Architecture: International Websites & Resources
Web resources helpful for architectural research
 

For architecture directories on the web, try: Cyburbia, architecture.com, Architext, ArchNet, Architecture Virtual Library, arplus

NOTE: Newspaper and journal articles can be good sources for information on specific buildings, projects or architects - search Avery Index, Art Full Text or APId for overseas topics; Index New Zealand, ARCH: Australian Architecture Database and NewzText for NZ & Pacific topics.
 

 

Main page | Topics A-B | Topics C-D | Topics E-F | Topics G-K | Topics L-O | Topics P-R | Topics S-Z


 

S
Scandinavian architecture & design
Schinkel, Karl Friedrich, 1781-1841
Scott Brown, Denise 
see Venturi Scott Brown & Associates
Scottish architecture
Sinan, Mimar, 1489 or 90-1588
Skyscrapers
Society
see Architecture & society
Soleri, Paolo, 1919-
Sound 
see  Acoustics
South African architecture
Space (Architecture)


Space age architecture 
see  20th century architecture
Spanish architecture
Spiro Kostov
Starck, Philippe, 1949-
Stickley, Gustav, 1858-1942
Stowe Gardens (England) 
see Landscape architecture
Study abroad 
see  Foreign study
Structural analysis (engineering)
Structural design
Styles 
see  Art history
Sustainable architecture
Swedish architecture 
see  Scandinavian architecture & design
Synagogue architecture

T
Takenaka Corporation
Temples
Theatres 
see  Movie theatres
Timber 
see  Building materials
Trinidad & Tobago
see  Caribbean architecture
Tropical & sub-tropical architecture
Turkish architecture 
see  Islamic architecture
Twentieth century architecture 
see 20th century architecture
U
U.K. architecture
    - British architecture
    - Scottish architecture
    - Welsh architecture
Universities & colleges
    - buildings  see College buildings
    - directories  see Foreign study
    - education
Urban design
U.S. architecture
V
Van der Rohe, Ludwig Mies  see  Mies van der Rohe, Ludwig, 1886-1969
Vanbrugh, John, Sir, 1664-1726
Ventilation
Venturi, Robert  see  Venturi Scott Brown & Associates
Vernacular architecture
Victorian architecture
Vibration  see  Acoustics
Vietnamese architecture  see  Asian architecture
Vinyl  see  Building materials
Virtual exhibitions
Virtual reality
WXYZ
Welsh architecture
West Indies  see  Caribbean architecture
William McDonough + Partners
Women
Wood  see  Building materials
Wren, Christopher, Sir, 1632-1723
Wright, Frank Lloyd
WWW databases
Yamasaki, Minoru, 1912-1986
Zines



 
Scandinavian architecture & design Museum of Finnish Architecture Website of the Museum.
Scandinaviandesign.com / Scandinavian Design www.  Dedicated to all aspects of Scandinavian design.  Read about design news & events from across Scandinavia.  Access brief biographies of architects and designers including Alvar Aalto, Gunnar Asplund, Peter Celsing, Josef Frank, Arne Jacobsen and Eero & Eliel Saarinen.  The site also provides links to a number of magazines and books which feature Scandinavian architecture & design (eg. FORM, Arkitektur) and to Scandiavian museums & architecture/design schools. 

For individual Scandinavian architects/firms or designers, search under the name of the architect or firm or designer.
Index

Schinkel, Karl Friedrich, 1781-1841 AGRAM: Architectural information / R. Saariste.  Covers the work of Le Corbusier, Jujol, Loos, Duiker, Schinkel, Wright and Melnikov.  Database entries include recent photos, as well as building details such as location, current state, and background information.  In addition, designs by Loos which have never been realised, are presented with detailed drawings and photos of models.

See the entry on Schinkel at: Great Buildings Online

Scottish architecture Castles and Ancient Monuments in Great Britain / Grobius Shortling.  Organised by country (England, Scotland, Wales).  Also includes sections on Walled towns, Stone circles, Keeps & towers.  Some individual castles are considered important enough to merit their own listing (Tower of London, Corfe Castle etc.), but vary in content.  Features a glossary and Brief History of British Fortification plus a page of general castle links.
Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Scotland. Website collating information on the built heritage of Scotland.

