Pacific business

Top of page

Journals

Top of page

Theses and dissertations

  • Theses and dissertations 
    Search for University of Auckland theses, and for theses and dissertations from universities throughout New Zealand and the world.
  • Union List of Higher Degree Theses
    An annual print bibliography of New Zealand theses with coverage from 1910 onwards. Available from the New Zealand and Pacific Collection on Level G of the General Library, call number 013.37895 U581.
  • Bibliographic index of Pacific theses in New Zealand universities
    Provides a list of theses to 2009.

Top of page

Business directories

Top of page

Economic overviews | Country information | Market intelligence | Trade and investment

Economic overviews

  • Business Source Premier 
    Contains Pacific Islands country reports from the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) in London, examining and explaining the issues shaping countries: the political scene, economic policy, domestic economy, sectoral trends, and foreign trade and payments.
  • EIU Viewswire 
    Part of ABI/Inform, provides brief overviews for countries. General topics covered include business, economy, politics, finance, regulations and risk wire.
  • Factiva 
    Contains company profiles and news articles from the Asia Pacific region. Tip: change the search interface from the default Free Text Search to Search Form to build searches and limit to the Pacific Islands region if desired.

Top of page

Country information

Top of page

Market intelligence

  • Passport GMID  
    Provides basic details about the geography, political situation and current business trends in each country. Tip: select the option Countries & Consumers in the Find Analysis box on the landing page.
  • OFFSTATS
    Official statistics on the web, with links to government statistics for Pacific Island countries.
  • Business Monitor International
    Use a keyword search for Pacific Islands or individual countries.

Top of page

Trade and investment

General 

Development banks and finance ministries

Development banks of each Pacific Island country contain substantial trade and investment information. 

Ministries of Finance are also primary sources of business and economic information on Pacific Island countries (eg, Western Samoa).

American Samoa

Cook Islands 

Fiji 

Samoa 

Solomon Islands

Tonga

Vanuatu

Top of page

Search tips | Company reports and profiles | Setting up a business in the Pacific | Financial information | Investment | Ownership | Taxation | Pacific law

Search tips

  • Company information can be sourced from a variety of places so you may need to look at a number of resources.
  • Confidentiality or commercial sensitivity are the most likely reasons for some information being unavailable.
  • For small and most unlisted companies in the Pacific Islands information is very limited, particularly financial information.
  • Also check databases which index journals and newspapers, such as Factiva, ABI Inform or Business Source Premier
    You can often piece together information about a company by analysing information from journal and newspaper articles.
  • Try a Google search.

Company reports and company profiles

  • Mergent
    Includes annual reports in PDF from 1990 onwards. Also provides company synopsis, history, joint ventures, subsidiaries, long term debt, executives, and news.
  • Business Source Premier
    Visit Company Profiles to view a list of company names listed alphabetically, with complete reports available in PDF.

Setting up a business in the Pacific 

  • Doing Business from the World Bank contains useful guides including Starting a business in Samoa and in TongaPapua New Guinea, Fiji, Kiribati, Micronesia, and the Solomon Islands. Information includes registration and set up time needed to establish a company in a Pacific Island economy. The Law Library section covers legislative requirements. A current list of contact people and organisations is available with each guide.
  • Pacific Island Trade & Invest, an agency of the Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat, develops, grows and promotes industry and business in all 14 Pacific Island countries in export, investment, tourism and creative arts across international markets.

Top of page

Financial information

  • Datastream
    Listed companies in the Pacific region back to 1973.

Investment 

  • South Pacific Stock Exchange (SPSE)
    Currently the only licensed securities exchange in the Fiji Islands. Includes Stock Exchange Listing Rules and announcements.

Ownership 

Taxation 

  • Paying taxes
    Reports produced by PricewaterhouseCoopers and the World Bank, investigating and comparing tax regimes across 189 economies worldwide, including Pacific countries. Uses company case studies, and ranks them according to the ease of paying taxes.

Pacific law 

Send Money Pacific
Compares money transfer fees and rates, created through a joint Australian and New Zealand Government-led initiative.

Top of page

Microfinance

Searching for information on microfinance? Try the following keywords in the Catalogue:

  • Economic assistance Oceania
  • Microfinance Pacific
  • Microfinance Oceania

Microfinance initiatives

Women in business

Education and training

New Zealand | Pacific | Universities

New Zealand

Top of page

Pacific

Top of page

Universities

Top of page

Search strategy | Where to search? | Building on your research

Search strategy

  • Analyse your research question. Identify the important concepts within the topic.
  • Choose keywords that describe the concepts and/or terms.
  • Determine whether there are synonyms and related terms that should be included in your search.
  • Search using various combinations of the keywords/concepts, synonyms and related terms.

Subject headings

These are standard terms for particular topics or subject matter you can use to search the Catalogue.
To locate items tagged with a subject heading:

  1. Try a keyword search and click on the Details tab of a relevant item. To view other items with similar subject matter, click on any terms listed as Subjects.
  2. If you know a specific subject heading for a topic, use More Search Options to search for the exact phrase in the subject field.

Subject headings relevant to pacific business research:

  • Oceania economic conditions
  • Oceania commerce
  • Pacific small business, Pacific entrepreneurship, Businessmen Oceania
  • Pacific Islanders Commerce New Zealand
  • Oceania Social Life and Customs
  • Pacific Area
  • Pacific Islanders New Zealand Social Life and Customs
  • Polynesia, Melanesia, Micronesia
  • Samoa, Tonga, Cook Islands, New Caledonia, Papua New Guinea

Tips:

  • Use Islands of the Pacific rather than Pacific Islands. Also try searching for Islands of the Pacific commerce.
  • Use Oceania for an overview of the region, or try Oceania economic conditions.

