Architecture: International Websites & Resources
Web resources helpful for architectural research
 

For architecture directories on the web, try: Cyburbia, architecture.com, Architext, ArchNet, Architecture Virtual Library, arplus

NOTE: Newspaper and journal articles can be good sources for information on specific buildings, projects or architects - search Avery Index, Art Full Text or APId for overseas topics; Index New Zealand, ARCH: Australian Architecture Database and NewzText for NZ & Pacific topics.
 

 

Main page | Topics A-B | Topics C-D | Topics E-F | Topics G-K | Topics L-O | Topics P-R | Topics S-Z


 
 
A
19th century architecture
20th century architecture
3D  see  Virtual reality
Aalto, Alvar, 1898-1976
Acoustics
Aesthetic movement  see  19th century architecture
African architecture
Air quality
Airconditioning  see Ventilation
American architecture  see  U.S. architecture
Arabic architecture  see  Islamic architecture
Archigram
Architects' websites
Architectural design
Architectural drawing
Architectural engineering  see  Structural analysis (engineering)
Architectural education
Architectural images  see  Image archives
Architectural lighting  see  Lighting

Architectural organisations
    - overseas  see  People & Organisations
    - NZ  see  NZ websites
Architectural practice & management
Architectural research
    - guides
Architectural theory  see  Philosophy
Architecture & building (general websites)
    - details
Architecture & society
Architecture & the physically handicapped
Architecture in art
Archives
Arcspace
Art Deco
Art history
Art Nouveau
Arts & Crafts movement
Arup (Ove) & Partners  see  Ove Arup & Partners
Asian architecture
Australian architecture
Awards  see  Prizes & awards

B
Barbados  see Caribbean architecture
Baroque architecture
Bars & restaurants
Bauhaus
Bibliographies
Biographies  see Reference tools
Birkerts, Gunnar
Bofill, Ricardo
Borra, Giovanni Battista, 1713-1770
British architecture
Brown, Capability  see  Brown, Lancelot, 1716-1783
Brown, Denise Scott  see  Venturi Scott Brown & Associates
Brown, Lancelot, 1716-1783
Brunelleschi, Filippo, 1377-1446
Business
    - professional practice
Building
    - acoustics  see  Acoustics
    - conservation  see Conservation & restoration
    - details
    - effect on the environment  see  Green design

    - general websites
    - maintenance  see  Facility management
    - products  see  Building materials
    - statistics
Building materials
Building services  see  Structural analysis (engineering)
Building types
    - church architecture
    - mosques  see  Islamic architecture
    - museum architecture
    - skyscrapers
    - synagogue architecture
    - temples
    - universities & colleges  see  College buildings
Buildings
    - in art  see  Architecture in art
Burton, Decimus, 1800-1881
Byzantine architecture



 

19th century architecture

19th and 20th Century Architecture and Design: The Aesthetic Movement / Felhandler, Steeneken and Wilk, Architects.  Encompasses the Arts & Crafts style in its broadest sense, including other styles such as Romanesque & Gothic Revival, Victorian & Edwardian, Art Nouveau, French Art Deco, & Moderne.  The period covered is from the 1870s - 1930s, when regional styles, decorative detail and hand craftsmanship flourished.
Victorian Design: An Overview / Victorian Web, Brown University.  Describes Victorian styles and movements, providing examples.  Includes an essay on Architect-Designers of the period, such as Pugin, William Morris and Voysey.

See also  Art history
Index

20th century architecture 19th and 20th Century Architecture and Design: The Aesthetic Movement / Felhandler, Steeneken and Wilk, Architects.  Encompasses the Arts & Crafts style in its broadest sense, including other styles such as Romanesque & Gothic Revival, Victorian & Edwardian, Art Nouveau, French Art Deco, & Moderne.  The period covered is from the 1870s - 1930s, when regional styles, decorative detail and hand craftsmanship flourished.
Googie architecture / Chris Jepsen.  Website devoted to Googie, a style of architecture that thrived in the 1950s and early 1960s, designed to make the most of strip shopping centers and other roadside locations. It fit the needs of the new California "car culture" and the dreams of the even newer space age.  Googie has also been known as Populuxe, Doo-Wop, Coffee Shop Modern, Jet Age, Space Age and Chinese Modern.