For individual Scottish architects/firms or buildings, search under the name of the architect or firm or building.
Index

Sinan, Mimar, 1489 or 90-1588

See the entry on Sinan at: Great Buildings Online

See also  Islamic architecture

Skyscrapers Big Buildings / 1999 exhibition, Skyscraper Museum, N.Y.  Examines high-rise size and the evolution of the building type over the century.
High Rise Buildings Database / Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat.  Restricted access.  Contains data on tall buildings: the latest facts and statistics, visual images, and listings of professional firms linked to specific buildings and specialty categories.
Emporis.com / John Cahill et al.  Provides statistics on more than 30,000 high rise buildings from all over the world.  Searchable by country and building name.  Also provides information on planned and demolished buildings and the location's climate and population. 
World's tallest buildings / 100 of the worlds tallest buildings are listed with links to a few.
Index
Soleri, Paolo, 1919- Soleri Archives / Cosanti Foundation.  Paolo Soleri originals kept at the Soleri Archives at Arcosanti.  Current drawings include: Arizonian Portfolios; Bridges and Dams; Mesa City; Two Suns; Arcology; Space Habitat. 

For more information on the Arcosanti project, see  Human ecology.

South African architecture ArchitectAfrica.com / Architect Africa Online.  Latest news, projects, links to South African architects, building designers, products, materials etc.

For individual S.A. architects/firms, search under the name of the architect or firm.

See also  African architecture
Index

Space (Architecture) Architecture and Humanities=Arquitectura y Humanidades / Postgraduate School of Architecture, National Autonomous University of Mexico.  A project which surfaced in 1999 as the outcome of the "Architecture and Humanities" Master's Degree in Architectural Design Research Workshop from UNAM.  Aims to explore the origins and essence of what Architecture is. It is also an "interactive space of knowledge...which promotes research and tries to diffuse a more humane vision when faced with Architecture, emphasizing the design."

See also  Architectural design, Philosophy

Spanish architecture For individual Spanish architects/firms or buildings, search under the name of the architect or firm.
Index
Spiro Kostov Lectures by architectural historian Spiro Kostov, taught in 1991 at the Architecture Department of UC Berkeley's College of Environmental Design, can be found here.
Index
Starck, Philippe, 1949-  Philippe Starck Seating / Banal Design.  A retrospect, in time-line format, of Starck's seating designs.  Often critical successes, examples of many of Starck's chairs can be found in major design collections around the world. 
Stickley, Gustav, 1858-1942 Stickley's Craftsman Homes / Ray Stubblebine.  Background information on Gustav Stickley as well as useful information about Craftsman homes (popular in the U.S. in the early 1900s). Futher information can also be found here.

See the entry on Stickley at: Great Buildings Online

See also  Arts & Crafts movement

Structural analysis (engineering) The Architect and the Architectural Engineer / Jaap Schekkerman.  A paper describing the role of an architect from an historial perspective.  The change in roles between architect and architectural engineers is addressed.
Index
Structural design

See Architectural design

Sustainable architecture Arcosanti / Cosanti Foundation.   Arcology, in simplest terms, is "the fusion of architecture with ecology." Designed by Paolo Soleri, Arcosanti is located in the high desert of northern Arizona. Begun in 1970 as an "urban laboratory," it can house 7000 people while occupying only 25 acres of a 4,060 acre preserve. The site promotes this alternative use of space and seeks to educate people on arcology and Soleri via a virtual tour, various essays and e-mail links to some of the residents. The Arcosanti web site is the next best thing to being there.  
Sustainable Architecture and Building Design (SABD) / Sam C.M. Hui, Hong Kong University.  Explores the concept of sustainable development with particular reference to sustainable architecture.  Includes a list of online or downloadable design guides and links to sustainable case studies.
Sustainable Architecture, Building & Culture / Roy Prince.  Links site which catalogues web resources on environmentally-inspired building techniques, technologies, architecture and engineering.  Categories include environmental illness, straw bale construction, eco villages and communities, and natural building technology.

See also  Green design
Index

Synagogue architecture
See also  Church architecture, Islamic architecture
Takenaka Corporation Takenaka Corporation / website of Japan's oldest architecture, engineering and construction firm with a history that spans nearly 400 years and includes creating a large number of Japan's most prominent architectural landmarks.

