|
Bibliographies
- Print:
- Angleviel, Frederic. Le Pacifique Sud, bibliographie des thčses et mémoires récents = The South Pacific, a bibliography of the recent theses and dissertations. Talence : CRET, Université de Bordeaux III et CEGET-CNRS, 1991. [NZ & P 013.3789 A58]
- Carrington, Lois. Twenty years of Pacific linguistics : an index of contributions to Pacific linguistic studies, 1961-1981. Canberra, A.C.T., Australia : Dept. of Linguistics, Research School of Pacific Studies, Australian National University, 1981. [NZ&P 499 C31]
- Elliott, Jacqueline D. Pacific law bibliography. London: Commonwealth Legal Education Association, 1988. [NZ & P 016.3499 E46]
- Goetzfridt, Nicholas J. Indigenous navigation and voyaging in the Pacific : a reference guide. New York : Greenwood Press, 1992. [NZ & P 016.62389 G61]
- Goetzfridt, Nicholas J. Micronesian histories : an analytical bibliography and guide to interpretations. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2002. [[NZ & P 016.9965 G61m]
- Hanson, Louise. The art of Oceania : a bibliography. Boston, Mass. : G.K. Hall, [1984] [NZ & P 016.7099 H25]
- The Hill Collection of Pacific Voyages at the University of California, San Diego. New Haven & Sydney: William Reese Company and Hordern House, 2004.
- The Journal of Pacific history bibliography. Canberra, A.C.T. : Journal of Pacific History, 1988- [NZ & P 990.5 J86p (1995-1997 Ask at NZP desk)] An annual publication. Very comprehensive. Sections on Anthropology and prehistory and on various countries.
- Maude, H.E. Pacific bibliography. Canberra?: Australian National University, 1971. [NZ & P 016.01699 M44]
- McLean, Mervyn. An annotated bibliography of Oceanic music and dance. Wellington: Polynesian Society, 1977. [NZ & P 016.78099 M16] And supplement 1981.
- Moore, Clive. Pacific history journal bibliography. Canberra : Pacific Manuscripts Bureau, 1992. [NZ&P 016.99 M82]
- South Pacific periodicals index. Suva: University of the South Pacific, 1974- [NZ & P 016.99 B58]
- Taylor, C.R.H. A Pacific bibliography; printed matter relating to the native peoples of Polynesia, Melanesia, and Micronesia. 2nd ed. Oxford, Clarendon Press, 1965. [NZ&P 016.99 T23 1965] Also NZ&P Reference.
- Thawley, John. Australasia and South Pacific islands bibliography. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 1997. [NZ & P 016.99 T36]
- University of Auckland Library. A finding aid to reference books in South Pacific studies. Auckland: Auckland University Library, 1988. [NZ & P 016.99 U58]
- University of the South Pacific Information Centre. South Pacific bibliography. 1972- [NZ & P 016.99 S721] Various earlier titles.
Melanesia
Polynesia
-
Samoa F.O.B. Free Online Bibliography
-
Samoan Archaeology Bibliography
-
Hawaiian national bibliography
-
Hughes, H.G.A. Samoa (American Samoa, Western Samoa, Samoans abroad). Oxford: Clio Press, c1997 [NZ & P 016.99613 H89]
-
Liedtke, Wolfgang. Samoa 1880 - 1914 : bibliographie deutschsprachiger kolonialer Literatur zu Quellen der Ethnographie und Geschichte, annotiert = A bibliography of German-language colonial literature as ethnographical and historical sources, annotated. Dresden : Staatliches Museum für Völkerkunde Dresden,
Forschungsstelle, 1999. [NZ & P 016.99614 L71]
- Morris, Nancy Jane, 1992. Hawai'i. Oxford, England ; Santa Barbara, Calif. : Clio Press [NZP 016.9969 M87]
Micronesia

General Introductions
Pacific
- Campbell, I. C., & Campbell, I. C. 2003. Worlds apart : a history of the Pacific Islands. Christchurch, N.Z.: Canterbury University Press.
