University of Auckland
- The Library's homepage now has a simple the Library Catalogue access point to Manuscripts & Archives held in the University of Auckland's Special Collections
- Finding Aids (inventories) to the collections have also been digitised and are linked from the the Library Catalogue records as PDF and web files
- The collection inlcudes microfilmed and photocopied archival and manuscript material. Microfilm and microfiche are in the Microtext Collection on Level G of the General Library
- Photocopies of several important collections of Maori manuscript material are held, notably 100 volumes of the Auckland City Libraries Grey MSS Collection and 30 volumes of material collected by Edward Shortland
Microfilm Collections of Manuscript and Archival Material
- Pacific
Manuscripts Bureau
- Australian
Joint Copying Project
- No online
index, refer to the Australian Joint
Copying Project handbook
Guide to microfilms of archives and manuscripts relating to Australia,
New Zealand, the Pacific, most of South East Asia, and Antarctica. Microfilm not held by the University of Auckland Library may be
obtained via Interlibrary Loan from the Alexander Turnbull Library. Project ceased in
1993
- British
Parliamentary Papers relating to New Zealand and other subjects and
Colonial Office correspondence
- For more sources of New Zealand history see:
- Maori
Land Court Minute Books
- Finding Aids:
- Māori Land Court Minute Books Index (MLCMBI) 1865-1910
Online database indexing land blocks, witnesses, hapu and whakapapa in over 1100 minute books between 1865 and 1910, from the Taitokerau, Waikato-Maniapoto, Tairawhiti, Waiariki, Aotea, Takitimu, and Waipounamu Māori Land Court Districts
- General Indexes are held for the periods 1865-1900, 1900-1962, 1962-1975. Separate volumes of the 1900-1962 index relate to each Māori Land Court district. Ask for these at the Special Collections Reception Desk.
- The University of Auckland Library holds copies (microfilm and photocopy) of minute books for the whole of New Zealand 1865-c1975

New Zealand
- The largest archive and
manuscript collections in
Auckland
are:
- There are several important collections of church archives:
National indexes and collections
- The Community Archive (formerly NRAM National Register of Archives and Manuscripts)
Holdings
of nearly 200 libraries, museums and other institutions around New
Zealand (including the University of Auckland Library, Auckland City
Libraries, Auckland War Memorial Museum, Archives New
Zealand and the Methodist Church of New Zealand
- National Library of
New Zealand
- TAPUHI
Database of the manuscripts and pictures collections of New
Zealand and Pacific material in the Alexander Turnbull Library (includes
records for drawings, prints, maps and photographs)
- Archives New Zealand
- Holds the archives of New Zealand government
- Regional offices in
Auckland, Christchurch and Dunedin hold records of government
agencies in those areas. The Wellington office holds national and
Wellington material
- The website includes research
guides
- Maori Affairs Department : series list
- Other important national
collections include the following:
Directories, Inventories and Guides

Other Countries
Australia
Pacific Islands
Other

|