See also  Japanese architecture
Index

Temples See also  Church architecture, Islamic architecture
Tropical and sub-tropical architecture Sustainable architecture: Eco-design and landscaping / R.D. Hotten.  Information about sustainable architecture: ecological planning, design, integrated architecture and landscaping for tropical, sub-tropical or temperate climates.

See also  Climate
Index

U.S. architecture Digital archive of American architecture / Jeffery Howe, Boston College.  Consists of nearly 1,400 digitized images of American architecture (280 buildings) plus explanatory material.  Originally constructed as a supplement to a course taught by Howe, the archive surveys the development of architecture in America from the 17th century to the present, with particular emphasis given to Boston architectural monuments.

American landscape and architectural design, 1850-1920 / Frances Loeb Library, Harvard University Graduate School of Design.  This digitized collection of approximately 2,800 lantern slides gives a historical view of American buildings and landscapes built during the period 1850-1920. The photographs, plans, maps, and models in the collection show the work of Harvard faculty, such as Frederick Law Olmsted Jr., and of prominent landscape architects throughout the U.S. The collection offers views of cities, buildings, parks, estates and gardens, and a complete history of Boston's Park System. 

For individual U.S. architects/firms or buildings, search under the name of the architect or firm.

See also  Bibliographies

Urban design RUDI (Resource for Urban Design Information).  A multimedia Internet resource for teaching, research and professional activity in urban design and its related disciplines. Urban design in this context includes the physical design, management, planning and use of buildings and landscape in terms of their relationship to public and open space.

See also  Architectural design
Index

Vanbrugh, John, Sir, 1664-1726  Historic Stowe /  Michael Bevington, Michael Edwards & M. Young.  Profiles the house, the garden and park, including architects and gardeners who have worked at Stowe.  Includes plans, images, maps and 360 degree panoramas.
Index
Ventilation
See also  Air quality
Venturi Scott Brown & Associates Robert Venturi and Denise Scott Brown / Vitruvio.ch.  Biographical details and links to websites about their works & projects.

See the entry on Venturi at: Great Buildings Online
Index

Vernacular architecture Implosion: Anthropology of habitat and architecture / Nold Egenter.  Pluridisciplinary website on Architecture and Habitat Anthropology.  For those interested in reconstructing cultural evolution based on constructive behaviour. The "primary focus is on fibroconstructive objects, semantic and symbolic processes, as well as on sedentarisation, domestication and extended territorial control."  The site includes sections on Japanology and Indology. (Egenter, Oct 2000)

See also  Architecture & society

Victorian architecture Victorian Design: An Overview / Victorian Web, Brown University.  Describes Victorian styles and movements, providing examples.  Includes an essay on Architect-Designers of the period, such as Pugin, William Morris and Voysey.
Index
Virtual reality AI in Design Webliography / D.C. Brown, Computer Science Dept, Worcester Polytechnic Institute.  A collection of potentially useful sources of information about AI in Design, Knowledge Based Design, Intelligent CAD, Computational Approaches to Design, and Design Theory & Methodology.  Includes pointers to projects and research centers (but not to individuals), organized by location.  There are also separate sections for university courses, and for prominent US-based design researchers.
CUMINCAD / Profs Bob Martens and Ziga Turk, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia.  CUMINCAD is a cumulative index of the papers published at conferences organised by ACADIA, CAADRIA, ECAADE, CAAD Futures and others (see People & Organisations). It includes bibliographic information of over 8100 records, and around 5400 fulltext articles in PDF format. 
eCAADe / These are annual conferences hosted by different universities each year.  Information shared relates to the use of computers in research and education in architecture and related professions.
Virtual Study Tour / FAPPFA, University of Auckland.  A computer graphics visualization of architecture. Access virtual models of ancient and contemporary buildings and spaces, including the Barcelona Pavilion, University of Auckland, Palace of Ramses III.
Web3D Consortium / The Web3D Repository is an impartial, comprehensive, community resource for the dissemination of information relating to Web3D.  Resources are organised by topic - eg. Authoring & Browsing Applications, Software Development Resources, Applied Web 3D, and Objects, Sounds, & Textures.

