Anthropology & Archaeology Databases


Anthropology & Archaeology

Book Review Databases
Anthropology Subject Librarian
New Zealand, Pacific and Australian University of Auckland ResearchSpace 
Historical  
Related Disciplines   

Multidisciplinary

 

Anthropology & Archaeology
 
Anthropology Plus
A key index, Anthropology Plus indexes journal articles and edited books in anthropology and archaeology (19th century-). It has more than 800,000 records and uses modified Library of Congress (LC) subject headings (but has no abstracts). Includes the former Anthropological Literature and Anthropological Index Online databases.
JSTOR
A fulltext archive of scholarly journal literature, including key anthropology and other social science journals, back to their first issues. Does not include current or recent journal issues from the last 3-7 years. JSTOR pages are also indexed by Google Scholar. Anthropology journals in JSTOR.

AnthroSource
Keyword-searchable database providing cross-searchable PDF files of all American Anthropological Association journals and newsletters (such as American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Cultural Anthropology). Includes the most recent issues. Links to JSTOR for older issues. AnthroSource is also searched by Google Scholar.

Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts
Abstracts literature on the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage. Coverage 1955-

Anthropology Photographic Archive

Over 5000 social anthropology and archaeology photographs from New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Western Samoa, Solomon Islands and Tokelau. Images are from the Department of Anthropology Photographic Archive, The University of Auckland.

eHRAF World Cultures
A full-text online database (formerly eHRAF Collection of Ethnography) includes fulltext books and articles. Describes information on every aspect of cultural and social life.
eHRAF Archaeology
A full-text online database providing archaeological data for comparative studies within and across regions. Selected sources on a representative range of prehistoric societies, indexed at the paragraph level. 

Ethnographic Video Online
A searchable video collection for the study of human culture and behaviour. Historical coverage ranges from the early work of Robert Flaherty in 1922 to the most current anthropological films from different regions of the world.
Thematic areas include: language and culture, kinesthetics, body language, food and foraging, cooking, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, male and female roles, kinship and families, political organization, conflict and conflict resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, and sex, gender, and family roles.

Google Scholar
Searches scholarly literature from AnthroSource, Project Muse, JSTOR, publishers and academic websites. Also searches academic websites and full-text Google Print books. Connect via the Library's Database page to access full text material to which the University Library subscribes. Be aware that Google Scholar is not comprehensive and many publishers are not searched. Search results are ranked by various criteria including how often the work has been cited in other scholarly works. This means there is a bias towards older, heavily-cited, seminal works rather than the latest publications. Many full-text publishers are not searched by Google Scholar.
Multidisciplinary database comprising Science Citation Index (1900-) Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-) and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-).Search one, or all indexes. You may search for journal items by the references that they cite (including books or chapters in books). This type of searching often locates relevant articles that cannot be retrieved through traditional subject/author searching. An important tool for tracing the published responses of scientists & scholars to the work of their peers. Good for biological anthropology.
 


New Zealand, Pacific and Australian
 
Archsite
The database is an ongoing project of digital archaeological site reports carried out by New Zealand Archaeological Association, in partnership with the New Zealand Historic Places Trust and the Department of Conservation. It incorporates GIS technology to manage and display New Zealand archaeological site information on maps. You can search for sites in particular locations using the interactive map and retrieve relevant geographical and archaeological information. It is a live stream database, displaying data as they are entered into the database, including site assessments which have not been written into final reports yet.
Index New Zealand (INNZ)
Indexes New Zealand and Pacific journals, magazines and some newspaper articles (1987-). For 1941-1986 see the print Index to New Zealand periodicals
FindNZArticles
Articles and book chapters from Index New Zealand and other indexes.
Newztext Plus
Full-text of NZ newspapers, Radio NZ wires and industry and magazines (from 1995-). The same newspapers are part of the international Factiva database. 
Hansard
Hansard gives access to debates in the New Zealand House of Representatives from 1987 onwards. You may search and view the transcripts of the debates.
Hawaii Pacific Journal Index
From the University of Hawaii at Manoa, indexes over 50 titles, inlcuding a number of important Pacific magazines not indexed elsewhere (Matangi Tonga, Islands Business, Pacific Islands Monthly). Indexes the Journal of the Polynesian Society back to 1892. However, has no subject headings. 
NZ Science
Coverage includes NIWA and Landcare material, NZ archaeology, biological anthropology and related sciences.

Informit Database Collection
A suite of more than 80 Australian bibliographic databases, including including:

APAIS - Australian Public Affairs Information Service
AHRR - Australian Historic Records Register
Australian Heritage Bibliography (natural and cultural environment)
Australian Heritage Bibliography - ATSIS (Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples)
FAMILY: Australian Family & Society Abstracts
FAMILY- ATSIS (Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander subset)
EVA - Environmental Abstracts
Indigenous Australia
MAIS-ATSIS (multicultural Australia and immigration studies)

Te Puna
New Zealand and overseas books, reports and theses, with links to New Zealand holding libraries
See also
New Zealand and Pacific Databases

New Zealand and Pacific Digital
 


Historical

 

Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective

Provides citations to journal articles from a wide range of humanities and social sciences journals (1907-1984).
Cumulates: International index (and its predecessor titles), 1907-Mar. 1965; Social sciences & humanities index, Apr, 1965-Mar. 1974; Humanities index, Apr. 1974-Mar. 1984; and, Social sciences index, Apr. 1974-Mar. 1983.