See also  Art history

Aalto, Alvar, 1898-1976  Alvar Aalto: Between humanism and materialism / Museum of Modern Art.  Virtual exhibition in celebration of the centenary anniversary of the birth of renowned Finnish architect, designer, and town planner offers an illustrated chronology of his major works.
ALVAR AALTO - MUSEUM
Design Addict: Alvar Aalto / resource created by Belgian design collectors.  The entry for Aalto includes examples of Aalto's furniture design plus a selected bibliography of books.
See the entry on Aalto at: Great Buildings Online
Index
Acoustics Acoustics Bibliography / compiled by Geoff Martin, lecturer at McGill University, Canada.
Acoustics FAQ /  Angelo J. Campanella, PhD., Campanella Associates, Ohio. 
Architectual Acoustics and Lighting / Michael Salameh, PhD.  Technical definitions and concepts on Architectural Acoustics, Noise Control, and Architectural Lighting.
African architecture
For individual African architects/firms, search under the name of the architect or firm.

See also  South African architecture
Index

Air quality California Indoor Air Quality Program
Contains activities, publications and research relating to the causes, effects, prevention and control of indoor pollution.

See also  Ventilation

Archigram Archigram Archival Project
The work of the seminal architectural group Archigram is made available online in a project run by EXP, an architectural research group at the University of Westminster.
Architects' websites Archinet UK/Abacus Construction Index / A building directory that brings together information and advice about construction and architecture in the UK. Has been merged with its sister site in the USA to form Abacus Construction Index.  
Architects in Canada / Directory listing of architects and architecture firms in Canada. Searchable by state or city.
Architectural Style: A Guide to Initiating Research / Jeanne Brown.  How to find information about/on particular architects using various library resources, including the internet.
Firms and Practitioners - Architecture / Cyburbia.  Websites of architects and firms worldwide.

Search also under individual architects' names.
Index

Architectural design Architecture and Humanities=Arquitectura y Humanidades / Postgraduate School of Architecture, National Autonomous University of Mexico.  A project which surfaced in 1999 as the outcome of the "Architecture and Humanities" Master's Degree in Architectural Design Research Workshop from UNAM.  Aims to explore the origins and essence of what Architecture is. It is also an "interactive space of knowledge...which promotes research and tries to diffuse a more humane vision when faced with Architecture, emphasizing the design."
Design Research / CAD Centre, University of Strathclyde.  Information Resource Guide focussing on the influence of design across Engineering/Construction disciplines.

Pattern Language / Center for Environmental Structure, Berkeley, California.  Website dedicated to providing tools such as patterns and sequences in  addition to other information on alternative building processes which incorporates strong user participation and sensible spending.

See the entry on American architectural design at:  U.S. architecture 

Architectural drawing See also  Computer-aided design, Rendering
Index
Architectural education
Architectural practice & management APRP: Architectural Practice Research Project / B.D. Yatt, School of Architecture and Planning, Catholic University of America.  APRP's mission is to identify obstacles to responsive architectural practice and to develop guidelines for overcoming them.  Includes links to current projects and papers on various issues related to architectural practice and education.
Construction Best Practice Programme / DETR and the Construction Industry Board.   Extensive review of current Best Practice activities, information and resources.  Access the latest news; over 120 case studies highlighting the business benefits obtained from applying Best Practice initiatives; other core construction best practice websites and a quarterly newsletter.

For those enrolled in BAS or BArch Practice & Management papers, check out these course-related websites.
Index

Architectural research
 - guides
Architectural Style: A Guide to Initiating Research / Jeanne Brown.  How to find information about/on particular architects using various library resources.
Architectural Style: a guide to initiating research / Kevin Thompson and Jeanne Brown, University of Nevada Las Vegas.  Library research tips, especially aimed at those researching a particular period or style of architecture.
Exploring Image Collections on the Internet / Rotch Visual Collections.  Extensive guide to resources for images on the internet and at MIT - from archaeology, architecture and art to urban design.
Index
Architecture & building (general websites) aecportico / NBS Services, RIBA.  A gateway site that aims to provide the best and most useful architectural, engineering and construction information of relevance to the UK construction industry.
archINFORM
/
Includes over 29,000 built and unrealized projects from various architects and planners. The architecture of the 20th century is the main theme of this database.  Search for a project via an architect, town or keyword with the indices or by using a query form.
Architecture and Building / Jeanne Brown, UNLV Architecture Studies Library.  A general guide to topics including architecture, building and construction, design, housing, planning, preservation, facility management, energy and the environment, and landscape architecture.  This is a selective guide, the emphasis being on quality sites.
Architecture and Urban Planning (Warwick Art History Web) / Richard Parker, University of Warwick Library. 
Cities/Buildings Database / Over 5000 digitized images of buildings and cities ranging from New York to Central Asia, from African villages, to the Parc de la Villette, and conceptual sketches and models of Frank Gehry's Experience Music Project.  The images have all been scanned from original slides or drawn from documents in the public domain. 
galinsky / various contributors, originally begun by the Harvard Graduate School of Design.  Search galinsky for a building by region (at present Europe & North America) or by architect.  The site currently contains 200 photographs and descriptions, covering more than 100 buildings.  Includes links to related websites and books. 
Great Buildings Online / Documents a thousand buildings and hundreds of leading architects, with 3D models, photographic images and architectural drawings, commentaries, bibliographies, web links, and more, for famous designers and structures of all kinds. 
Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat.  Restricted access.  Contains data on tall buildings: the latest facts and statistics, visual images, and listings of professional firms linked to specific buildings and specialty categories.
Structurae: International Database and Gallery of Structures / Nicolas Janberg.  Contains works of architecture as well as engineering and gives a large amount of technical structural information. 

