| Search for references using Library databases, and import these references into EndNote. This is usually quicker and more accurate than typing them in manually.
There are three methods you can use to import reference information from databases into EndNote: Direct Exporting, using Import Filters, and using a Connection File to search the Library Catalogue.
Direct Export is the quickest and easiest method for getting references from a database into EndNote. Direct exporting is not available in all databases. To check the EndNote compatibility of a specific Library database refer to to the database 'Connect page' or the EndNote Manual. Instructions for Anthropology databases are below.
Direct Exporting from Anthropology Plus
- Connect to Anthropology Plus
- Do a keyword search
- Mark the records you want
- Click on the Export icon
- Ensure EndNote is selected and click on Export
- In the window that appears, click "Open"
- Select the EndNote library to import into
- Click “Open”
- Select the Anthropology Plus (OCLC) filter from the Filter Manager when prompted
- The references you have imported will now be displayed in EndNote. To view your complete library after importing on "All References"

Direct Exporting from Wiley InterScience (AnthroSource materials were all migrated to Wiley)
- Connect to Wiley InterScience
- Download the EndNote filter:
- Go to the Connect Page for Wiley
- Click on the EndNote Filter link : WileyInterscience.enf
- Click Save
- Save it in C:\Program Files\EndNote X4\Filters
- Do a keyword search
- Mark the records you want
- Click on Export Citation
- For Format, choose Endnote
- Choose to download either Citation or Citation and Abstract
- In the window that appears, click "Open"
- Select the Endnote Library to import into
- Click “Open”
- The references you have imported will now be displayed in EndNote. To view your complete library after importing on "All References"

Direct Exporting from JSTOR
- Connect to JSTOR
- After searching, mark the records you want
- Click on Export Citation
- Click on RIS
- Click on Open
- Open the EndNote Library
 Direct Exporting from Web of Science
- Connect to Web of Science
- Do a keyword search
- Mark the records you want
- Scroll down to the bottom of the page to see Output Records
- Step 1: defaults to “Selected Records on page”
- Step 2: ensure you check “Full Record” ( and “plus Cited Reference” if you wish)
- Step 3: Click the EndNote icon
If the "Export" process does not start automatically, then click "Export"
- Choose the existing EndNote library into which you would like to import your citations, and select "Open"
- The references you have imported will now be displayed in EndNote

Direct Exporting from Google Scholar
Each time you search Google Scholar you will need to set the direct export preferences for EndNote:
- Connect to Google Scholar (connect via database connect page)
- At the top right-hand corner, click Scholar Preferences
- Scroll down to “Bibliography Manager"
- Select "Show links to import citations into"
- In the drop down menu select "EndNote”
- Click Save Preferences
- You are returned to the Google Scholar search page, where you can enter your keywords
- Below each record, click on Import into EndNote
- In the window that appears, click on "Open"
- Choose the existing EndNote library into which you would like to import your citations, and select "Open"
- The references you have imported will now be displayed in EndNote

|