I N T E R N E T   G A T E W A Y   :   A R C H I T E C T U R E

S E L E C T E D   W E B S I T E S   &   I N T E R N E T   R E S O U R C E S
Selected by Library staff, choose a category...


 
 
This page contains a number of links to New Zealand, and International websites or resources important to Architecture.  For International and New Zealand architects see People & Organisations.
 
New Zealand

Course-Related Links:  Practice & Management Webpages
 

NEW ZEALAND ARCHITECTURE

Aotea Centre - brief description, includes seating map.
Art Deco Society
Arts Centre, Christchurch (Benjamin Woolfield Mountfort)
Auckland Town Hall - description, plans.
Civic Theatre, Auckland - description, plans.
Heritage Images - over 100,000 images from the photograph and map collections of Sir George Grey Special Collections, Auckland Libraries
Heritage Online - Auckland City Council site providing heritage information for over 3000 central Auckland and Hauraki Gulf items.
Historic Buildings of Dunedin
Historic Parnell
Register of Historic Places in New Zealand - a register compiled by the New Zealand Historic Places Trust Pouhere Taonga.
St Joseph's Cathedral, Dunedin - History, photos, drawings.
Wellington City Council Heritage Building Inventory - Information on nearly 500 of the heritage buildings listed in Wellington's District Plan. Each entry comprises a scanned photograph, building history, the architect (where known) and a general summary of the heritage values. 
 

RELATED NZ WEBSITES

Architecturenz.net - On this site you can find out how to find an architect, which projects have won awards and other related information.
ConsumerBUILD - NZ's independent resource for building, renovating & maintaining homes.
NZIA - Website of the New Zealand Institute of Architects Incorporated.
Ralenti - The Building Directory Search by keyword for building product summaries and building suppliers  Includes links to other architectural websites and a developing CAD drawing library.
Smarter Homes - A sustainability website providing information about how to design, build and renovate homes that are warmer, drier, healthier, more comfortable, more affordable and kinder to the environment. Topics covered include design, energy efficiency, water efficiency, siting, materials and construction. Sponsored by the Ministry for the Environment, the Department of Building and Housing, ConsumerBuild, and Beacon Pathway.
The New Zealand Urban Design Protocol - This has been prepared by the Ministry for the Environment in conjunction with an Urban Design Advisory Group. The protocol is a voluntary commitment to specific urban design initiatives by signatory organisations, which include central and local government, the property sector, design professionals and other groups.
 

International

Abacus Construction Index
Abacus Construction Index is a searchable directory of more than 1000 websites and online documents for UK construction professionals.

World Architecture: Global Buildings by City
A guide to key buildings across the globe. For each city that is featured, there are 10 key buildings selected. These buildings and architects are listed alphabetically and are interlinked.

International Websites & Resources for Architecture - Search for architects or any aspect of international architecture, by keyword.
 


Comments to Simon Coates
 Last updated:  2 December, 2011