Research & topic guides


These guides suggest databases and websites as useful starting places for researching certain topics.The Student Learning Centre has a number of useful guides on methodologies. These include tests and exams, memory and thinking skills, time management, how to write reports and essays, note taking and team work.



Research & topic guides by subject 
   
Order by A - Z 

Arts
Archival and manuscript sources
Development IGOs and NGOs
Elections: NZ & USA
Guide to book reviews in the Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences
Newspapers & news sites
Philosophy reference sources 'Look it up and get started'
Political science reference resources
Public policy
Starting research: A guide for research assistants
Sociology library resources

Business & Economics 
Academic & popular journals: What is the difference & finding them
ACC research
Anti-consumption
Automobile industry
Business case studies. What are they; how to find them; how to write them
Business incubators
Business information skills online
Business plans
Business presentations
Business process reengineering
Business quick reference
Companies: International
Companies: New Zealand
Competitive intelligence
Corporate governance
Country information
Employment relations in New Zealand
Energy industry
Entrepreneurship
Finding New Zealand business magazines and newspapers in the Library
Foreign Direct Investment
Globalisation
Māori business resources
Media: News sources
New Zealand economy
New Zealand industry and product information
New Zealand legal resources for business students
Pasifika business
Patents
Patent and standards information
Pensions research
Public policy
Qualitative research
Research Commercialisation
Seafood Industry
Situation, Industry and Environmental Analyses
Spark Entrepreneurship
Supply chain management
Teaching resources for business educators
Technology entrepreneurship
Trade and tariff
Venture capital
Wine industry in New Zealand

Citing & Referencing
Citing electronic and print resources using the APA style for the Faculty of Business and Economics
Referen©ite
Referencing styles recommend by the Science Departments
Referencing for Biological Sciences using the APA referencing style
Vancouver style referencing guide

Citations - cited by
Citation analysis and research impact
H-index and impact factors
Measuring and evaluating science research output
Searching for your citations and journal impact factors
Who is citing whom

Companies
Case studies: What are they; how to find them; how to write them 
Companies: New Zealand
Companies: International
Competitive intelligence

Education
Arts education
Book reviews: Guide to book reviews in the Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences
Evidence based social work practice
Evaluating research journals
Health & physical education
Language and languages education
Māori education
Mathematics education
Pasifika education
Science education
Social work
Special education
Technology education
Teaching
Youth studies

Faculty online library tutorials
Business information skills online
Medical and Health Sciences information skills online
Pacific research and study skills online
Science information skills for Biological Sciences and Marine Science

Full text
Finding full text articles from a reading list

General
Conferences and conference proceedings, Finding
Country information
Globalisation
Open access information

History
British historical sources
International history
Medieval history resources
New Zealand history
New Zealand historical maps
Pacific history

How to...  
Compiling an annotated bibliography
Evaluating websites
Finding full text articles from a reading list
Interpreting references
Staying current

Impact factors - see Journals

Industry
Automobile industry
Energy Industry
New Zealand industry and product information
New Zealand wine: Bibliography of the geography of New Zealand wine
Patents
Seafood Industry
Situation, Industry and Environmental Analyses
Wine industry in New Zealand

Information literacy
Information literacy: Postgraduates

Journals including impact factors
Academic & popular journals: What's the difference & finding them
Finding NZ business magazines and newspapers in the Library
Citation analysis and research impact
H-index and impact factors
Journal impact factors guide
Journal ranking for biological and marine sciences
Measuring and evaluating science research output
Primary, review and popular journals with a focus on science journals
Searching for your citations and journal impact factors

Law
Legal reference
New Zealand legal resources for business students

Library
Glossary of library terms

Literature searching - See Research process

Māori
Mana Whenua: traditional Māori land and sea tenure: A bibliography
Māori business research
Māori education
Māori Land
Māori Literature
Māori Material Culture
Tirohanga Māori: Māori Views and Perspectives
Waitangi: Treaty and Tribunal
Whakapapa

Maps
New Zealand historical maps

Medical and Health Sciences
Medical and Health Sciences information skills online
Pacific health
Pharmacy & pharmacology

New Zealand
Auckland 1995 to today
Companies: New Zealand
Employment relations in New Zealand
Energy Industry
Finding statistics about New Zealand
New Zealand databases and digital collections
New Zealand economy
New Zealand government information
New Zealand history
New Zealand historical maps
New Zealand industry and product information
New Zealand legal resources for business students
New Zealand wine: Bibliography of the geography of New Zealand wine
Newspapers & news sites
Seafood Industry
Waitangi: Treaty and Tribunal
Wine industry in New Zealand

Pacific
Pacific health
Pacific history
Pacific research and study skills online
Pacific research resources
Pasifika business research
Pasifika education

Patents
Patent and standards information
Patents

PBRF - see also Journals
A helping hand with your evidence portfolio
PBRF - Quick guide to resources and information
PBRF for the Faculty of Medical & Health Sciences

Reading list
Finding full text articles from a reading list
Understanding your reading list

Research process
Business research: The research strategy
Five steps to success The research process
Literature searching: Extending your search skills
Literature searching: Getting started
Medical and Health Sciences information skills online
Pacific research and study skills online
Science information skills for BiologicalSciences and Marine Science
Starting research: A guide for research assistants
Staying current

Science
Auckland 1995-2009
Automobile industry
Bibliography: Geography of New Zealand wine
Entomology theses at the University of Auckland
Forensic science theses at the University of Auckland
Related forensic science theses at the University of Auckland
Forensic science programme publications at the University of Auckland
Introduction to research in computer science
Journal ranking for biological and marine sciences
Marine science theses at the University of Auckland
Measuring and evaluating science research output
Patent and standards information
Patents
Psychology library resources
Psychological tests: A Library guide
Science information skills for Biological Sciences and Marine Science
Theses in the School of Geography, Geology, and Environmental Science at the University of Auckland

Statistics
Finding statistics about New Zealand
Brief guide to statistical data

Theses and dissertations
Entomology theses at the University of Auckland
Forensic science theses at the University of Auckland
Related forensic science theses at the University of Auckland
Literature searching: Finding theses
Marine science theses at the University of Auckland
Theses in the School of Geography, Geology, and Environmental Science at the University of Auckland

Theses and dissertations: How to find them

File updated: January 31, 2012