Search for scores by keywords in the library Catalogue.
If you can’t find the score you want, try using:
- Classical Scores Library
Access to 25,000 classical scores digitized from editions either in-copyright or in the public domain. Both major and less-known composers are represented. The database includes important material from Boosey and Hawkes. Coverage includes full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions of pieces. Scores can be downloaded or printed.
- Naxos Sheet Music
Music scores provided by Naxos Music Library in association with OnlineSheetMusic.com (formerly FreeHandMusic), a digital sheet music store. It includes over 45,000 digitized titles in all classical genres, and includes arrangements and performance parts. Some scores are able to be transposed. All scores can be printed.
The International Music Score Library Project holds more than 250,000 digitized scores from around the world, including from such important collections as the Bibliotheque Nationale and the Eastman School of Music. All available scores are in the public domain in New Zealand and can be downloaded and printed.
- Choral Public Domain Library
Also known as the Choral Wiki, the CPDL holds more than 17,000 free choral and vocal scores, texts and translations. There are many excellent editions, including nearly complete vocal works by William Byrd and Tomás Luis de Victoria.
- IPA Source
Includes International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of 1,200 opera arias and 6,000 art song texts.
- Mozart Complete Works Edition (Neue Mozart-Ausgabe)
The NMA is the complete edition of all of Mozart’s works posted in digital form by Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum.
- Beethovenhaus Bonn. Digital Archives
Contains the collections of the Beethoven-Haus including music manuscripts, first editions, letters and pictures and many recordings.
- The Chopin Edition
The Chopin collection at the University of Chicago Library includes over 400 first and early printed editions of musical compositions by Frédéric Chopin.
- Other digital collections
Guide to composer-specific collections, University of Michigan Library
- Choral and orchestral sets may be borrowed for the same period as single scores.
- Naxos Music Library
Streaming more than 1.3 million tracks, including the complete Naxos catalogue, as well as recordings from major record labels such as EMI Classics, Teldec and Erato. The New Zealand Rattle and Atoll labels are also represented. Naxos covers mainly classical music, but also many historical recordings, as well as jazz, world, and folk music. Many recordings also include notes on the works being played. Class playlists are provided for many School of Music courses – they can be streamed on a computer or mobile device but not downloaded.
The Music and Dance Library has two collections of recordings, including CDs, LPs and cassettes, which are available for listening to in the library and/or borrowing:
- Listening Room Collection
Primarily a teaching and research collection, the Listening Room holds about 7,000 CDs, LPs and cassettes. All items are available for 2 hour loan, for library use only. Can also be borrowed for teaching purposes for 7 days, with 1 renewal.
- Lending CDs
Mainly a general study collection, with about 4,000 lending CDs. All are available for a 2 week loan.
The Centre for New Zealand Music provides online access to more than 300 New Zealand concert works.
- Audio Culture
About New Zealand popular music, including access to recordngs via Spotify.
- Radio NZ
Recordings and information about both popular and concert music.
- Auckland Libraries
More than 27,000 CDs in all genres that can be borrowed for 2 weeks.
- National Library of New Zealand
More than 70,000 recordings, many of which can be borrowed by interloan.
- Archive of Māori and Pacific Music
The University of Auckland’s important ethnographic sound recording collection, focusing on music from New Zealand and the Pacific. Material can be copied for your use.
- Naxos Video Library
Over 2,700 classical music and jazz performances, ballet and opera, and music documentaries and feature films. Playlists and some librettos available.
- Classical Music in Video
1,500 high-quality videos of performances of all forms of classical music, including major orchestral performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world.
- Opera in Video
Streaming more than 250 complete operas, with multiple performances of many of them, which will allow comparison of performers and productions. Includes subtitles. Can be added to playlists for class use. Able to be accessed on mobile devices.
Listening Room collection
A teaching and research collection, the Listening Room in the Music and Dance Library, holds 1,400 videos and DVDs. All items are available for 2 hour loan, for library use only. May also be borrowed for teaching purposes for 7 days, with one renewal available.
Search for audiovisual materials in the Catalogue by keywords.
If you can’t find the video or recording you want, try using:
Results may be refined using the format limit of Audio-Visual.
School of Music referencing guide
- School of Music Referencing Guidelines (PDF)
By Dr Nancy November (2010, rev. 2013)
Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.
Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.