See also  Skyscrapers
Index

Architecture & society Implosion: Anthropology of habitat and architecture / Nold Egenter.  Pluridisciplinary website on Architecture and Habitat Anthropology.  For those interested in reconstructing cultural evolution based on constructive behaviour. The "primary focus is on fibroconstructive objects, semantic and symbolic processes, as well as on sedentarisation, domestication and extended territorial control."  The site includes sections on Japanology and Indology. (Egenter, Oct 2000)
Index
Architecture & the physically handicapped Design Linc.  Online design resource providing design tips for both the interior and exterior of buildings, listings for organisations and products available for the physically challenged and their caregivers, and links to several other disability and design resources on the internet.
Architecture in art Architecture in Fine Prints / Fairchild Gallery, Georgetown University Library.  Exhibition about the art of the architect, showcasing prints inspired by architects such as Sir Christopher Wren.
Index
Archives Architectural Archives Internet Sites / Martin Aurand, Carnegie Mellon University Libraries.  Selective list of links to archives in the U.S. and Canada. 
Historical Manuscripts Commission / Great Britiain.  Search Accessions to Repositories by year, then by subject (architecture, building & construction, furniture & interior design etc.)
Ready, 'Net, Go! Archival Internet Resources / Special Collections, Tulane Libraries.  Archival "meta index," or index of archival indexes.  From here you will be referred to the major indexes, lists, and databases of archival resources. From them you can link to almost every archives and archival resource in the metaverse.

See also  Image archives, Oral histories
Index

arcspace Arcspace: an online architecture and design magazine featuring major architects and international projects. Contains news, reviews of books and exhibitions, photos and articles about contemporary architects. The Architect's Studio and The Camera feature architectural drawings and architectural photography. Updated weekly.
Art Deco Index
Art history Art History Resources on the Web / Chris Witcombe, Prof, Art History.  Designed to accompany the tenth edition of Gardner's Art through the Ages.  Arranged chronologically with links to artists and images all over the Web.  "...[G]ives you more information on art history than you ever wanted to know....Bonus: an impressive set of connections to other resources, such as museums, image banks and artist directories. User-friendly format and not overly academic texts." (Forbes.com 'Best of the Web' review)

Periods in Art History / ITESM Campus Tampico, Mexico.  Profiles artistic styles from Prehistory to the present era as they are known in Western art and also gives an overview of Mexican art from its origins to the 20th century. 

See also  Art Databases & Internet Resources page, from the Fine Arts Library

Art Nouveau Art Nouveau - Symbolism and the Decorative Arts / Jeffery Howe, Boston College.  Webpage designed as part of Howe's FA 451 'Symbolism and Decadence...' course. Includes a brief essay on Art Nouveau in Belgium; files on van de Velde (Belgian), Mackintosh (Scottish), von Stuck & Endell (German) and the Vienna Secession - all of which include images; and some interesting late nineteenth century parodies of Art Nouveau design.     
Art Nouveau World Wide / Frank Derville.  Provides access to Art Nouveau resources by country/town.  Explores the roots of Art Nouveau architecture, outlines Art Nouveau building materials and includes an Art Nouveau FAQ.  Brief biographies of the Art Nouveau architects Guimard (French), Mackintosh, Berlage (Dutch), Hoffmann (Austrian), and Gaudi (Spanish) are available. 

See also  Art history, Arts & Crafts movement

Arts & Crafts movement 19th and 20th Century Architecture and Design: The Aesthetic Movement / Felhandler, Steeneken and Wilk, Architects.  Encompasses the Arts & Crafts style in its broadest sense, including other styles such as Romanesque & Gothic Revival, Victorian & Edwardian, Art Nouveau, French Art Deco, & Moderne.  The period covered is from the 1870s - 1930s, when regional styles, decorative detail and hand craftsmanship flourished.
The Arts & Crafts Movement Archive: Architects / Arts & Crafts Society.  Brief biographies and links to digital resources (primarily images), for over 30 Arts & Crafts era architects including Frank Furness, Irving Gill, Albert Kahn, Charles McKim, Pugin, H.H. Richardson, Louis Sullivan and Voysey. 