Top of page

Where to search?

  • The Catalogue finds books, journal titles, theses, multimedia and images.
  • To search for journal, magazine and newspaper articles, use Articles & moreFor a more targeted search, try searching within subject databases.
  • To find out whether an item is held elsewhere in New Zealand search Te Puna, the National Union Catalogue.
  • For detailed information on searching see the Business Information Skills Online tutorial and access other tutorials and guides via Study skills.

Top of page

Building on your research

Additional strategies you can use to build on information you already have. Start with a book or article that is relevant to your research topic:

  • Look at the list of references to find further relevant research. Use Article Linker to find the full text in a Library database.
  • Words used in the text of your book or article provide useful new terms to use when searching for more literature.
  • Search the Library databases for more publications by a particular author.
  • Search for citations to your original book or article. You can do citation searching on:

Some databases, such as ScopusScience Direct and Google Scholar, also link to related articles.

Sage Research Methods offers information on getting started with your research including various methodologies which can be applied in Business and Economics studies.

Top of page

Where to search

  • Search the Catalogue for books and journal titles, but not article or chapter titles.
  • Search subject databases for journal and magazine articles. Articles & more can be a good place to carry out an initial search but does not offer the in-depth search options of the subject specific resources.
  • To find out whether an item is held elsewhere in New Zealand search Te Puna, the National Union Catalogue.
  • For more on searching consult the Business Information Skills Online tutorial and the Library's Tutorials and Guides.

Building on your research

Below are some strategies you can use to build on information that you already have. Start with a recommended reading, or a book or article that is relevant to your research topic and try some of the following:

  • Look at the list of references to find more material on your topic. Sometimes these will be linked within the database you're searching, but if not, then use Article Linker to find the full text in another database.
  • Take note of the words used in the text of your book or article. They may provide useful new terms to use when searching for more literature.
  • An author will often have written extensively on a topic. Search databases for more of their publications.
  • Find your book or article in the library catalogue or a database. Use the subject headings (sometimes referred to as descriptors or keywords) in the catalogue or database record to find similar material.
  • An excellent way to find more recent articles on a topic is to search for citations to your original book or article. You can do citation searching on:
  • Some databases, such as ScopusScience Direct and Google Scholar, also link to related articles which share common references.
- See more at: http://www.library.auckland.ac.nz/guides/business/management-and-international-business#=3

Where to search

  • Search the Catalogue for books and journal titles, but not article or chapter titles.
  • Search subject databases for journal and magazine articles. Articles & more can be a good place to carry out an initial search but does not offer the in-depth search options of the subject specific resources.
  • To find out whether an item is held elsewhere in New Zealand search Te Puna, the National Union Catalogue.
  • For more on searching consult the Business Information Skills Online tutorial and the Library's Tutorials and Guides.

Building on your research

Below are some strategies you can use to build on information that you already have. Start with a recommended reading, or a book or article that is relevant to your research topic and try some of the following:

  • Look at the list of references to find more material on your topic. Sometimes these will be linked within the database you're searching, but if not, then use Article Linker to find the full text in another database.
  • Take note of the words used in the text of your book or article. They may provide useful new terms to use when searching for more literature.
  • An author will often have written extensively on a topic. Search databases for more of their publications.
  • Find your book or article in the library catalogue or a database. Use the subject headings (sometimes referred to as descriptors or keywords) in the catalogue or database record to find similar material.
  • An excellent way to find more recent articles on a topic is to search for citations to your original book or article. You can do citation searching on:
  • Some databases, such as ScopusScience Direct and Google Scholar, also link to related articles which share common references.
- See more at: http://www.library.auckland.ac.nz/guides/business/management-and-international-business#=3

Where to search

  • Search the Catalogue for books and journal titles, but not article or chapter titles.
  • Search subject databases for journal and magazine articles. Articles & more can be a good place to carry out an initial search but does not offer the in-depth search options of the subject specific resources.
  • To find out whether an item is held elsewhere in New Zealand search Te Puna, the National Union Catalogue.
  • For more on searching consult the Business Information Skills Online tutorial and the Library's Tutorials and Guides.

Building on your research

Below are some strategies you can use to build on information that you already have. Start with a recommended reading, or a book or article that is relevant to your research topic and try some of the following:

  • Look at the list of references to find more material on your topic. Sometimes these will be linked within the database you're searching, but if not, then use Article Linker to find the full text in another database.
  • Take note of the words used in the text of your book or article. They may provide useful new terms to use when searching for more literature.
  • An author will often have written extensively on a topic. Search databases for more of their publications.
  • Find your book or article in the library catalogue or a database. Use the subject headings (sometimes referred to as descriptors or keywords) in the catalogue or database record to find similar material.
  • An excellent way to find more recent articles on a topic is to search for citations to your original book or article. You can do citation searching on:
  • Some databases, such as ScopusScience Direct and Google Scholar, also link to related articles which share common references.
- See more at: http://www.library.auckland.ac.nz/guides/business/management-and-international-business#=3

APA 6th

Journal of the Polynesian Society referencing style

For authors publishing in the Journal of the Polynesian Society (JPS), the style is a modified version of Harvard:

Support

  • Referencing
    Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.

Examples

  • Quick©ite
    Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
    Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.


Last updated : 5 May 2015
Creative Commons License