NZ Archaeological Site Reports


There are several ways to access these site reports.

New Zealand Historic Places Trust (NZHPT) Digital Library (up to November 2010)

  • This is a collection of 12 DVDs (discs 1a-12) kept in the General Library Lending Desk (click here to see the Library Catalogue Record for the collection). The discs are available for borrowing.
  • It is an extensive collection of unpublished archaeological reports - including site surveys and excavations. There are about 300 reports per disc, totalling more than 2600 volumes dating from the early 1970s to the present.
  • To get a list of the volumes in the DVD collection, download the table of contents spreadsheet linked from the Library Catalogue record.

NZHPT Archaeological Reports (in print format)

  • Published site reports in print format are kept in the Special Collections on Level G in the General Library.
  • They are not available for borrowing, but may be used in the Special Collections Reading Room 
  • You can search for a particular report by author or title using the Library Catalogue; or retrieve a full list of all the print reports using a call number search - 995 U58
  • New reports are continuously added to the collection

NZHPT website

  • The website has a comprehensive and up-to-date list of site reports which is free for download.
  • For the latest reports not availalbe from our print or electronic collection, you can email the Trust to get a copy for free.

ArchSite

  • The database is an ongoing project of digital archaeological site reports carried out by New Zealand Archaeological Association, in partnership with the New Zealand Historic Places Trust and the Department of Conservation. ArchSite incorporates GIS technology to manage and display New Zealand archaeological site information on maps. ArchSite contains descriptions and information about the location, type and condition of recorded archaeological sites. In addition, ArchSite will incorporate digital copies of the paper forms that were first used to record information about sites, from the inception of the Site Recording Scheme in the 1950s. These forms may include detailed descriptions and site plans recorded from visits to sites over the last 50 years. This supporting documentation is being progressively added to ArchSite, by region, over the next two years. Full site reports are not yet available from, but will be added to, this database.


 

Last Updated: December 2, 2010
Contact: l.pang@auckland.ac.nz