See also  Art history
Index

Asian architecture ArchitectureAsia.com / AEC Asia.  Directory of resources for architecture and design professionals in Asia and the Pacific. Includes information on Asian architectural firms and organisations, regional property & construction news, and product literature for Asia.
Implosion: Anthropology of habitat and architecture / Nold Egenter.  Pluridisciplinary website on Architecture and Habitat Anthropology.  For those interested in reconstructing cultural evolution based on constructive behaviour. The "primary focus is on fibroconstructive objects, semantic and symbolic processes, as well as on sedentarisation, domestication and extended territorial control."  The site includes sections on Japanology and Indology. (Egenter, Oct 2000)
Asian Historical Architecture / Tim Ciccone and Abe Ahn, Yale University.  An overview of buildings and sites in three East Asian capitals: Beijing, China; Kyoto, Japan; and Seoul, Korea; with photos, descriptions, and maps. Pyongyang, North Korea; Bangkok, Thailand; Angkor, Cambodia; and other locations are also represented.
Vietnam architecture / Chi D. Nguyen.  Part of a larger website showcasing Vietnamese art, architecture, history, music and literature.  Explores Vietnamese citadels, temples, Cham (brick) architecture.  Takes a more-indepth look at the architecture of Saigon and Hue.  Also includes essays, interactive maps and reconstructions of historical monuments in VRML.
Index
Australian architecture Aardvark: The RMIT Guide to Contemporary Melbourne Architecture / web version of the popular printed guide [Arch 72.036.6(94) A111].  Search for information about a particular architecture practice or, an individual architect.  Keyword searching is also available.  Aardvark MAPS allows you to locate one or more buildings by viewing a map of Melbourne and Regional Victoria.
ARCHOO: Australian Architectural Directory / A. Beckhouse.  Directory of architectural resources organised for quick access by subject. Also indexes international architectural websites.
In The Mind Of The Architect / Australian Broadcasting Corporation.  Originally a three-part television documentary series and now a multimedia presentation about how buildings and public spaces get to be made.  Exposes the public and private realms of a number of very different Australian architects, including Bill Corker, Phillip Cox, Peter McIntyre, Glenn Murcutt and Ken Woolley.  The site contains full transcripts and images, audio files, slide shows and virtual tours.

For individual Australian architects/firms, search under the name of the architect or firm.
Index

Baroque architecture Triumph of the Baroque / National Gallery of Art, Washington D.C.  Online exhibit, subtitled Architecture in Europe: 1600-1750, which explores the Baroque in Rome; churches and chapels; private residences; and civic, commercial, military, and royal buildings. Contains a small collection of images.  See the book published to accompany the exhibition at 72.034.77 M65t
Bars & restaurants
See also  Roadside architecture
Index
Bauhaus Bauhaus Weimar (1919-25) and Dessau (1925-1933) and Angela Lilleystone's Bauhaus School:  1919-1933) on the Bauhaus movement.  There are no entries newer than 1997.
Bauhaus-Archiv/Museum für Gestaltung (German only).  Bauhaus Museum and archive.  The archive comprises a huge number of international materials which document the history and effects of the Bauhaus, one of the most important schools for architecture, design and art in the 20th Century.  However, it also includes materials which address current questions of contemporary architecture and design.  Materials in the archive include plans, models, workshop products (furniture etc), paintings, drawings, posters, letters, photographs and other documentation on the history of the Bauhaus.  The section titled Bauhaus: 1919-1933 contains a full history plus specific essays on Gropius, Mies van der Rohe and Meyer. A library catalogue is available online.
Bibliographies AI in Design Webliography / D.C. Brown, Computer Science Dept, Worcester Polytechnic Institute.  A collection of potentially useful sources of information about AI in Design, Knowledge Based Design, Intelligent CAD, Computational Approaches to Design, and Design Theory & Methodology.  Includes pointers to projects and research centers (but not to individuals), organized by location.  There are also separate sections for university courses, and for prominent US-based design researchers. 
Las Vegas architecture & buildings: selected bibliography and guide to sources / Jeanne Brown.  Research guide.
Ruskin Bibliography / Ruskin Library, Lancaster University.  Annotated bibliography, regularly revised. Last updated January 2007. Includes edited works and works on Ruskin.
SAH Bibliographies / Society of Architectural Historians.  Lists of books and journal articles which can be used for assistance with projects and assignments.  Subjects covered include: Houston, the Los Angeles Metropolitan Area, Baltimore and Maryland, Los Angeles Drive-In Markets, the Adirondack Region of New York State.
Women and architecture: selected bibliography and guide to sources / created by Kim Hardy, revised by Jeanne Brown.  Research guide.
Index
Birkerts, Gunnar Gunnar Birkerts Architects Inc. This website includes a short biography, bibliography and images of projects.  A link to the Gunnar Birkerts & Associates Finding Aid gives information about the firm's records and drawings held in the Bentley Historical Library, University of Michigan.  The Bentley Historical Digital Image Bank offers a selection of conceptual drawings of his buildings.
Bofill, Ricardo Ricardo Bofill: Taller de Arquitectura. This fairly extensive homepage includes both an 'architectural biography' of Bofill plus shorter profiles of the partners.  Access the full list of works of the Taller de Arquitectura by  building type - urban design, housing, offices, other (includes hotels & commercial centres) - continent/country or by chronology.  Each work is briefly outlined and includes one or two pictures.  An addd bonus is a section on the firm's furniture design.
British architecture Archinet.co.uk  / Archinet UK.  Includes a timeline of British architecture in 240 images with captions and links, a list of award-winning British architects, a series of resources on doors, and a UK construction index.
Architecture.com / RIBA.  Formerly known as Ribanet, this is the official home page of the Royal Institute of British Architects.  Includes a searchable directory and a categorized collection of links. The Library also has a collection of links and provides access to the online catalogue. The catalogue will locate books and drawings in the library's collection, but it also serves as an index to over 300 architectural periodicals owned by the RIBA Library.  Clicking on the title of the journal will give you a Table of Contents for that particular issue.
Skyscraper News / Peter Kelly.  The latest news stories on Britains tallest buildings and developments.  Access skyscraper lists by city or height.  View proposed skyscrapers and Phantom Projects (dedicated to buildings never built). 

