A R C H I T E C T U R E   &   P L A N N I N G   L I B R A R Y
T e   H e r e n g a   W h a i h a n g a

L I B R A R Y  C O L L E C T I O N S


Subject Areas Covered

The Architecture Library collects material, in various formats, in the following subject areas:
  • Architecture
  • Planning
The Architecture Library's collection consists of a range of materials. These include books, serials (also referred to as journals or periodicals), theses, measured drawings, maps, slides, electronic products such as CD-ROMs, DVD-ROMs, video cassettes and DVDs, as well as subscriptions to electronic resources including generic and Architecture- and Planning-specific databases.

This is the Architecture Library's Collection Development Policy.


Collections in the Architecture Library

Books New Zealand Collection
Serials Special Collections
Short Loan Collection Pointers to Research Information
Reference Collection

Books

Most Architecture Library books are shelved in one sequence, according to the UDC Classification system.
  • Building Reports, Conservation Reports, older material and material used infrequently are held in storage. Ask at the Enquiry Desk for more information on how to access this material.
  • Some books are also kept in Special Collections.
To locate Architecture Library books, use LibrarySearch, the Library's online catalogue.

[Top]


Serials

The Library receives over 400 Architecture and Planning serial titles. The latest issues are arranged on display shelves opposite the Enquiry Desk. Sets of periodicals are either bound or boxed and are arranged in alphabetical order on the shelves following on from the book collection.

The most recent issue of a serial held on Short Loan is placed on the New Books Display for seven days prior to being shelved in the Short Loan Collection.

To find out which serial titles are held in the University Library System, use LibrarySearch, the Library's online catalogue.

To search for individual papers and articles, see our page on Strategies for Locating Research Information.

 [Top]


Short Loan Collection

Materials kept in the Short Loan Collection include:
  • Recommended reading material
  • Material in heavy demand
  • Some periodical titles
  • Student work (theses, research reports etc.)
  • The University Calendar
  • Departmental handbooks
All Short Loan items are held at the Enquiry Desk. Users should find the call number assigned to their item on LibrarySearch, under Course Reserve, or in the Short Loan  lists kept at the Desk.

See the Short Loan Collection section of our Architecture Library Lending Services page for more details on how the Short loan service works.

[Top]


Reference Collection

The Library has a Reference Collection which holds items such as:
 
  • Dictionaries
  • Bibliographies
  • Indexes
  • Abstracts
  • Encyclopedias
  • Directories

 

Reference Collection items may only be consulted in the Library. This allows Library users greater access to Reference material.

[Top]


Special Collections

Sheppard Collection

The Sheppard Collection was begun by Fergus Sheppard, Government Architect of the time, and is unique to the Architecture Library. It is a collection of published articles, newspaper cuttings, photographs, and other ephemera relating to architects who have practiced in New Zealand since the days of European settlement. As it is a research archive, access to the collection is restricted and is by consultation with the Architecture Librarian.

Historical Collection

This is the rare and old book collection held by the Architecture Library. Items in this collection date from the mid 1600s to 1920. The collection is in the process of being catalogued and therefore is partially searchable on LibrarySearch. Access is restricted and items cannot be photocopied but may be consulted in the Library.

Folio Collection

The Library has a substantial collection of folios. These are large format books. The collection is predominantly nineteenth century publications. All of this collection is catalogued and searchable on LibrarySearch. Access is restricted and items cannot be photocopied but may be consulted in the Library.

Archives & Original Architectural Drawings

The library has archival material which includes original architectural drawings from New Zealand architectural firms. The collection, although national in coverage, has a strong Auckland regional bias. Access to the collection is restricted and is by consultation with the Architecture Librarian.

Visit the Architecture Archive website for further information.

[Top]


New Zealand Collection

All books relating to New Zealand are arranged together on shelves labeled New Zealand Collection This collection can be located prior to the general sequence.

[Top]


Pointers to Research Information

While the Library catalogue dentifies the titles of Architecture Library books and serial titles, it does not provide any information about individual journal articles or other items that appear in journals, conference proceedings, etc.

The main pointers to research information in the Architecture Library are electronic databases, abstracting journals and indexing publications.
These can be found via the following links:

Architecture databases
Planning databases

The electronic resources available for locating information on other topics may be found at the Library website's Databases page.

 [Top]

 


Comments to Simon Coates
Last updated  17 March, 2011