Research & topic guides


These guides suggest databases and websites as starting places for researching certain topics. The Student Learning Centre has a number of useful guides on methodologies. These include tests and exams, memory and thinking skills, time management, how to write reports and essays, note taking and team work.
 


Research & topic guides A - Z  

Order by subject

A
Academic & popular journals: what is the difference & finding them
ACC research
Anti-consumption
Annotated bibliography: Compiling an annotated bibliography
APA referencing - Business examples: Citing electronic and print resources using the APA style
APA referencing - Science examples: Referencing for Biological Sciences
Archival and manuscript sources
Arts education
Auckland 1995 to today
Automobile industry

B
Bibliographies: Compiling an annotated bibliography
Bibliography: Geography of New Zealand wine
Book reviews: Guide to book reviews in the Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences
Boolean: Combining keywords
British historical sources
Business case studies. What are they; how to find them; how to write them
Business incubators
Business information skills online
Business plans
Business presentations
Business process reengineering
Business quick reference
Business research, Māori
Business research, Pasifika
Business research: The research strategy

C  
Citation analysis and research impact
Citation styles: Vancouver style referencing guide
Citation styles: APA: Citing electronic and print resources using the APA style (Business) 
Citation styles: APA: Referencing for Biological Sciences
Citing: Who is citing whom
Company information: New Zealand
Company information: International
Competitive intelligence
Compiling an annotated bibliography
Conferences and conference proceedings, Finding
Corporate governance
Country information
Current state of the New Zealand economy

D
Development IGOs and NGOs

E  
Elections: NZ & USA
Employment relations in New Zealand
Energy industry
Entomology theses at the University of Auckland
Entrepreneurship
Evaluating websites
Evidence based social work practice

F
Finding NZ business magazines and newspapers in the Library
Finding statistics about New Zealand
Five steps to success: The research process
Foreign Direct Investment
Forensic Science Theses at the University of Auckland
Related Forensic Science Theses at the University of Auckland
Forensic Science Programme Publications at the University of Auckland

G
Geography of New Zealand wine
Globalisation
Glossary of library terms
Guide to book reviews in the Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences


H-index and impact factors
Health & physical education

I
IGOs: Development IGOs and NGOs
Information literacy online resources for postgraduates
International history
Introduction to research in computer science

J
Journal ranking for biological and marine sciences


Language and languages education
Leadership
Legal reference
Literature searching: Extending your search skills
Literature searching: Getting started

M
Mana Whenua: Traditional Māori land and sea tenure: A bibliography
Māori business research
Māori education
Māori land
Māori literature
Māori material culture
Marine science theses at the University of Auckland
Mathematics education
Measuring and evaluating science research output
Media: News sources
Medical and Health Sciences information skills online
Medieval history resources

N
NGOs: Development IGOs and NGOs
New Zealand business magazines:Finding NZ business magazines and newspapers in the Library
New Zealand company information
New Zealand databases and digital collections
New Zealand economy
New Zealand employment relations
New Zealand energy industry
New Zealand government information
New Zealand history
New Zealand historical maps
New Zealand industry and product information
New Zealand legal resources for business students
New Zealand statistics: Finding statistics about New Zealand
New Zealand wine industry
New Zealand wine: Bibliography: Geography of New Zealand wine
Newspapers & news sites

O
Open access information

P
Pacific health
Pacific history
Pacific research and study skills online
Pacific research resources
Pasifika business research
Pasifika education
Patent and standards information
Patents
Patent and standards information
PBRF: Quick guide to resources and information
Pensions research
Pharmacy & pharmacology
Philosophy reference sources: Look it up and get started
Political science reference resources
Popular and academic journals in business
Primary, review and popular journals with a focus on science journals
Psychological tests: A Library guide
Public policy

Q
Qualitative research

R
Reading list, Understanding your
Reference styles used in the University of Auckland
Referen©ite
Referencing for Biological Sciences using the APA referencing style
Referencing styles recommend by the Science Departments
Research: Starting research: A guide for research assistants
Research Commercialisation
Research process: Five steps to success

S
Science education
Science information skills for Biological Sciences and Marine Science
Seafood Industry Study
Situation, Industry and Environmental Analyses
Social work
Sociology library resources
Spark Entrepreneurship
Special education
Starting research: A guide for research assistants
Statistics: Brief guide to statistical data
Statistics: Finding statistics about New Zealand
Staying current
Supply chain management

T
Teaching
Technology education
Technology entrepreneurship
Theses: Forensic Science Theses at the University of Auckland
Theses: Related Forensic Science Theses at the University of Auckland
Theses: Marine science theses at the University of Auckland
Theses and dissertations: How to find them
Theses in the School of Geography, Geology, and Environmental Science at the University of Auckland
Tirohanga Māori: Māori Views and Perspectives
Trade and tariff

V
Vancouver style referencing guide
Venture capital

W
Waitangi: Treaty and Tribunal
Whakapapa
Wine industry in New Zealand

Y
Youth studies

Find out more about:

 


a.wilson@auckland.ac.nz
File updated: January 31, 2012