For individual British architects/firms, search under the name of the architect or firm.

See also  Castles
Index

Brown, Lancelot, 1716-1783 Historic Stowe /  Michael Bevington, Michael Edwards & M. Young.  Profiles the house, the garden and park, including architects and gardeners who have worked at Stowe.  Includes plans, images, maps and 360 degree panoramas.
Brunelleschi, Filippo, 1377-1446

See the entry on Brunelleschi at: Great Buildings Online
Index

Building statistics Construction Statistics / U.S. Bureau of the Census.  Statistical information includes: Building Permits; Housing Starts; Housing Completions; New Home Sales/Characteristics of New Housing; Manufactured Housing; Housing Starts Statistics - A Profile of the Homebuilding Industry; Census of Construction; Related Statistics. 

For New Zealand building statistics see: Statistical Sources for NZ Information
Index

Building materials AEC Asia Product infomration for architects, designers, engineers and contractors in Asia and Australia.  NB: Not all the product entries have websites.
Architects' First Source for Products / AFSONL.  Includes all the information found in First Source for Products (held in the Architecture Library Reference Collection at 691(73) A673).  Features expanded product listings plus links to manufacturer, trade names, and product indexes, with the additional capabilities provided by a powerful search engine. Information is accessible by four types of searches: Manufacturer or Trade Name - (blue pages in the publication); MasterFormat® Keyword - (green pages); MasterFormat® Code - (yellow pages); General word search. Information that might be provided includes a link to the manufacturer's website, technical product sheets, specifications, brochures - all PDF - and CAD drawings.
LeonardoUK / Database of UK building products & materials.  Also includes links to standards organisations and industry statistics.
RIBA Product Selector Online / RIBA.  Searchable index of UK manufacturers which provides product and contact details.  Search by product, manufacturer or CI/SfB.

For New Zealand suppliers, manufacturers and products, see our New Zealand links page.

See also  Details, Structural design
Index

Burton, Decimus, 1800-1881 Kew Gardens: History & Heritage / Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew.  Brief biography with links to projects by Burton at Kew.

See the entry for Burton & Turner at: Great Buildings Online

Index


Main page |Topics A-B| Topics C-D | Topics E-F | Topics G-K | Topics L-O | Topics P-R | Topics S-Z


 
This page maintained by Simon Coates. Please submit resource suggestions and comments to s.coates@auckland.ac.nz
Published 29/11/2000 -- Last Modified: 25 July, 2011
URL: http://www.library.auckland.ac.nz/subject-guides/arc/os_websites/arcsourc1.htm

The views and opinions expressed in this page are strictly those of the page author. The contents of this page have not been reviewed or approved by the University of Auckland.