- Crocombe, Ron. 2001. The South Pacific. Rev. ed. Suva :University of the South Pacific. [NZ & P 990 C93 2001]
- D’Arcy, Paul. 2006. The people of the sea : environment,
identity and history in Oceania. [Honolulu] : University of
Hawai'i Press. [NZ & P 990 D21]
- Davidson, Janet et al. (eds.) 1996. Oceanic culture history : essays in honour of Roger Green. Dunedin, N.Z. : New Zealand Journal of Archaeology. [NZ & P 306.099 G79]
- Ernst, Manfred (ed.) . 2006. Globalization and the
re-shaping of Christianity in the Pacific Islands. Suva,
Fiji : Pacific Theological College. [NZ & P 280.099 E71]
- Fischer, Steven R. 2002. A history of the Pacific islands. Basingstoke : Palgrave Macmillan. [NZ & P 990 F52]
- Garden, Donald S. 2005. Australia, New Zealand, and the Pacific : an environmental history. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO.
- Howe, K.R., Robert C. Kiste and Brij V. Lal, (eds.) 1994. Tides of history : the Pacific Islands in the twentieth century. Honolulu : University of Hawaii Press. [NZ & P 995 T55 And Short Loan]
- Howe, K. R. 2003. The quest for origins : who first discovered and settled New Zealand and the Pacific islands? Auckland, N.Z. : Penguin Books. [NZ & P and MM 995.0072 H85]
- Irwin, Geoffrey. 1992. Prehistoric exploration and colonisation of the Pacific. Cambridge, England ; Melbourne : Cambridge University Press. [NZ & P 572.99 I72 And Short Loan]
- Kirch, Patrick Vinton. 2000. On the road of the winds : an archaeological history of the Pacific Islands before European contact. Berkeley, Calif. : University of California Press. [NZ & P and Short Loan 990 K58o]
- Kirch, Patrick Vinton & Roger C. Green. 2001. Hawaiki, ancestral Polynesia : an essay in historical anthropology. Cambridge : Cambridge University Press. [NZ & P 305.800996 K58]
- Kolig, Erich & Hermann Muckler, (eds.). 2002. Politics of indigeneity in the South Pacific : recent problems of identity in Oceania. Munster : Lit. [NZ & P 305.899 K81]
- Lal , Brij B. and Peter Hempenstall. 2001. Pacific lives, Pacific places : bursting boundaries in Pacific history. Canberra : Journal of Pacific History. [NZ & P 990.72 L19]
- Lilley, Ian (ed.) 2006. Archaeology of Oceania : Australia
and the Pacific Islands. Malden, MA : Blackwell. [NZ & P 990
L72]
- Lockwood, V. S. 2004. Globalization and culture change in the Pacific Islands. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson Education.
- Macpherson, Cluny, Paul Spoonley & Melani Anae. 2001. Tangata o te moana nui : the evolving identities of Pacific peoples in Aotearoa /New Zealand. Palmerston North, N.Z. : Dunmore Press. [NZ &P 305.8994095 M17]
- Moyle, Richard M. 1991. Polynesian music and dance. Auckland, N.Z. : Centre for Pacific Studies, University of Auckland. [NZ & P 780.996 M93 Also Short Loan]
- New Zealand. Law Commission. 2006.
Converging currents : custom and human rights in the Pacific.
Wellington, N.Z. : Law Commission.
