Fine Arts

Keyword searching

Search for keywords to find information in the library Catalogue, library databases, or on the web.

  • Use quotation marks around names or common phrases, eg, "Jim Dine" "conceptual art"
    It's the best way to find a person.

FIND

USE

information on
art genres
or movements

"conceptual art"
minimalism
postmodernism

artists

"Ralph Hotere"
"Seraphine Pick" 
exhibitions
"Cindy Sherman" interviews

Databases

As well as the Catalogue, these databases are a good place to start:

Web resources

Journals

Recent art journals are also a good resource. Find them in the Fine Arts Library new journals area or online:

Additional

Full list of library databases for Fine Arts.

Keyword searching

Search for keywords to find information in the library Catalogue, library databases, or on the web.

  • Use quotation marks around names or common phrases, eg,"Saul Bass" "graphic design"
    It's the best way to find a person.

FIND

USE

design

"graphic design"
"industrial design"
"fashion design"
"book design"
"visual communication"
"commercial art"
art design
signs symbols

designers

"Alexander Mcqueen" interviews

Databases

As well as the Catalogue, these databases are a good place to start:

Web resources

Journals

Recent art journals are also a good resource. Find them in the Fine Arts Library new journals area, the Architecture and Planning Library, or online:

Additional

Full list of library databases for Fine Arts.

Keyword searching

Search for keywords to find information in the library Catalogue, library databases, or on the web.

  • Use quotation marks around names or common phrases, eg, "Evelyn Page" "portrait painting"
    It's the best way to find a person.

FIND

USE

painting

"contemporary painting"
"landscape painting"
"portrait painting"
expressionism painting
futurism painting

painters

"Gerhard Richter"
"Bill Hammond" exhibitions
"Saskia Leek" interviews

Databases

As well as the Catalogue, these databases are a good place to start:

Web resources

Journals

Recent contemporary art journals are a good resource for finding information on painters or painting. Find them in the Fine Arts Library new journals area, or online:

Additional

Full list of library databases for Fine Arts.

Keyword searching

Search for keywords to find information in the library Catalogue, library databases, or on the web.

  • Use quotation marks around names or common phrases, eg, "Marilyn Webb" "intaglio printing"
    It's the best way to find a person.

FIND

USE

printmaking

printmaking
prints
engraving
lithography
screenprint
woodcut
prints technique
"intaglio printing"

printmakers

printmakers
"Anthony Davies" exhibitions

Databases

As well as the Catalogue, these databases are a good place to start:

Web resources

Journals

Recent art journals are also a good resource. Find them in the Fine Arts Library new journals area or online:

Additional

Full list of library databases for Fine Arts.

Keyword searching

Search for keywords to find information in the library Catalogue, library databases, or on the web.

  • Use quotation marks around names or common phrases, eg, "Fiona Pardington" "portrait photography"
    It's the best way to find a person.

FIND

USE

photography

photography artistic
photography techniques
photography philosophy
photography digital techniques
photographic criticism
"portrait photography"

photographers

photographers
women photographers
"Peter Peryer" exhibitions
"Marti Friedlander" interviews

Databases

As well as the Catalogue, these databases are a good place to start:

Web resources

Journals

Recent art journals are also a good resource. Find them in the Fine Arts Library new journals area or online: 

Additional

Full list of library databases for Fine Arts.

Keyword searching

Search for keywords to find information in the library Catalogue, library databases, or on the web.

  • Use quotation marks around names or common phrases, eg, "Len Lye" "public sculpture"
    It's the best way to find a person.

FIND

USE

sculpture

sculpture
sculpture kinetic
sculpture modern
sculpture technique
sculpture materials
"public sculpture"

sculptors

"Paul Dibble"
"Len Lye" exhibitions
"Anish Kapoor" interviews

Databases

As well as the Catalogue, these databases are a good place to start:

Web resources

  • e-flux
  • material|resource
    Although aimed at art librarians, this website links to a wealth of information about materials and material properties. Try the industry link for information on specific materials of use in creating and building structures.

Journals

Recent art journals are also a good resource. Find them in the Fine Arts Library new journals area or online:

Additional

Full list of library databases for Fine Arts.

Time-based art is artwork that includes video, film, slide, audio, or computer-based technologies which unfold to the viewer over time.

Keyword searching

Search for keywords to find information in the library Catalogue, library databases, or on the web.

  • Use quotation marks around names or common phrases, eg, "Marina Abramovic" "performance art"
    It's the best way to find a person.

FIND

USE

time-based art

art music
experimental films
"computer art"
"digital art"
"installation art"
"interactive art"
"performance art"
"video art"

  • Time-based art is an extensive subject area with new terminology constantly being added to the field.
  • More search tips

Web resources

Journals

Recent art journals are also a good resource. Find them in the Fine Arts Library new journals area or online:

Additional

Full list of library databases for Fine Arts.

Keyword searching

Use a truncation symbol (*, $, or ?) to find all versions of a word.

  • eg, postmodern* will find postmodern, postmodernism, postmodernist etc.

Search strategy

  • Think about different keywords to describe your topic, eg, digital artcomputer art
    You may need to repeat your search using different keyword variations.
  • Use Oxford Art Online to help find or define art terms.

Building on your research

Use a literature-searching strategy that builds on information you already have. Start with a relevant book or article and try some of the following:

  • Look at the reference list or bibliography for more material.
  • Take note of the words used in the text of your book or article. They may provide useful new search terms to use when searching for more literature.
  • Find your book or article in the library Catalogue or databases. Use the subject headings listed in the details section of Catalogue or database records to find similar material.
  • Look up other works by the author(s).
  • Search for your book or article on Google Scholar to find other researchers who have cited the author in their research.

Additional help

Support

  • Referencing
    Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.

Examples

  • Quick©ite
    Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
    Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.


Last updated : 11 January 2016
Creative Commons License CC BY 4.0 Tautohu Matatiki 4.0 ā-Ao