Historical Abstracts
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present. 
C 19 Nineteenth Century Index
Integrated access to various finding aids for books, periodicals, official publications, newspapers and archives. Includes the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals 1824-1900, Palmer's Index to the Times, Parliamentary Papers, Nineteenth Century Masterfile Series, Periodicals Index Online.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online

Searchable, fulltext database of material published in the United Kingdom 1701-1800. 

U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 and American State Papers, 1789-1838 
Full-text searchable database covering all reports, documents, and journals of the United States Senate and House of Representatives. It is the United States equivalent of the British Parliamentary Papers. 
Parliamentary Papers is a searchable online database which aims to provide a full-text version of all British House of Commons papers published 1801-2000 - around 9.5 million pages from over 184,000 documents. The database currently contains an index for 1801-2004, and full text for 1840-1883 and 1901-1904. The 19th century will be completed early in 2006, with the 20th century following later in the year.
See also JSTOR and Anthropology Plus
 


Related Disciplines
 
Art Full-Text
Coverage includes archaeology and museology (1978- Actual full-text 1997). Replaces Art Abstracts
ARTstor
Contains over 500,000 images for art historians, students and faculty in the humanities and related social sciences. Covers art from prehistory to the modern era.
America: History and Life
U.S. and Canadian history, culture, government, political science and current affairs (1964-)
Biological Abstracts  1980- 
Biological anthropology, evolution, human ethology etc. Some coverage of archaeology.
Bibliography of Asian Studies   1971- 
More than 410,000 records (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia.
Gender Studies Database
Combines Women's Studies International, Men's Studies, and Sexual Diversity Studies (c1972-)
GenderWatch 
Women/sexuality/gender publications from 1970.
Econlit 
Economic development, migration, socioeconomics etc (1969-)
Geobase
Indexes 2,000 journals in physical and human geography, geology, mineralogy, ecology and development studies (1980-). Farily good coverage of archaeology.
International Index to Music Periodicals
Ethnomusicology. Coverage 1874-, abstracts from 1996. 
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
Covers social science journal articles, books and book chapters (1951-, abstracts from 1997-). Social anthropology only. 
Mass Observation Online
British social history (1937-1972) from the University of Sussex. The result of three researchers engaged in social investigation, including the anthropologist Tom Harrison. Includes reports, publications, surveys, diaries, and photographs.
MLA Bibliography
Linguistics, folklore, literature (modern and traditional), ethnomusicology (1926-)
Ethnomusicology (1960-)
Medline and Embase 
Biomedical anthropology, ethnomedicine etc
Periodicals Archive Online
600 journals and over a million articles
PsycINFO
Abstracts over 1,500 psychology journals as well as book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports. The major database for psychology.

Sociological Abstracts

Indexes over 2,600 social science journals plus conference papers, books, dissertations, and web sites (1963- Abstracts from 1974). Social Anthropology only. 

Social Theory
An extensive range of influential writings representing important trends of sociological thought from the eighteenth century to the present day.


Multidiscplinary
 
ADT Australasian Digital Theses Program
Citations to 130,000 Australian and New Zealand theses, with 9,000 available in full-text
Bibliographic Index Plus
Indexing of 450,000 bibliographies in books and articles, plus 136,000 in full-text.
Book Review Digest Retrospective
An index of reviews, and descriptive summaries of the books and excerpts from reviews (1905-1982).
Current Contents  
Indexes table of contents pages from approximately 7,000 science, social sciences, medical, arts and humanities journals (1995-). About two thirds include abstracts.
Directory of Published Proceedings
Covers conferences, meetings and symposia and includes a directory of future conferences and meetings called MInd (2005-).
Expanded Academic
Multidisciplinary full-text and indexing database of academic journals, magazines and newspapers (indexing 1989- and full text 1992-).  Includes a number of core anthropology journals. Anthropology journal titles searchable in Expanded Academic.
EBSCO
A set of 19 databases - mostly full-text periodical collections. Includes Academic Search Premier, with 3,956 full-text journals.
Index to theses
Universities in Great Britain and Ireland. From 1716. Abstracts from 1970.
ISI Proceedings
1990-  International conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. 
Project Muse
Large multidisciplinary database of full-text scholarly journals, including Anthropology Quarterly and Ethnohistory.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
Formerly Digital Dissertations. Index of 2.5 million doctoral dissertations and masters' theses from universities worldwide, especially from North America. Indexed from 1861, abstracts from 1980, and 750,000 full-text theses from 1996.
ProQuest 5000
Multidisciplinary serials database with 3500 full-text titles and 3500 titles with indexing records. Includes a number of core anthropology journals. Indexing from the 1980s and full-text mostly from the 1990s. Anthropology journal titles searchable in ProQuest.
Multidisciplinary database comprising Science Citation Index (1900-) Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-) and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-). Search one, or all indexes. You may search for journal items by the references that they cite (including books or chapters in books). This type of searching often locates relevant articles that cannot be retrieved through traditional subject/author searching. An important tool for tracing the published responses of scientists & scholars to the work of their peers. Good for biological anthropology.
See also,
Interdisciplinary databases
 


Last updated: July 6, 2010