A R C H I T E C T U R E  &  P L A N N I N G   L I B R A R Y
T e   H e r e n g a   W h a i h a n g a

S U B J E C T  L I B R A R I A N   S E R V I C E 

Contact a Subject Librarian | Orientation tours | Voyager Tutorials | Catalogue and Database Tutorials | Literature Searches


Subject Librarians in the Architecture Library are available to assist staff and students of the Schools of Architecture, Property and Planning.  We offer a number of customised reference and instructional services designed to support your teaching, research or study needs. We are happy to provide help on an individual basis and can also cater for small groups or classes.

Contact a Subject Librarian

Please contact the Subject Librarians listed below with any queries.

 

ARCHITECTURE    
Wendy Garvey w.garvey@auckland.ac.nz ext 88643
Bruce Howie b.howie@auckland.ac.nz ext 87740
     
PLANNING    
Wendy Garvey w.garvey@auckland.ac.nz ext 88643
Bruce Howie b.howie@auckland.ac.nz ext 87740
     

Click here for a complete list of Subject Librarians at the University of Auckland.

[menu]


Orientation tours


A brief tour of the library will give you an introduction on how to use the services and the resources in the Architecture Library

  • How to find books and serials

  • How to borrow and return and recall books
  • How to find desk copy material
  • Interlibrary loans - how to request books and articles from libraries outside the University of Auckland Library system
  • Intercampus delivery services - how to request available books and articles held in libraries located in a different University of Auckland campus
  • Photocopying facilities

[menu]


Voyager Tutorials


Voyager is the University of Auckland's online catalogue.  These hands-on tutorials will introduce you to:

  • author, title, serial title and call number searching
  • keyword searching
  • limiting searches
  • how to email, save or print your search results
  • renewing and recalling books
  • course material searching
  • how to access your library (patron) record to find out what you have on loan, what fines you may have and the book recalls you have placed

Go to the library workshop booking database on the Library website to book for a Voyager tutorial.
If you are unable to attend the tutorials listed, see Architecture Library staff to arrange another tutorial time.

[menu]


Catalogue and Database Tutorials


The Library website provides information about library services and access to research databases and internet resources organised by discipline. 

Tutorials can be arranged to give you: 

  • an overview of The Catalogue, Voyager and the Library website

  • an introduction to searching key databases in Architecture or Planning that will enable you to find journal articles relevant to your information needs.

In-depth tuition on specific databases can also be arranged and will cover:

  • searching strategies and navigating skills

  • how to save, email and print references

Go to the library workshop booking database on the Library website to book for a catalogue or database tutorial. 
If you are unable to attend the tutorials listed, see your Subject Librarian to arrange another tutorial time.

[menu]


Literature Searches


The Information Services staff will assist you in undertaking literature searches on a variety of databases, devising search strategies that are most appropriate to your research or essay requirements. 

[menu]


Comments to Simon Coates
Last updated: 28 September, 2009