|
Finding Books
- Search the the Library Catalogue | Catalogue to find books, audiovisual material, serials (newspapers, journals, magazines) held in the University of Auckland library system.
- the Library Catalogue uses Library of Congress Subject Headings.
- Subject headings are standardised terms or terminology that represent the major content of a particular work and can help increase the relevancy of your search results. Search for specific subject headings, or search for keywords in the Subject Heading field. the Library Catalogue, Te Puna, and Anthropology Plus use Library of Congress Subject Headings.
- A complete list of Library of Congress Subject Headings is available in the General Library.
- Selected Library of Congress Subject Headings are listed below. Many have geographical subheadings (ie. names of countries, regions, towns or ethnic groups).

General Introductions
Macdonald, Sharon (ed.). 2006. A companion to museum studies.
Malden: Blackwell.
the Library Catalogue
Corsane, Gerard (ed.) 2005. Heritage, museums and galleries: An
introductory reader. London ; New York : Routledge.
the Library Catalogue
Carbonell, Bettina Messias (ed.) 2004. Museum studies: An
anthology of contexts. Malden, MA : Blackwell.
the Library Catalogue
Marstine Janet, 2006. New museum theory and practice: An
introduction. Malden, MA : Blackwell.
the Library Catalogue

Finding Journal Articles
International Databases
- JSTOR
Includes the full text, of all except the recent volumes, of 23
anthropology journals, and 46 sociology
journals, back to their first issues. Does not include volumes from
the last 5 years or so. Results can be sorted by date or relevance. JSTOR pages are also indexed by Google Scholar. JSTOR
Anthropology titles.
- AnthroSource
Provides cross-searchable PDF files of all American Anthropological
Association journals and newsletters, including the most recent issues. Links to JSTOR for older issues. Results
can be sorted by date or relevance.
Click on Advanced Search (top right). Search All for words in
the full-text of articles.
AnthroSource pages are also indexed by Google Scholar.
-
Anthropology
Plus 19th century -
Anthropology Plus indexes journal articles and edited books in
anthropology and archaeology. It has more than 800,000 records and is a key
index for Anthropology. Uses modified Library of Congress (LC) subject
headings but has no abstracts.
Sociological
Abstracts 1963- Abstracts from 1974.
- Indexes over 2,600 journals plus
conference papers, books, dissertations, and web sites. Covers social anthropology but not
archaeology or biological anthropology. Lengthy abstracts.
-
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary citation databases comprising Science
Citation Index (1900-) Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-)
and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-) These databases
find later works which cite a particular earlier book or journal article
in their list of references. They are useful for tracing the development
of themes and ideas backwards and forwards in time. They will display "related" works (works citing one or more of the same earlier sources in their lists
of references). They are large databases and can also be used for author,
title and subject searching.
-
Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts 1955-
Abstracts literature on the preservation and conservation of material
cultural heritage
-
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences 1951-
Covers social science journal articles, books and book chapters.
Abstracts from 1997 on. Social anthropology only.
New Zealand, Pacific and Australia
- Index
New Zealand INNZ Indexes New Zealand and Pacific journals, magazines and some newspaper articles (1987-). For 1941-1986 see the print Index to New Zealand periodicals.
-
NZ Science
Coverage includes NZ archaeology, biological anthropology and related
sciences.
DSIR and CRI scientists' publications, NIWA and Landcare material.
Records include abstracts. Covers articles, papers, published books,
theses, reports.
- Hawaii Pacific
Journal Index
From the University of Hawaii at Manoa, indexes over 50 titles, including
the Journal of the Polynesian Society back to 1892.
- Informit Database Collection
A suite of more than 80 Australian bibliographic databases, including including:
APAIS - Australian Public Affairs Information Service
AHRR - Australian Historic Records Register
Australian Heritage Bibliography (natural and cultural environment)
Australian Heritage Bibliography - ATSIS (Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples)
FAMILY: Australian Family & Society Abstracts
FAMILY- ATSIS (Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander subset)
EVA - Environmental Abstracts
Indigenous Australia
MAIS-ATSIS (multicultural Australia and immigration studies)

Review Essays
- Annual
review of Anthropology
This
journal specializes in review essays discussing recent research in different
areas and listing hundreds of references (Full-text from 1972-). A good place to start if you can
find an essay in your topic area.
Example essays:

Museum Journals
There are also many relevant articles in general Anthropology journals.
New Zealand, Australia and the Pacific
International
Not held at the University of Auckland
- Archives and Museum Informatics. Kluwer Online [Not held
AU] Website at
http://www.kluweronline.com/issn/1042-1467/contents gives tables of
contents.
- Interpretation. Association for Heritage Interpretation.
Selected articles online at
http://www.heritage-interpretation.org.uk/jouridx.html
- Journal of Museum Education. [Washington, D.C. : Museum
Education Roundtable, 1985-. [Not held AU]
- Journal of Museum Ethnography. Hull, England : Museum
Ethnographers Group, 1989-. [Not held AU]
- Museum Abstracts. Edinburgh : Scottish Museums Council.
1984- [Not held AU]
- Museum Practice. London, Museums Association
Website
-
Museums Journal. London, Museums Association [etc.] [OCS Vol. 60
(1961)-v. 74 (1974-75); v. 76 (1976)-v. 81 (1981/82)]
Website
- Preservation
National Trust for Historic Preservation

Museum Websites
New Zealand
Other
Software
Government
Agencies
New Zealand
Other
Associations
Legislation

|