Standards

Databases

Full text databases provided by the University Library:

Additional

The following websites allow you to search for, and in some cases purchase, more international standards:

Search for standards on specific subjects:

  • AHRI standards
    Covers The Air-Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute (AHRI) standards and guidelines.
  • AIAA Standards 
    Provides access to American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) standards on aerospace technology, engineering, and science.
  • AIIM Standards
    Covers Association for Information & Image Management International (AIIM) standards related to imaging, document management, storage technologies and Enterprise Content Management (ECM).
  • AMCA Standards
    Covers Air Movement and Control Association International, Inc. (AMCA) standards and publications related to air movement and air control devices.
  • ASA standards
    Covers Acoustical Society of America (ASA) standards related to acoustics and vibration.
  • ASHRAE standards
    Covers American Society of Heating, Refrigerating, and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) standards in different areas.
  • ASME standards
    Covers American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) standards in differenct topics.
  • JEDEC semiconductor standards
    Covers global standards of Joint Electron Device Engineering Council (JEDEC) for the microelectronics industry.
  • NASA technical standards program
    Provides access to National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) standards and specifications.

Standards are documented agreements containing technical specifications or other precise criteria to be used consistently as rules, guidelines, or definitions of characteristics, to ensure that materials, products, processes and services are fit for their purpose.

Useful books about standards:

How to reference standards

Referencing standards using APA 6th style:

Format:
Name of authorising organisation (Publication year). Standards number and Title of the standard. Publisher. Place of publication.

Example:
British Standards Institute. (2010). BS ISO 690:2010 Information and documentation. Guidelines for bibliographic references and citations to information resources. British Standards Institute. London.

Guides to referencing different types of standards, with format and examples provided:

Support

  • Referencing
    Access a range of tools and support material to assist in your referencing work.

Examples

  • Quick©ite
    Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
    Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.

Last updated : 18 September 2014