| Architecture:
International Websites & Resources
Web resources helpful for architectural research For architecture directories on the web, try: Cyburbia, architecture.com, Architext, ArchNet, Architecture Virtual Library, arplus NOTE: Newspaper and journal
articles can be good sources for information on specific buildings, projects
or architects - search Avery
Index, Art
Full Text or APId for overseas
topics; Index New Zealand,
ARCH:
Australian Architecture Database and NewzText
for NZ & Pacific topics.
|
| Main page | Topics A-B | Topics C-D | Topics E-F | Topics G-K | Topics L-O | Topics P-R | Topics S-Z |
| E
Eames, Charles & Ray East Asia see Asian architecture Education - abroad see Foreign study Egyptian architecture Eichler, Joseph L., b. 1900 Employment Electronic Journals - via library databases & Voyager - on the web see Internet Journals & Zines Encyclopedias see Reference tools Energy conservation |
Energy efficiency see Energy conservation Environment Environmental noise see Acoustics Ergonomics see Human engineering European architecture Exhibitions (see also Virtual exhibitions) |
F
Facility management Film & video Finnish architecture see Scandinavian architecture & design Fittings see Building materials Foreign study Foster, Norman see Foster & Partners French architecture Fuller, R. Buckminster (Richard Buckminster), 1895-1983 Furniture |
| Eames, Charles & Ray | Eames
Office / Family business dedicated to communicating, preserving
and extending the work of Charles and Ray Eames. Extensive resource
which provides information on and links to the Eames
House, (in Los Angeles, CA), a searchable bibliography on the life
and work of Charles and Ray Eames and the work of the Eames Office, Eames
exhibition information, a listing of Eames films and much more.
Work of Charles & Ray Eames: a legacy of invention / Library of Congress. Online preview of an exhibition which brings together the sources of the Eameses’ inspiration, the personal documents of their lives, and the finished products of their talent. The exhibition is organized around challenges posed to them by clients or posed by themselves: how to produce affordable, yet high-quality furniture; how to build economical, well-designed space for living and working; how to help people see beauty in the everyday; how to help Americans and other cultures understand each other; how to make fundamental scientific principles accessible to lay people. See the entry on Charles Eames at: Great
Buildings Online
|
| Education | |
| Egyptian architecture | Classics
and Ancient World / Digital Librarian. Large selection
of links relating to all aspects of the classical and ancient world.
Each link has been evaluated by a librarian. Regularly updated.
See also Islamic architecture For individual Egyptian architects/firms,
search under the name of the architect or firm.
|
| Eichler, Joseph L., b. 1900 | Eichler Network / Marty Arbunich. Supports the lifestyle of the nearly 11,000 folks in Northern California who own an "Eichler" home. Eichlers are "the innovative, Modernist-designed homes...created by merchant builder Joseph Eichler between 1949 and the early 1970s." Sections include: History; Eichler's for Sale; Feature stories; Archive of Eichler plans and more. |
| Employment | Index |
| Energy conservation | Energy
Efficiency and Conservation Authority / The EECA promotes a
sustainable energy future by changing the way New Zealanders think about and
use energy.
Building Energy Software Tools / Office of Building Technology, State & Community Programs, U.S. Department of Energy. Outlines 204 energy-related software tools for buildings, with an emphasis on using renewable energy and achieving energy efficiency and sustainablility in buildings. Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy / U.S. Department of Energy. Comprehensive resource for DOE's energy efficiency and renewable energy information, plus access to more than 600 links and 80,000 documents. Index |
| Environment |
See also Human ecology, Parks. |
| European architecture | Digital
archive of European architecture / Jeffery Howe, Boston College.
Online archive of images scanned from Howe's collection of slides for educational
use.
Search also under individual countries.
|
| Exhibitions | Euromuse.net. A public access portal providing up-to-date information on major temporary exhibitions in European museums, as well as background information on the organising museums and their collections. Each museum's information is available in the native language and in English. Updating of Euromuse.net is continuous. |
| Foreign study | Study abroad directory / ISA. Details thousands of international academic programs, university study abroad programs, overseas universities, and language schools around the world. Search the directory either by the country you wish to go to or by the subject you wish to study. |
| Foster & Partners | Foster
& Partners / homepage of the
international design practice headed by Lord Foster and five partners.
See the entry on Norman Foster at: Great
Buildings Online
|
| French architecture | Château de Versailles (France) / Domaine National de Versailles. An introduction to the palace at Versailles, France. Of primary interest to architecture students is Explore the Estate, which contains a history of its construction and information and images of the main building, the Trianon palaces, grounds, and the town. A look is also provided at some of the Masterpieces in the palace and the site provides information and photos about the storm damage of December 1999. |
| Fuller, R. Buckminster (Richard Buckminster), 1895-1983 | Buckminster
Fuller Institute / BFI. Contains numerous essays about
the practice of design science, a resource section on geodesic domes, bulletin
board, news, community links, a comprehensive array of Buckminster Fuller’s
works including online editions of several of his most popular books.
Buckminster Fuller's Dymaxion House / Henry Ford Museum & Greenfield Village. Online exhibit scheduled to run in the Museum from October 1999 to Fall 2001. Documents the background to the Dymaxion House, its donation to and restoration by the Museum. Includes photos, plans, FAQ and bibliography. FULLER MAP / John Wood and Paul Taylor. A study of Fuller's "remarkable career as an inventor, architect, designer, cartographer, writer and theorist." THE FULLER MAP: presents a detailed case-study of a comprehensive designer, Buckminster Fuller; shows how certain theoretical matters may be related to practical design; provides check-lists of factors relevant to design; discusses problem-solving; and aims to enable the abductive formation of new conceptions of design issues. R. Buckminster Fuller FAQ / Christopher J. Fearnley. Frequently Asked Questions and Answers resource based primarily on the history of the discussions, interests, and needs of the readers of the BITNET mailing list Geodesic and its USENET gateway bit.listserv.geodesic. Index |
| Furniture | FM4:
Furniture : Meubles : Mobili : Muebles : Möbel / Pamela
Lucas. Access to websites on the various aspects of furniture, including
industry, history and design.
Philippe Starck Seating / Banal Design. A retrospect, in time-line format, of Starck's designs for seating. Often critical successes, examples of many of Starck's chairs can be found in major design collections around the world. Republic of Fritz Hansen / Features news, history of the company, biographies of the designers and a searchable photo gallery of products. Scandinaviandesign.com / Scandinavian Design www. Dedicated to all aspects of Scandinavian design. Read about design news & events from across Scandinavia. Access brief biographies of architects and designers including Alvar Aalto, Gunnar Asplund, Peter Celsing, Josef Frank, Arne Jacobsen and Eero & Eliel Saarinen. The site also provides links to a number of magazines and books which feature Scandinavian architecture & design (eg. FORM, Arkitektur) and to Scandiavian museums & architecture/design schools. Index |
| Main page | Topics A-B | Topics C-D | Topics E-F | Topics G-K | Topics L-O | Topics P-R | Topics S-Z |
| This
page maintained by Simon Coates. Please submit resource suggestions
and comments to s.coates@auckland.ac.nz
Published 29/11/2000 -- Last Modified: 25 July, 2011 URL: http://www.library.auckland.ac.nz/subject-guides/arc/os_websites/arcsourc3.htm The views and opinions expressed in this page are strictly those of the page author. The contents of this page have not been reviewed or approved by the University of Auckland. |