I N T E R N E T   G A T E W A Y   :   A R C H I T E C T U R E

P E O P L E   &   O R G A N I S A T I O N S

 
 
This page contains a number of links to New Zealand, Australian and International architects and practices, university departments, local and national government websites, and associations and organisations important to Architecture.

  
New Zealand

ARCHITECTS & PRACTICES

New Zealand Architects 
NZIA Practices Search
 

ASSOCIATIONS, ORGANISATIONS & INSTITUTES

Architectural Designers New Zealand Inc. (ADNZ)

Art Deco Society, Auckland

Association of Consulting Engineers NZ Inc

BRANZ (Building Research Association of NZ)

Building Biology and Ecology Institute (BBE)

Butterpaper (Australian and New Zealand Architecture and Design Resources)

Cement & Concrete Association of New Zealand (CCANZ)

ConsumerBUILD (NZ's independent resource for building, renovating & maintaining homes)

Designers Institute of NZ

Institution of Professional Engineers New Zealand (IPENZ)

NZ Historic Places Trust

New Zealand Institute of Architects (NZIA)

New Zealand Institute of Building Surveyors

New Zealand Institute of Quantity Surveyors

New Zealand Timber Design Society

Property Council of New Zealand

Registered Master Builders' Federation of New Zealand

Site Safe New Zealand

The New Zealand Urban Design Protocol - This has been prepared by the Ministry for the Environment in conjunction with an Urban Design Advisory Group. The protocol is a voluntary commitment to specific urban design initiatives by signatory organisations, which include central and local government, the property sector, design professionals and other groups.
 

TERRITORIAL LOCAL AUTHORITY & REGIONAL COUNCIL LINKS

Local Government Information Website Online
Developed by the Department of Internal Affairs. It provides general information about all 86 local authorities, as well as links to all councils.

New Zealand Local Government Online
Gateway to New Zealand's local government.

Auckland Regional Growth Strategy

Auckland Regional Council
Northland Regional Council

Auckland City Council
North Shore City Council
Waitakere City Council
Manukau City Council
Papakura District Council
 

GOVERNMENT

NZ Government Web Pages
Government information, press releases etc

Building Industry Authority
Dissolved in November 2004, its functions were transferred to the Department of Building and Housing. See also Department of Building and Housing: Building law and compliance.

Census 2006
Statistics from the 2006 NZ Census

Department of Building and Housing
The main areas of the site are housing information and documents, tenancy services information and services, building controls information and services and information about the Department of Building and Housing.

Department of Conservation

Energy Efficiency and Conservation Authority (EECA)

Environment Court

Land Information New Zealand
Links to government land and seabed information

Ministry of Housing
Includes information on New Zealand housing reforms, and related legislation

New Zealand Ministry for the Environment
Includes information on the Resource Management Act and other New Zealand planning related material 

New Zealand Official Yearbook 1999
A condensed version of the paper Yearbook. It contains a general overview of government structures, geography, and history, as well as Statistics New Zealand information on demography, the economy and industry. Throughout the text there are links to other websites and Statistics New Zealand's latest information releases

Statistics New Zealand
New Zealand's national statistical office

Urban Design Protocol publications

 
 

Australia

For Australian architects, firms or practices refer to the Guide to Internet Websites & Resources for ArchitectureSearch by architect's name/practice/firm or by keyword.

ASSOCIATIONS, ORGANISATIONS & INSTITUTES

Australian Housing & Urban Research Institute
Research and policy analysis in the housing and urban development and management fields.

Royal Australian Institute of Architects
 
 

International

For international architects, firms or practices refer to the Guide to Internet Websites & Resources for ArchitectureSearch by architect's name/practice/firm or by keyword.

GENERAL DIRECTORIES 

Architectural Associations, Organizations and Research Institutes
Huge directory of links, arranged in alphabetical order and regularly updated.

Arlis.net Directory of Art, Architecture and Design Resources
The Directory lists some 250 organisations throughout the UK and Ireland
that have books, magazines, archives and other material on art, architecture or design. Entries include names, addresses, opening hours, web site addresses, subject areas covered, and details about access. The database can be searched by organisation names, subject areas, regions, organisation types, and keywords. It is also possible to identify organisations with collections on a particular subject, in a specific town or region.

Conservation Register
Information on finding architects with skills and experience in historic building conservation, repair and maintenance, mainly in the United Kingdom.

Construction Associations A-Z

ASSOCIATIONS, ORGANISATIONS & INSTITUTES

ACADIA: Association for Computer-Aided Design in Architecture

AIA: American Institute of Architects

American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA)

American Solar Energy Society

Architectural Association
Both a learned society and a School of Architecture.

Architectural Institute of Japan (AIJ)

Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture

Association of Researchers in Construction Management (ARCOM)

CAAD Futures
Promotes, through international conferences and publications, the advancement of Computer Aided Architectural Design in the service of those concerned with the quality of the built environment. 

Center for Health Design
Nonprofit, nonmembership U.S. organization working to make lives better by demonstrating supportive building design enhances health and well-being.

Chartered Institute of Building (CIOB)

Chicago Architecture Foundation
One of the leading organizations in the U.S. dedicated to advancing public interest and education in architecture and related design.  This site gives information about its comprehensive program of tours, exhibitions, lectures, special events and adult and youth education.  Provides links to other architectural sites

Commonwealth Association of Architects

Construction Industry Council(CIC)

CTI Centre for the Built Environment (CTICBE)
Covers the subject areas of architecture, planning, construction and property management.  Specifically promotes the use of computers in teaching. 

eCAADe (Education in Computer Aided Architectural Design in Europe)
Association of institutions and individuals with a common interest in promoting good practice and sharing information in relation to the use of computers in the education of architects and other related professions.

Energy Efficient Building Association (EEBA)

Environmental Design Research Association (EDRA)

Industrial Designers Society of America (IDSA)

Institute for Research in Construction (IRC)
Canada's construction technology centre.  IRC provides research, building code development, and materials evaluation services.

International Council on Monuments and Sites (ICOMOS)
International non-governmental organization of professionals, dedicated to the conservation of the world's historic monuments and sites.

International Society of Indoor Air Quality and Climate
Supports the creation of healthy, comfortable and productivity-encouraging indoor environments.

Netherlands Architecture Institute (NAi)

Royal Institute of the Architects of Ireland
(Open in Internet Explorer if you get an error message in Netscape)

Society of Architectural Historians (SAH)
Aim to advance knowledge and understanding of the history of architecture, design, landscape, and urbanism worldwide.

South African Institute of Architects (SAIA)

Union Internationale des Architectes = International Union of Architects
International non governmental organisation founded in Lausanne in 1948 to unite architects from all nations throughout the world, regardless of nationality, race, religion or architectural school of thought, within the federations of their national associations.
 

GOVERNMENT

U.S. Dept of Housing and Urban Development (HUD)

WHO Urban Health


Comments to Simon Coates
Last updated: 8 December, 2011