- Oliver, Douglas L. 1989. Native cultures of the Pacific Islands. Honolulu : University of Hawaii Press. [NZ & P 572.99 O48 Also Short Loan]
- Oliver, Douglas L. 1989. Oceania : the native cultures of Australia and the Pacific Islands. Honolulu : University of Hawaii Press. [NZ & P 572.99 O48o And Short Loan]
- Pawley, Andrew (ed.). 1991. Man and a half : essays in Pacific anthropology and ethnobiology in honour of Ralph Bulmer. Auckland, N.Z. : Polynesian Society. [NZ & P 572.99 B93 And Short Loan]
- Powles, Michael. 2006. Pacific futures. Canberra, A.C.T. : Pandanus Books, Research School of Pacific
and Asian Studies, Australian National University. [NZ & P 320.99
P88]
- Sillitoe, Paul. 2000. Social change in Melanesia : development and history. New York : Cambridge University Press. [NZ & P 306.09932 S58s]
- Smith, Anita. 2002. An archaeology of West Polynesian prehistory. Canberra : Pandanus Books, Research School of Pacific and Asian Studies, the Australian National University. [NZ & P 990 S64]
- Stewart , Pamela J. and Andrew Strathern (eds.). 2000. Identity work : constructing Pacific lives. Pittsburgh, Pa. : University of Pittsburgh Press. [NZ & P 306.0996 S84]
- Strathern, Andrew et al. 2002. Oceania : an introduction to the cultures and identities of Pacific Islanders. Durham, NC : Carolina Academic Press. [NZ & P] 305.80099 S89]
- Thomas, Nicholas. c1995. Oceanic art. London : Thames and Hudson. [NZ & P 709.9 T45 And Short Loan]
- Van Meijl, Toon and Jelle Miedema. (eds.) 2004. Shifting images of identity in the Pacific. Leiden : KITLV Press. [NZ & P 306.099 M51]
- Wassman, Jurg (ed.). 1998. Pacific answers to western hegemony : cultural practices of identity construction. Oxford : Berg. [NZ & P 320.54099 W32]

Ethnographies
Samoa
- Buck, Peter H. Samoan material culture. Honolulu, Hawaii : Bernice P. Bishop museum, 1930. [NZGC 570.74 B52 75]
- Copp, John Dixon. The Samoan dance of life / an anthropological narrative. Boston : Beacon Press, 1950. [NZ & P 572.9932 C78]
- Drozdow-St. Christian, Douglass. 2002. Elusive fragments : making power, propriety & health in Samoa. Durham, N.C. : Carolina Academic Press. [NZ & P 306.461099614 D79]
- Freeman, Derek. Margaret Mead and the heretic : the making and unmaking of an anthropological myth. Ringwood, Vic. : Penguin Books, 1996. [NZ & P 572.99613 M47Vf 1996]
- Hirsh, Susan. The social organisation of an urban village in Samoa. Wellington : Polynesian Society, 1958. [NZ & P 572.9932 H66]
- Holmes, Lowell Don. Samoan village : then and now. 2nd ed. Fort Worth : Harcourt Brace Jovanovich College Publishers, c1992.[NZ & P 919.613 H75s]
- Holmes, Lowell Don. Ta'u : stability and change in a Samoan village. Wellington : Polynesian Society, 1958 [i.e. 1959]. [NZ & P 572.99613 H75]
- Kramer, Augustin. The Samoa Islands : an outline of a monograph with particular consideration of German Samoa. Auckland, N.Z. : Polynesian Press, c1994-1995. [NZ & P 572.99614 K89vY Also NZGC] First published in German in 1902.
- Lockwood, Brian. Samoan village economy. Melbourne, New York, Oxford University Press, 1971. [NZ & P 330.99614 L81]
- Mageo, Jeannette Marie. Theorizing self in Samoa : emotions, genders, and sexualities. Ann Arbor : University of Michigan Press, c1998. [NZ & P 305.80099613 M19]
- Mead, Margaret. Coming of age in Samoa : a psychological study of primitive youth for western civilisation. New York : Morrow Quill Paperbacks, [1973]. [NZ & P 306.099613 M47p] First published 1928.
