art. The Permanent Collection of some 12,000 works encompasses paintings, sculptures, multimedia installations, drawings, prints, and photographs.

Washington DC
Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
The catalogue provides access to around 50% of the holdings of the Prints & Photographs division of the the Library of Congress.  About 90% of the records are accompanied by one or more digital images.  In some collections, only thumbnail images display to those searching outside the Library of Congress because of potential rights considerations. 
Smithsonian Institute
Association of museum and research centres, predominant focus is American art, history and science.
National Gallery of Art
Painting, sculpture and graphic arts, architecture from the Middle Ages to the present.   Search by artist, title or subject, or browse.
National Museum of Women and the Arts

Work by women artists is in the Permanent Collection which is arranged in chronological sections: Renaissance, 17th, 18th, 19th, early,mid- and late 20th century.


Comments and suggestions to : Stephanie Reid