I N T E R N E T  G A T E W A Y  :  A R C H I T E C T U R E

   R E F E R E N C E


  
 
This page contains links to to architecture or design-related online reference tools.  For links to Online Bibliographies, see the 'Bibliographies' entry in the Guide to International Websites & Resources for Architecture.

 

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Vitruvio.ch
Excellent starting point for anything to do with architecture on the web.  Has an extensive list of links to architectural history, and other related sites.
 

DICTIONARIES & GLOSSARIES

Dictionary of New Zealand Biography
In this website you will find the biographies of over 3,000 New Zealanders who have "made their mark" in New Zealand. This website does not include people who are alive.

Glossary of Terms: Landscape Gardening and Architecture
Compiled by John D. Tatter, Birmingham-Southern College.

Grove Dictionary of Art
Covers painting, sculpture, architecture, photography and decorative arts, plus contemporary forms such as performance art and multimedia installations. Biographies of artists; histories of towns, cities, countries and ancient sites; articles on "Abstraction, Aesthetics,...Authenticity, Colour...Mass production,...Semiotics."  Includes 45,000 entries by 6,700 scholars from 120 countires.


RESEARCH GUIDES

designinform Research Guides
Contain links to biographical information on architects, designers and artists, and full text free-access journals. 

BIOGRAPHIES

Brief biographies of American architects who died between 1897 and 1947
Transcribed from the American Art Annual.  Includes brief obituaries of more than 1200 architects.


Comments to Simon Coates
Last updated:  25 July, 2011