- Mead, Margaret. Social organization of Manua. Honolulu, Hawaii : Bernice P. Bishop museum, 1930. [NZ & P 570.74 B52 76]
- Schoeffel, Penelope. Daughters of Sina : a study of gender, status and power in Western Samoa. Thesis (PhD)--Australian National University, 1979. [Not held at AU]
- Shore, Bradd. Sala'ilua, a Samoan mystery. New York : Columbia University Press, 1982. [NZ & P 301.299614 S55]
- Su'a, Fatu. 2005. Malosi o le nu'u = Strength of the village. Thesis (MA--Pacific Studies)--University of Auckland, 2005. [THESIS 05-426]
- Weston, Sharon White. Samoan social organization : structural implications of an ambilineal descent system. Thesis (PhD--Anthropology)--University of California, Los Angeles, 1972. [MICROFILM 1223 and 2577]
Tonga
- Beaglehole, Ernest. Pangai : village in Tonga. Wellington, New Zealand : The Polynesian society, 1941. [NZ & P 572.99612 B36]
- Bernstein, Louise Myra. Ko e lau pe [microform] = It's just talk : ambiguity and informal social control in a Tongan village. Thesis (Ph. D.)--University of California, Berkeley, 1983. [MICROFICHE 87-81]
- Bott, Elizabeth. Tongan society at the time of Captain Cook's visits : discussions with Her Majesty Queen Salote Tupou. Wellington : Polynesian Society, 1982. [NZ & P 301.299612 B75 Also NZ Glass Case]
- Evans, Mike. 2001. Persistence of the gift : Tongan tradition in transnational context. Waterloo, Ont. : Wilfrid Laurier University Press. [NZ & P 305.89948 E92]
- Ferdon, Edwin N. Early Tonga : as the explorers saw it 1616-1810. Tucson : University of Arizona Press, c1987. [NZ & P 996.12 F34]
- Gailey, Christine Ward. Kinship to kingship : gender hierarchy and state formation in the Tongan Islands. Austin, Tex. : University of Texas Press, 1987. [NZ & P 572.99612 G13]
- Gifford, E. W. Tongan society... Honolulu, Hawaii : Bernice P. Bishop museum, 1929. [NZ & P 570.74 B52 61]
- Grijp, Paul van der. Islanders of the south : production, kinship and ideology in the Polynesian kingdom of Tonga. Leiden, Netherlands : KITLV Press, 1993. [NZ & P 309.19612 G85]
- Grijp, Paul van der. 2004. Identity and development : Tongan culture, agriculture, and the perenniality of the gift. Leiden : KITLV Press. [NZ & P 306.099612 G84]
- Morton, Helen. Becoming Tongan : an ethnography of childhood. Honolulu : University of Hawai'i Press, c1996. [NZ & P 305.23099612 M88]
- Morton, Keith Louis. Kinship, economics and exchange in a Tongan village. Thesis (PhD--Anthropology)--University of Oregon, 1973. [MICROFILM 73-082]
- Perminow, Arne Aleksej. The long way home : dilemmas of everyday life in a Tongan village. Oslo, Norway : Scandinavian University Press : Institute for Comparative Research in Human Culture, c1993. [Tamaki 306.099612 P45]
- Rogers, Garth A. Kai and kava in Niuatoputapu social relations, ideologies and contexts in a rural Tongan community. Thesis (PhD--Anthropology)--University of Auckland, 1975. [THESIS 76-075]
- Rogers, Garth A. Politics and social dynamics in Niuafo'ou : an outlier in the kingdom of Tonga. Thesis (MA--Anthropology)--University of Auckland, 1968. [THESIS 301.44099612 R72]
- Small, Cathy. Women's associations and their pursuit of wealth in Tonga : a study in social change. Thesis (Ph. D.)--Temple University, 1987. [NZ & P 301.412099612 S63]
- Tupouniua, Penisimani. Persistence and change a study of a village in Tonga. Thesis (MA--Anthropology)--University of Auckland, 1970. [THESIS 71-06]
- Tupouniua, Penisimani. A Polynesian village : the process of change in the village of Hoi, Tonga. Suva : South Pacific Social Sciences Association, 1977. [NZ & P 301.35099612 T92]
Cook Islands
- Baddeley, Josephine Gail. Rarotongan society : the creation of tradition. Thesis (PhD--Anthropology)--University of Auckland, 1978. [MICROFILM 80-116]
- Baltaxe, James Bernard. The transformation of the Rangatira : a case of the European reinterpretation of Rarotongan social organization. Thesis (PhD--Anthropology)--University of Illinois, 1975. [NZ & P 572.99623 B19]
- Beaglehole, Ernest. Islands of danger. Wellington, [N.Z.] : Progressive Publishing Society, 1944. [NZ & P 919.624 B36] Pukapuka Island
- Beaglehole, Ernest. Social change in the South Pacific : Rarotonga and Aitutaki. London : Allen and Unwin, 1957. [NZ & P 572.9935 B36]
- Beaglehole, Ernest and Pearl. Ethnology of Pukapuka. Honolulu, Hawaii : Bernice P. Bishop Museum, 1938. [NZ & P 570.74 B52 150]
- Borofsky, Robert. Making history : Pukapukan and anthropological constructions of knowledge. Cambridge [Cambridgeshire] ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1987. [NZ & P 572.99623 B73]
- Buck, Peter H. Ethnology of Manihiki and Rakahanga. Honolulu, Hawaii : Bernice P. Bishop museum, 1932. [NZ& P 570.74 B52 99]
- Buck, Peter H. Ethnology of Tongareva. Honolulu, Hawaii : Bernice P. Bishop museum, 1932. [NZ & P 570.74 B52 92] Penrhyn Island.