See also  Computer-aided design
Index

Welsh architecture See also  Castles
William McDonough + Partners William McDonough + Partners.  William McDonough + Partners' strengths lie in design and ecological concerns in building, planning and product design. Their "pioneering designs and award-winning projects" include Offices for The Gap, Inc. in California, the Herman Miller/Miller SQA Factory in Michigan and the Adam Joseph Lewis Center for Environmental Studies at Oberlin College in Ohio.
Index
Women

Women in Architecture / Vitruvio.ch.  Biographical details and links to websites about works by architects such as Gae Aulenti, Zaha Hadid, Julia Morgan and Denise Scott Brown.
The International Archive of Women in Architecture (IAWA). Aims to document the history of women's involvement in architecture through the collection and preservation of the professional papers of women architects. 
Women and architecture: selected bibliography and guide to sources / created by Kim Hardy, revised by Jeanne Brown.  Research guide.

Wren, Christopher, Sir, 1632-1723 See the entry on Wren at: Great Buildings Online
Wright, Frank Lloyd AGRAM: Architectural information / R. Saariste.  Covers the work of Le Corbusier, Jujol, Loos, Duiker, Schinkel, Wright and Melnikov.  Database entries include recent photos, as well as building details such as location, current state, and background information.
All-Wright Site / C. Miller.  Offers a complete guide to Frank Lloyd Wright's built works, as well as other aspects such as his life.  Also included are hundreds of organized links to Wright websites of related interest. Intends to encourage and assist in the "appreciation and study of Wright and his important work."
Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy.  The Conservancy aims to facilitate the "preservation of the remaining structures designed by Frank Lloyd Wright."  Includes brief news, a quarterly newsletter (PDF) on the Conservancy's most recent projects, as well as details of relevant conferences, book reviews, exibitions/events and properties open for tour.  A section called 'Wright on the Market' provides listings for Wright homes - including historical information, images etc. - on the market or recently sold.  Through 'Wright sites', access a complete listing of FLW homes in the U.S., Japan, England and Canada.  Includes links to other Wright sites on the web.
Frank Lloyd Wright: Designs for an American Landscape, 1922-1932 / Library of Congress.  Online version of a physical exhibition which opened Nov 14, 1996 and closed Feb 15, 1997.  Focuses on five unrealised projects - a prototypical suburb, resorts, an automobile objective, a desert retreat - which embody Wright's changing views of the fundamental relationship between building and land. 

See the entry on Wright at: Great Buildings Online
Index

WWW databases AGRAM: Architectural information / R. Saariste.  Covers the work of Le Corbusier, Jujol, Loos, Duiker, Schinkel, Wright and Melnikov.  Database entries include recent photos, as well as building details such as location, current state, and background information.  In addition, designs by Loos which have never been realised, are presented with detailed drawings and photos of models.
archINFORM / Includes over 18000 built and unrealized projects from various architects and planners. The architecture of the 20th century is the main theme of this database.  Search for a project via an architect, town or keyword with the indices or by using a query form.
Cities/Buildings Database / Over 5000 digitized images of buildings and cities ranging from New York to Central Asia, from African villages, to the Parc de la Villette, and conceptual sketches and models of Frank Gehry's Experience Music Project.  The images have all been scanned from original slides or drawn from documents in the public domain. 
Great Buildings Online / Documents a thousand buildings and hundreds of leading architects, with 3D models, photographic images and architectural drawings, commentaries, bibliographies, web links, and more, for famous designers and structures of all kinds. 
Emporis Buildings Database / Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat.  Restricted access.  Contains data on tall buildings: the latest facts and statistics, visual images, and listings of professional firms linked to specific buildings and specialty categories.
Structurae: International Database and Gallery of Structures / Nicolas Janberg.  Contains works of architecture as well as engineering and gives a large amount of technical structural information.

See also  Architecture databases in the Library
Index

Yamasaki, Minoru. 1912-1986 A biography of Minoru Yamasaki, world-class architect, with photos and a partial list of his works

See the entry on Yamasaki at: Great Buildings Online


Main page | Topics A-B | Topics C-D | Topics E-F | Topics G-K | Topics L-O | Topics P-R | Topics S-Z

This page maintained by Simon Coates. Please submit resource suggestions and comments to s.coates@auckland.ac.nz
Published 29/11/2000 -- Last Modified: 8 December, 2011
URL: http://www.library.auckland.ac.nz/subject-guides/arc/os_websites/arcsourc7.htm

The views and opinions expressed in this page are strictly those of the page author. The contents of this page have not been reviewed or approved by the University of Auckland.