- Buck, Peter H. Mangaian Society. Honolulu : Bernice P. Bishop Museum, 1934. [NZ & P 570.74 B52 122]
- Buck, Peter H. The material culture of the Cook islands (Aitutaki) . New Plymouth, N.Z. : Printed by T. Avery & Sons, Ltd., 1927. [NZ & P 572.99623 B92]
- Campbell, A.R.T. Social relations in ancient Tongareva. Honolulu, Hawai'i : Dept. of Anthropology, Bernice P. Bishop Museum, c1985. [NZ & P 572.99 B528 36]
- Frisbie, Robert Dean. The book of Puka-Puka. London [England] : John Murray, 1930. [NZ & P 919.624 F91b]
- Kautai, Ngatupuna et al. Atiu : an island community. [Suva] : Published by the Institute of Pacific Studies of the University of the South Pacific in association with the Cook Islands Ministry of Education and the Atiu Island Trust, 1984. [NZ & P 301.299623 A87]
- Kautai, Ngatupuna. Atiu, e enua e tona iti tangata. [Suva, Fiji] : Institute of Pacific Studies, 1993. [NZ & P 301.299623 A87Y]
- Lamont, E.H. Wild life among the Pacific islanders. Rarotonga ; Suva : Institute of Pacific Studies, University of the South Pacific, 1994. [NZ & P 919 L23 1994] Penrhyn Island. First published 1867.
- Siikala, Jukka. 'Akatokamanava : myth, history and society in the Southern Cook Islands. Auckland, N.Z. ; Helsinki [Finland] : Polynesian Society in association with the Finnish Anthropological Society, 1991. [NZ & P 572.99623 S58]
- Stephenson, Rebecca A. Perception of environment in anthropology : Atiu, southern Cook Group : a case study. Dissertation (PhD)--University of Oregon, 1976. [MICROFICHE 97-612]
Tokelau Islands
- Huntsman, Judith & Antony Hooper. Tokelau : a historical ethnography. Auckland [N.Z.] : Auckland University Press, 1996. [NZ & P 996.15 H95]
- Macgregor, Gordon. Ethnology of Tokelau Islands. Honolulu : Bernice P. Bishop Musuem, 1937. [NZ & P 570.74 B52 146]
- Matagi Tokelau : history and traditions of Tokelau. Apia, Western Samoa : Office for Tokelau Affairs : Suva, Fiji : Institute of Pacific Studies, University of the South Pacific, 1991. [NZ & P 996.15 M42Y And Short Loan]
Niue
- Kay, Eve T. Honoured in the observance : retention of portable customs as an affirmation of Niuean national identity, revealed through life history studies. Thesis (M.A.--Anthropology)--University of Auckland. [THESIS 90-040]
- Ryan, T.F. Narratives of encounter : the anthropology of history on Niue. Thesis (PhD--Anthropology)--University of Auckland, 1993. [THESIS 94-086]
- Smith, S.Percy. Niue : the island and its people. Suva : Institute of Pacific Studies and the Niue Extension Centre of the University of the South Pacific, 1983. [NZ & P 996.23 S66]
Fiji
- Arno, Andrew. Conflict management in a Fijian village. Thesis (PhD--Social anthropology)--Harvard University. [THESIS 76-230]
- Arno, Andrew. The world of talk on a Fijian island : an ethnography of law and communicative causation. Norwood, N.J. : Ablex Pub. Corp., c1993. [NZ & P 306.099611 A75]
- Bakker, Solrun W. [et al.] Fijians in town. Suva : Institute of Pacific Studies of the University of the South Pacific, 1986. [NZ & P 301.36099611 F47]
- Belshaw, Cyril S. Under the ivi tree : society and economic growth in rural Fiji. London : Routledge & Kegan Paul, 1964. [NZ & P 330.99611 B45]
- Deane, Wallace. Fijian society, or, the sociology and psychology of the Fijians. London : Macmillan, 1921. [NZ & P 572.99611 D28]
- Geddes, W.R. Deuba : a study of a Fijian village. Wellington : Polynesian Society Inc., 1945. [NZ & P 572.99611 G29]
- Henderson, George Cockburn. Fiji and the Fijians, 1835-1856. Sydney : Angus & Robertson, 1931. [NZ & P 919.611 H49]
- Howard, Alan. Learning to be Rotuman : enculturation in the South Pacific. New York : Teachers College Press, 1970. [[NZ & P 301.299611 H84]
- Ladefoged, Thegn. Evolutionary process in an Oceanic chiefdom : intergroup aggression and political integration in traditional Rotuman society. Thesis (Ph.D.)--University of Hawai'i, 1993. [MICROFICHE 96-325]
- Lee, Dorothy Sara. Music performance and the negotiation of identity in Eastern Viti Levu, Fiji [. Thesis (Ph. D.)--Indiana University, 1984. [Music Library MICROFICHE 90-143]
- Nayacakalou, R.R. Tradition and change in the Fijian village. [Suva] : South Pacific Social Sciences Association in association with the Institute of Pacific Studies, University of the South Pacific, 1978. [NZ & P 301.155099611 N33 1978] First published ?
- Parke, Aubrey L. 2003. Rotuma : custom, practice and change : an exploration of customary authorities, kinship system, customary land tenure and other rights. Canberra : Coombs Academic publishing. [NZ & P 306.089995 P23r]
- Quain, Buell Halvor. Fijian village. Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 1948. [NZ & P 572.9931 Q1]
- Ravuvu, Asesela. Fijian ethos as expressed in ceremonies. Thesis (Ph. D--Anthropology)--University of Auckland. [THESIS 86-115]
- Ravuvu, Asesela. The Fijian ethos. Suva [Fiji] : Institute of Pacific Studies, University of the South Pacific, 1987. [NZ & P 572.99611 R25]
- Roth, G.K. Fijian way of life. London, etc. : Oxford University Press, 1953. [NZ & P 919.611 R84]
- Thompson, Laura. Fijian frontier. San Francisco : American Council, Institute of Pacific Relations, 1940. [NZ & P 572.9931 T47]
- Thompson, Laura. Southern Lau, Fiji : an ethnography. Honolulu : Bernice P. Bishop Museum, 1940. [NZ & P 570.74 B52 162]
- Thomson, Basil. The Fijians : a study of the decay of custom. London : Heinemann, 1908. [NZ & P 572.99611 T48]
- Toren, Christina. Making sense of hierarchy : cognition as social process in Fiji. London [England] ; Atlantic Highlands, NJ : Athlone Press, 1990. [NZ & P 572.99611 T67]
- Toren, Christina. Symbolic space and the construction of hierarchy [microform] : an anthropological and cognitive developmental study in a Fijian village. Thesis (PhD)--London University, 1986. [MICROFILM 97-204]
- Turner, Diane Michalski. Women's ritual roles in Matailobau, Fiji Islands : the construction of gender and social life. Thesis (Ph.D)--Michigan State University, 1986. [NZ & P 572.99611 T94]
- Turner, James West. Staying together : kinship and community in Fiji. Thesis (Ph. D.)--Michigan State University, 1983. [NZ & P 572.99611 T948 ]
- Waterhouse, Joseph. The king and people of Fiji. Auckland, N.Z. : Pasifika Press, 1997. [NZ & P 996.11 W32 1997] First published 1866.
- Watters, R.F. Koro : economic development and social change in Fiji. Oxford : Clarendon P., 1969. [NZ & P 309.19611 W34]
- White, Geoffrey Miles. Kioa : an Ellice community in Fiji. [Eugene] : Dept. of Anthropology. University of Oregon, 1965 [NZ & P 572.99611 W58]

|